- William Leggat SMITH, M.C., T.D., D.L. For public service in Glasgow.
- William Lawrence SOUTH, Technical Director, Philips Electronic and Associated Industries Limited.
- Professor Colin Raymond William SPEDDING. Director, Centre for Agricultural Strategy, Reading University
- Colin STANSFIELD SMITH, County Architect, Hampshire County Council.
- Frederick Alistair STONE, lately Clerk and Chief Executive Surrey County Council.
- Michael Anthony STOTHERS, Chairman William Steward Group,
- William Henry STRAWSON, D.L., Chairman, Institute of Plant Science Research.
- Norman Frederick SUSSMAN, O.B.E., Joint Managing Director, L. S. and J. Sussman Limited.
- Arthur Cecil TAYLOR, Chairman, Newcastle Health Authority.
- Miss Wendy Ann TAYLOR, Sculptor.
- John Harry TEE, Assistant Secretary, Board of Customs and Excise.
- William James UTTLEY-MOORE, Chairman and Managing Director, Computing Devices plc.
- Arthur Burton WELLER, Chairman, Britain-Australia Bicentennial Schooner Trust.
- Reginald Alfred, Baron WELLS-PESTELL. For Services to Parliamentary Committees.
- Allan WICKS, Organist and Director of Music, Canterbury Cathedral.
- John Meredith WILLIAMS, Chairman, Welsh Development Agency.
- Dennis James WILLMOTT, Q.F.S.M., lately Chief Fire Officer, Merseyside Fire Brigade.
- Reginald George WOODMAN, Grade 4, Ministry of Defence.
- Group Captain John Basil WRAY, R.A.F., (Retd.) D.F.C. For political service.
- John Mickelthwaite WRAY, Assistant Secretary, Department of Health and Social Security.
- Peter WRIGHT, O.B.E., Chief Constable, South Yorkshire Police.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

- Eric Martin ABBOTT, Grade 6, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.
- Anne Maureen, Mrs. ACLAND, Chairman of Council, Queen's Nursing Institute.
- Eric Edward ALLEY. For services to Civil Defence.
- Kenneth Michael BAKER, Managing Director, Durr Limited
- Thomas Anthony BALL, lately Senior Catering Adviser, Department of Education and Science.
- Anthony Kenneth BARBOUR. For services to Environmental Science.
- Andrew BARR, Member, South of Scotland Electricity Board.
- Miss Joyce Anne BEAK, Chief Nursing Officer, Tunbridge Wells Health Authority.
- Dennis Henry Caleb BENNETT, Head Teacher, Cyfarthfa Comprehensive School, Merthyr Tydfil, Mid Glamorgan.
- Alan Winstan BOND, Deputy Director, London Chamber of Commerce.

- Professor Thomas Geoffrey BOOTH, lately President, Pharmaceutical Society of Great Britain.
- Professor Richard John BROOK, lately Head of Department of Ceramics, University of Leeds.
- Charles Harry BROOKS, Director, Hawker Siddeley International Ltd. For services to Export.
- Professor Raymond Victor BROOKS. For services to research into drug usage in Sport.
- Greta Mary, Mrs. BROWN. For political and public service.
- Lionel Neville BROWN, Professor of Comparative Law, University of Birmingham; Member, Council on Tribunals.
- Miss Marian Phyllis BULL, Chief Administrative
- Nursing Officer, Mid Glamorgan Health Authority. Anthony Winston BURTON, Director, The Planning Exchange.
- Sister Hannah CALLAGHAN (Sister Mary Perpetua), Sister Superior, St. Anthony's Hospital, Sutton, Surrey.
- John Alexander CALVERT. For political and public service.
- Romayne Winifred, Mrs. CARSWELL, Deputy Chairman, Independent Commission for Police Complaints for Northern Ireland.
- Kenneth James Herbert CARTER, Principal, Ministry of Defence.
- Jack Morgan CHAPMAN, Principal, West Kent College of Further Education, Tonbridge, Kent.
- Miss Claire Helen CHOVIL, Head of School Broadcasting Broadcasting (Radio), British Corporation.
- William John CHRISTIE. For services to Farming and Conservation.
- Captain Peter COBB, R.N. (Retd.), Secretary, United Kingdom Branch, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association
- Miss Audrey Towl COLLINS, President, Women's Cricket Association.
- Peter James CONCHIE, Director, Business Development, Space and Communications Division, British Aerospace plc.
- Miss Anne Valerie COWIE (Mrs. Harvey), Director, Labour Relations and Legal Department, Royal College of Nursing
- Anthony Bernard COYLE, Leader of the Council, Wigan Metropolitan Borough Council.
- John Burton CROWTHER, Principal, John Crowther and Associates.
- Raymond Charles CURRY, T.D. For political and public service.
- John David Scott CURTIS, Chairman, Standing Conference on Crime Prevention, Home Office.
- Barrie Randel DAREWSKI, Secretary, Osteopathic Educational Foundation.
- Gerald Hill DAVID, Chairman and Managing Director, Aerial Facilities Limited.
- Susan Elizabeth, Mrs. DAVIES, Director, The Photographers' Gallery Limited.
- Michael Henry DAVIS, Grade 6, Department of Transport.
- William Henry DEAKIN. For services to County Planning particularly in Kent.
- Alexander Patrick Cuming DICKSON, Director, Dickson Nurseries Limited, County Down, Northern Ireland.
- DUDLEY, Kenneth lately Director-General, Campden Food Preservation Research Association.
- Anthony John Hast DURHAM, Deputy Chairman, Cambridge Newspapers Limited.
- James Millar ECKFORD, General Manager, Ayrshire and Arran Health Board.