- Miss Janetta Mary McSTAY, M.B.E. For services to music.
- Professor Alan Francis MARK. For services to conservation.
- Maurice Francis Richard SHADBOLT. For services to literature.
- Miss Margaret Mary TIMMS (Sister Margaret Timms). For services to the hospice movement.
- Douglas Owen WALKER, O.B.E., J.P. For services to business management and the community.
- Rachael Ngeungeu te Irirangi Beamish, Mrs. ZISTER, J.P. For services to the Maori people.

# **O.B.E.**

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

- William Harold BONGARD. For services to education.
- James Alexander BOOMER. For services to the trade union movement.
- Leslie Thomas BRADSHAW. For services to athletics.
- Gordon Charles BURGESS. For services to cricket.
- Lillian Jessie, Mrs. CHRYSTALL. For public service.
- Miss Sharon Margaret CROSBIE. For services to broadcasting.
- Sidney Murray HURST. For services to agriculture and education,
- Bernard KELLY. For services to racing.
- Dr Derek Alexander LARNDER. For services to dermatology.
- Frederick Kenneth McINERNEY. Lately Chief Executive, Telecom Corporation of New Zealand.
- Dr. James Connell MARSHALL. For services to the intellectually handicapped.
- Ivan Gerald MAUGER, M.B.E. For services to speedway sport.
- Professor Jane RITCHIE. For services to women, education and the community.
- Leslie John Raymond TUCKER. For services to local government.

## M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

- Douglas Frank BOND. For services to cycling.
- Dr. Kathleen Audrey BRADFORD. For services to medicine and the community.
- Seton William CLARE. For services to local government.
- Ivan David COX. For services to returned servicemen.
- Oroya, Mrs. DAY. For services to the preservation of local history.
- Clodagh May, Mrs. FLYNN. For services to the community.
- Leonard FORTUNE. For services to industrial relations.
- Leslie Alexander HINE, lately Superintendent, Auckland Maximum Security Prison, Department of Justice.
- Trevor Milton INCH. For services to local government.

Deidre Allison, Mrs. IRONS. For services to music.

John James Patrick KIRWAN. For services to rugby.

- Heather McCrostie, Mrs. LITTLE, J.P. For services to local government and the community.
- Patrick MACASKILL. For services to education and the community.
- Royce Peter McGLASHEN. For services to pottery.
- Colin Francis Alexander McLENNAN. For services to welfare work.
- Dr. James NG. For services to the community.
- Noela Olwyn, Mrs. PAGE. For services to local government and the community.
- Ramesh Bhai PATEL. For services to the Indian community.
- Roy Clevedon PURDON. For services to harness racing.
- John Goodwin SMITH. For services to the construction industry.
- The Reverend Dr. David Garth STEWART. For services to religious studies.
- Ronald William WARD. For services to outdoor education and the community.
- Peter Roy WARNOCK, J.P. For services to the community.

# GOVERNMENT HOUSE

#### WELLINGTON

### 31st December 1988

THE QUEEN has been graciously pleased, on the advice of Her Majesty's New Zealand Ministers, to give orders for the following appointments to The Queen's Service Order for Community Service:

### The Queen's Service Order for Community Service

#### Q.S.O.

James Francis KEENAN, J.P. Ian Hamilton KILGOUR. Georgina Kamiria, Mrs. KIRBY, J.P. Frank Donald ROBSON. Brenda Marie, Mrs. SAMPSON.

## GOVERNMENT HOUSE WELLINGTON

#### 31st December 1988

THE QUEEN has been graciously pleased, on the advice of Her Majesty's New Zealand Ministers, to give orders for the following appointments to The Queen's Service Order for Public Service:

## The Queen's Service Order for Public Service

## Q.S.O.

Miss Jacqueline Nancy Mary ADAMS, lately Scientist, National Museum.

Emeritus Professor John Alexander ASHER.

Janet Mary, Mrs. CLEWS, J.P.

Dr. Robert Graham GUDEX.

Ronald Albert KELLY, lately Director-General and Chairman, Housing Corporation of New Zealand.

- Roderick Macalister MILLER.
- The Right Honourable Alfred Morris, M.P.
- John SIMCOCK, lately Commissioner of Inland Revenue.