Donald Henry GRATTAN. For services to education; Chairman, Council for Educational Technology.

Roy William GRAVENOR, Production and Human Resources Director, Royal Mint.

Leslie Leonard GREEN, lately Director, Daresbury Laboratory, Science and Engineering Research Council.

William Thomas GREER, Director of Sewerage, Strathclyde Regional Council.

Richard Langton GREGORY, lately Professor of Neuropsychology and Director of Brain Perception Laboratory, University of Bristol.

Professor Anthony Gordon GUEST, Q.C. For services to the Department of Trade and Industry on the United Nations Commission on International Trade Law.

Cyril Keith GULLAND, lately Deputy Chief Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Donald Philip HARDING. For political and public service.

Maurice Graham HARDY, President and Chief Operating Officer, Pall Corporation; Chairman and Managing Director, Pall Europe Ltd.

Aubrey Edward HARPER, Chairman, Board of Governors, Paisley College of Technology.

Philip Rowland Francis HARRIS, Head of Division, Network Operations Services Department, British Telecommunications plc.

John David Jayne HAVARD, Secretary, British Medical Association.

John Malcolm HAYLES, Director of Finance, British Nuclear Fuels plc.

David William St. John HEATH, For political and public service.

Peter David Nelson HEDDERWICK, Managing Director, Aircraft Division, Marshall of Cambridge.

Richard HIGGINS, Grade 5, Department of Trade and Industry.

Arnold Quinney HITCHCOCK, lately Chairman, Potato Marketing Board.

John Warwick, Baron HIVES. For political service. John HODDELL, Deputy Chairman, Chartered Trust plc.

Christopher Jarvis Haley HOGWOOD, Director, Academy of Ancient Music.

Michael De Courcy Fraser HOLROYD, Literary Biographer.

Brian Howard HORD. For political service.

Caryl Lois, Mrs. HUBBARD, lately Chairman, Contemporary Arts Society.

Ian Stuart HUTCHESON, Chairman and Chief Executive, Acatos and Hutcheson plc.

Ralph ILEY, Joint Managing Director, Cookson Group plc. Sydney Carol IACKSON Assistant Secretary

Sydney Carol JACKSON, Assistant Secretary, Northern Ireland Office.

Professor Andrew Michael JAFFE, Director, Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge.

Angus Norman JOHNSTON, Chairman, Central Council of Probation Committees.

Betty Joan, Lady JOHNSTON, Chairman, Girls Public Day School Trust.

William Albert Morgan JONES, Superintending Valuer, Board of Inland Revenue.

John MacGregor Kendall KENDALL-CARPENTER. For services to Rugby Union.

Elihu LAUTERPACHT, Q.C., Director, Research Centre for International Law, University of Cambridge.

Douglas McColl MACINNES. For political and public service.

David Drury MACKLIN, lately Chief Executive, Devon County Council.

Reginald Arthur Edward MAGEE, lately President, Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland.

John Peter MASON. For political and public service. Timothy Lewis MAY, T.D., D.L., Chairman, Territorial Auxiliary and Volunteer Reserve Association, Eastern Wessex.

Raymond Arthur McCABE, Managing Director, John Brown Engineering Ltd., Clydebank. For

services to Export.

Marshall MEEK, Chairman, Marine Technology Board; lately Deputy Chairman, British Maritime Technology Ltd.

George Albert MOORE. For political and public service.

David Cornelius MORLEY, lately Professor of Tropical Child Health, Institute of Child Health, University of London.

Duncan Kirkbride NICHOL, Regional General Manager, Mersey Regional Health Authority.

Reginald Fred NORMAN, Managing Director, Ciba-Geigy plc; Chairman, British Crop Protection Council.

Peter Machin NORTH, Chairman, Road Traffic Law Review.

John Frederick Corfield OLNEY, Treasury Valuer, HM Treasury.

John Edward OWEN, Deputy Receiver, Metropolitan Police.

David Bruce PATTULLO, Chief Executive, Bank of Scotland.

Alan Ernest Alfred READ, Professor of Medicine and Director of Medical Professorial Unit, University of Bristol.

Ian William RICHARDSON, Actor.

David Edward ROBERTS. For political service.

Gordon ROBERTS, lately Grade 5, Treasury Solicitor's Department.

Philip Michael ROSE, Managing Director, Butterley .Brick Ltd; Chairman, Building Materials Export Group.

Albert Muir Galloway RUSSELL, Q.C., Sheriff, Aberdeen Sheriff Court, Scottish Courts Administration.

Michael Edward Wylie SAMUELSON, Vice-President, National Association for Maternal and Child Welfare.

Norman Keith SCOTT, Chairman, Building Design Partnership.

David Aitken SHAW, Professor of Clinical Neurology, University of Newcastle upon Tyne.

Michael SHEPHERD, lately Professor of Epidemiological Psychiatry, Institute of Psychiatry, University of London.

Peter Geoffrey SHEPHERD, Chairman, West Sussex County Council.

Alexander SHERLOCK, M.E.P. For political service. James Cadzow SMITH, Chairman, Eastern Electricity Board.

Robert Carr SMITH, Director, Kingston Polytechnic. Frederick Richard STALLARD, D.L. For political and public service.

Charles Walter SUCKLING, Member, Royal Commission on Environmental Pollution.

Monty SUMRAY, Chairman and Managing Director, FII Group plc.

Stanley THOMSON, lately President, Chartered Association of Certified Accountants.

Alan Walker TYSON. Fellow, All Souls College, Oxford. For services to Musicology.