- John Warnes ELVEN, D.L., lately Chief Executive, Bedfordshire County Council.
- Donald Blane GRANT, T.D., Chairman, Tayside Health Board; Chairman, Scottish Legal Aid Board.
- Arnold John GRAYSON, lately Director of Research, Forestry Commission.
- James GREW, D.L. For public service in Northern Ireland.
- Professor Reginald HALL. For services to Medicine.
- Professor John Lander HARPER, Head of Plant Population Biology Unit, School of Biology, Agricultural and Food Research Council.
- Ian HOLM, Actor.
- Alan Edward HOLMANS, Senior Economic Adviser, Department of the Environment.
- Michael John HOPKINS, Senior Partner, Michael Hopkins and Partners.
- David Francis HOWARD, Chairman, Passenger Transport Executive Group; Director General, Tyne & Wear Passenger Transport Executive
- HUGHES, Principal, Victor Royal Harold Agricultural College.
- John George Augustus IRISH, Chairman and Managing Director, Spar (UK) Ltd.
- Bernard ISAACS, Charles Hayward Professor of Geriatric Medicine, University of Birmingham.
- Francis Leo JORDAN, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Kent Constabulary.
- George Victor Harris KNEALE. Minister for Education, House of Keys, Isle of Man.
- Hubert Patrick KOS, Foreign and Commonwealth Office
- James KYLE, Consultant Surgeon, Aberdeen Royal Infirmary.
- John William LAST. For services to the Arts on Merseyside.
- James Harry LEACH, Chairman and Chief Executive, British Textile Technology Group. Professor David John LEE, Chairman, G Maunsell
- and Partners, Consulting Engineers.
- Colonel Martin Shaun LEE-BROWNE, O.B.E., D.L., Chairman, Western Essex, Vice-Chairman, Council; Territorial Auxiliary and Volunteer Reserve Association.
- William Sinclair LINKIE, Grade 4, Board of Inland Revenue.
- Peter Lionel LOCKTON, Managing Director, International and Projects Engineering Group, NEI plc. For services to Export.
- Robert The Honourable Beauclerk LODER, Chairman, Mental Health Foundation.
- George Graeme Erick LOW, Authority Board Member for Establishments, United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority
- Alexander Reid MANSON, President, Scottish Agricultural Organisation Society Ltd; Chairman, Buchan Meat Producers Ltd.
- John Christopher MARTIN, Deputy Chief Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence.
- James McHUGH, Managing Director, Production and Supply; Director, British Gas plc.
- William McDougal MOODIE, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Fife Constabulary.
- Robert Francis NELDER. For political service.
- David NOBLE, Administrative Secretary, Medical Research Council.
- Diana Jean, Mrs. PARKER, Director, Vacu-Lug Traction Tyres Ltd.
- Professor William Alfred PENNY, Chairman, Penny and Giles International plc.
- Samuel Frank PICKSTOCK, Chief Executive, Housing Division, Tarmac plc.

- David Ernest POSWILLO, Professor of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery, United Medical and Dental Schools, Guy's and St. Thomas' Hospital.
- Alan Humphrey RAPER, Health and Safety Commissioner.
- David Gordon RICHARDS, Deputy Chairman, Monopolies and Mergers Commission.
- Professor Edward Frederick Denis ROBERTS. Librarian, National Library of Scotland.
- Thomas ROBERTS. For services to Road Safety.
- Norman Francis ROUNDELL, Q.F.S.M., Inspector, Grade I, Fire Service Inspectorate.
- William ROWLEY, Town Geoffrey Clerk Corporation of London.
- Hugh Leishman Inglis RUNCIMAN, Chairman,
- Shanks and McEwan Group plc., Glasgow. Michael Edward John RUSH, Chief Executive, West Glamorgan County Council.
- Professor John Calman SHAW, Executive Director, Scottish Financial Enterprise.
- Professor George Albert SHEPPERSON, Chairman, Scottish Committee, Commonwealth Institute.
- John SIZER. For services to the University Grants Committee.
- David William SMITH. For political service.
- Alan John Alfred SNUDDEN, Chairman and Managing Director, Monarch Airlines Ltd.
- Barrymore James SPENCER, lately President, British Textile Confederation.
- Anthony Geoffrey STOUGHTON-HARRIS, lately Chairman of Council, Building Societies Association.
- William Royden STUTTAFORD, O.B.E. For political service.
- Idwal Eric SYMONDS, Chairman. HTV Wales/Cymru Ltd.
- John Jeffery THOMPSON, Professor of Education, University of Bath.
- Dorothy Mary, Mrs. TOMLINSON, O.B.E. For political service.
- Michael William TOWNLEY, lately Grade 5, Cabinet Office.
- Major William Kemp TROTTER. For political and public service.
- Mary, Mrs. TUCK, Head, Research and Planning Unit, Home Office.
- William Arthur TURMEAU, Principal, Napier Polytechnic of Edinburgh.
- Cecil WARD, Town Clerk, Belfast City Council.
- Eric John WARD. For political service.
- Gerald John WARD, Chairman, National Council, Young Men's Christian Association.
- Ronald Matthew WATSON. For political and public service.
- Gerald Arthur WHENT, Chairman and Chief Executive, Racal Telecommunications plc.
- Michael James Ormerod WILLACY, Director, Central Unit on Purchasing, H.M. Treasury.
- John David WRAGG, Director, Military Engines, Rolls Royce plc.
- Miss Sarah Patricia Congreve WRIGHT-WARREN, Deputy Chief Nursing Officer, Department of Health.

O.B.E.

- To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:
- Jillian, Mrs. ALLONBY, Inspector for Primary Education, Kent Local Education Authority.
- Keith John ALLSOP, Partner, Gotch Saunders and Surridge.