Squadron Leader Peter William Phillips PARRY (4335889), Royal Air Force Regiment.

Warrant Officer Brian PRIESTLEY (B4152593), Royal Air Force.

Warrant Officer Alexander RENNIE, B.E.M. (U0683527), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader Owen Michael ROSE (584770), Royal Air Force.

Warrant Officer Douglas George STRUDWICK (L4165873), Royal Air Force Regiment.

Squadron Leader Ian Andrew Byham WILSON (8020781), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader John Howard WOLLEY (3507434), Royal Air Force.

# Order of the British Empire (Civil Division)

### G.B.E.

To be an Ordinary Knight Grand Cross of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

The Right Honourable Sir Tasker WATKINS, V.C., P.C., Deputy Chief Justice.

## D.B.E.

To be Ordinary Dames Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Miss Maggie SMITH, C.B.E. (Mrs. Cross), Actress. Rachel Elizabeth, Mrs. WATERHOUSE, C.B.E. For services to Consumer Affairs.

#### K.B.E.

To be Ordinary Knights Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Sir James Arnold Stacey CLEMINSON, M.C., D.L., Chairman, British Overseas Trade Board.

The Right Honourable David Martin Scott STEEL, M.P. For political and public service.

## C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

John Kevin ASHCROFT, Chairman and Chief Executive, Coloroll Group plc.

John Martin BANKIER, lately Controller, North Fylde Central Office, Department of Social Security. Professor Laing BARDEN, Director, Newcastle-

upon-Tyne Polytechnic.

Colonel Robert Renny St. John BARKSHIRE, T.D., D.L., Chairman, Territorial Auxiliary and Volunteer Reserve Association South East.

Michael BETT, Managing Director, British Telecommunications UK.

Edward Charles Arden BOTT, Chief Medical Officer, Metropolitan Police.

John MacInnes BOYD, Q.P.M., lately Chief Constable, Dumfries and Galloway Constabulary.

Albert Richard BRANNON, O.B.E., Inspector Grade I, H.M. Fire Service Inspectorate.

Kelvin Arthur BRAY, O.B.E., Managing Director, Ruston Gas Turbines Ltd, General Electric Company plc. For services to Export.

Martin Richard Fletcher BUTLIN, lately Keeper, Historic British Collection, Tate Gallery.

Miss Antonia Susan BYATT (Mrs. Duffy). Author. John Andrew CALDECOTT, Lately Member, Board of Banking Supervision.

Arthur McLure CAMPBELL, lately Principal Clerk of Session and Justiciary, Scottish Office.

Leslie Neville CHAMBERLAIN, Chief Executive, British Nuclear Fuels, plc.

Stanley William CLARKE. For political and public service.

Trevor CLAY, lately General Secretary, Royal College of Nursing.

Professor Charles Brian COX, Pro-Vice-Chancellor, John Edward Taylor Professor of English Literature, University of Manchester.

Robert Gammie CRAWFORD, Chairman, Highlands and Islands Airports Ltd.

John James DANIEL. For political and public service. Ben DAVIES, Chairman, Sea Fish Industry Authority.

Eurfil Rhys DAVIES, Professor of Radiodiagnosis, University of Bristol. President, Royal College of Radiologists.

Michael Peter DAVIES, Grade 5, Radiocommunications Division, Department of Trade and Industry.

Stanley Richard DENNISON, Chief Executive, English China Clays plc.

John DESBOROUGH, O.B.E. For political service. John Richard Gray DRUMMOND, Writer and Broadcaster. For services to Music and the Arts.

Henry John EVANS, Chief Executive and Clerk, North Yorkshire County Council.

Dudley Henry FISHER. For services to industry. Rodney Arthur FITCH, Chairman, Fitch R. S. plc,

Design Consultants.
Michael John GAMBON, Actor.

John Eliot GARDINER. For services to Music.

Gerald William GARSIDE, lately Director, National Audit Office.

David GODFREY. For services to the Pharmaceutical Industry.

Howard James GOULD, Director of Laboratory, Harpenden, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Roy Aubrey GRANTHAM, General Secretary, Apex Partnership.

Peter Denham GRIFFITHS, Professor of Biochemical Medicine, University of Dundee.

Angus McFarlane McLeod GROSSART, Chairman, Scottish Investment Trust plc.

Geoffrey Noel HAGUE, O.B.E., Chairman, North West Industrial Development Board.

Daniel HANNAH, Chairman, Warrington District Health Authority.

John Thackery HÁNVEY. For political service. Professor Bryan Desmond HARRISON, Se

Professor Bryan Desmond HARRISON, Senior Scientist, Scottish Crop Research Institute.

David HARRISON, Vice-Chancellor, University of Exeter.

Miss Mary Charmian HARTNOLL, Director of Social Work, Grampian Regional Council.

Professor Raymond HIDE, Chief Scientific Officer B', Meteorological Office.

Anthony JACKLIN, O.B.E. For services to Golf.

David George JEFFERIES, Deputy Chairman, Electricity Council.

Robert Brian JOHNSON, Q.P.M., D.L., Chief Constable, Lancashire Constabulary.

Denis Edward Thomas Stuart KEEFE, Assistant Solicitor, HM Board of Customs and Excise.

Juan Herbert KELLY. For services to shipping.

Roger Taylor KINGDON, Chief Executive, Davy Corporation plc.

Richard Ingram LINDSELL, Chief Executive, ICI Chemicals and Polymers Ltd.

John de Courcy LING. For political service.