John David Keith BURTON, H.M. Coroner, Western District, Greater London; Secretary, Coroners' Society, England and Wales.

Patrick Alfred CALDWELL-MOORE, O.B.E. For services to Astronomy.

John Cyril CHAPLIN, Group Director, Safety Regulation Group, Civil Aviation Authority.

Francis Ian Chapman, Chairman and Chief Executive, William Collins plc.

Barton James CLARKE, Chairman and Managing Director, Racal Radar Defence Systems. For services to Export.

Samuel Laurence Harrison CLARKE. For services to Collaborative Research in Information Technology. Timothy Francis CLEMENT-JONES. For political service.

Geoffrey John CLEVERDON. For political and public service.

John Ernest CLOUT, Leader, North Yorkshire County Council.

Herbert Evan CORNISH, Chairman, Lin Pac Group Limited.

Elizabeth Crawford Gallagher, Mrs. CRAGHILL, lately Assistant Secretary, Scottish Development Department.

Edward Brandwood CUNNINGHAM, Director, Planning and Projects, Scottish Development Agency.

James Gresham DAVIS, Chairman, International Maritime Industries Forum.

Hugh Arnold Freeman DUDLEY, Professor of Surgery, St. Mary's Hospital.

Brian EDWARDS, Regional General Manager, Trent Regional Health Authority.

Noreen Louisa, Mrs. EDWARDS, O.B.E., T.D., D.L., Chairman, Gwynedd Health Authority.

Frederick Ernest ELLIOTT. For services to the National Farmers' Union.

Donald FORSTER, lately Chairman, Merseyside Development Corporation.

Wallace Stewart FOULDS, Tennent Professor of Ophthalmology, University of Glasgow.

John GADD, lately Regional Chairman, North Thames, British Gas plc.

Nicol Spence GALBRAITH, Director, Communicable Disease Surveillance Centre, Public Health Laboratory Service.

Derek Stanley GORDON, O.B.E., Consultant Neuro-Surgeon, Royal Victoria Hospital, Belfast.

Ian David GRANT, President National Farmers' Union, Scotland.

Professor Edward Thomas HALL. For scientific services to Archaeology.

Dennis John HATFIELD, Chief Education Officer, Trafford.

Gordon Drummond John HAY, Chairman, Stoddard Holdings plc.

Robert Colquhoun HAY, President, Industrial Tribunals, Scotland.

William Ross HENDERSON, T.D. For political service.

Stanley Thomas Keck HESTER, lately Director of Audit, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Werner Wolfgang HEUBECK, O.B.E., Managing Director, Ulsterbus Limited and Citybus Limited.

Colonel William Peter HOWELLS, O.B.E., T.D., D.L., Chairman, Wales Territorial Auxiliary and Volunteer Association.

Pamela May, Mrs. HUDSON-BENDERSKY, Regional Nursing Director, North West Thames Regional Health Authority. Thomas HUNTER, Convenor, Borders Regional Council.

Francis Brian Appleton IRVING. For political and public service.

Professor Robert Barr JACK. For services to the Legal Profession in Scotland.

Professor Anthony KELLY. For services to Science and Engineering; Vice Chancellor, University of Surrey.

Patrick Gerard Joseph KINDER, General Manager, Eastern Health and Social Services Board.

Frederick John KINGDOM, Deputy Leader, West Glamorgan County Council.

Gavin Harry LAIRD, General Secretary Amalgamated Engineering Union.

Philip Michael LEE, Grade 4 Department of Transport.

His Honour Arthur Christian LUFT, lately First Deemster and Clerk of the Rolls and Deputy Governor, Isle of Man.

Katharine Elizabeth, Mrs. LUMSDEN, D.L. For political and public service.

John Alexander Rose MacPHAIL, O.B.E., Chairman, The Scotch Whisky Association.

Norman Alastair Duncan MACRAE, Deputy Editor, The Economist.

Peter MASON, Foreign and Commonwealth Office. Miss (Margaret) Valerie MASTERSON (Mrs March), Opera and concert Singer.

Keith Desmond McDOWALL, lately Deputy Director-General, Confederation of British Industry.

George Roy Colquhoun McDOWELL, Chairman of the Board, The British Standards Institution.

Kenneth Allan Glen Miller, Director General, The Engineering Council.

Commander Denis Woolnough MILLS, R.N. (Retd.), O.B.E., D.S.C. For political and public service.

Kenneth MOSES, Technical Director, British Coal Corporation.

David Fairlie MYLES. For political and public service.

Charles Allen OAKLEY. For public service in the West of Scotland.

Gareth OWEN, Principal, University College of Wales, Aberystwyth.

Henry Richard OWEN, M.B.E., Grade 5, Department of Trade and Industry.

John William PENYCATE, Chairman Yvonne Arnaud Theatre.

Michael John PRICE. For political and public service. John Charles RAMSDEN. For political and public service.

Alfred Graham RAPER, lately Chief Executive and Deputy Chairman, Davy Corporation plc.

John David RENDLE, lately Managing Director, Shell Tankers (UK) Limited.

John David Benbow RICHARDSON, M.C., President, Northern Rent Assessment Panel.

President, Northern Rent Assessment Panel.
Eric Frederick ROGERS, Deputy Chairman Occupational Pensions Board.

James Cecil Cumine RUSSELL, M.B.E. For political and public service.

Colin SAMPSON, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, West

Yorkshire Police. Charles Robert SCAIFE, National Chairman, The

Royal British Legion.

Professor John Parsons SHILLINGFORD, Medical Director, British Heart Foundation.

Keith Alexander SKINNER, Senior Principal Inspector of Taxes, Board of Inland Revenue.