Major General Colin Terry SHORTIS, C.B.E (426767), Colonel Commandant The Prince of Wales's Division, Colonel The Devonshire and Dorset Regiment.

Major General Stephen Robert Anthony STOPFORD, M.B.E. (437176), late The Royal Scots Dragoon Guards (Carabiniers and Greys).

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE—AIR FORCE DEPARTMENT

K.C.B.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Military Division of the Second Class, or Knight Commander, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Air Marshal Kenneth William HAYR, C.B., C.B.E., A.F.C.*, Royal Air Force.

C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Air Vice-Marshal Richard Anthony MASON, C.B.E., Royal Air Force.

Air Vice-Marshal Michael George SIMMONS, A.F.C., Royal Air Force.

Air Vice-Marshal David WHITTAKER, M.B.E., Royal Air Force.

Order of the Bath (Civil Division)

G.C.B.

To be an Ordinary Member of the Civil Division of the First Class, or Knight Grand Cross, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Sir Clive Anthony WHITMORE, K.C.B., C.V.O., Permanent Under Secretary of State, Home Office.

K.C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders of the said Most Honourable Order:

Peter Lewis GREGSON, C.B., Permanent Under Secretary of State, Department of Energy.

Richard Anthony LLOYD JONES, C.B., Permanent Secretary, Welsh Office.

C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Professor Ronald Leslie BELL, Director-General, Agricultural Development and Advisory Service; Chief Scientific Adviser, Ministry of Agriculture Fisheries and Food.

William Joseph BOHAN, Assistant Under Secretary of State, Home Office.

(John) Michael BRIDGEMAN, Chief Registrar of Friendly Societies and Industrial Assurance Commissioner.

John St Leger BROCKMAN, Solicitor to the Department of Health and Social Security, and Registrar General to the Office of Population Censuses and Surveys.

Harold Granville Terence Payne DOYNE-DITMAS, Under Secretary, Minister of Defence.

William Hugh JACK, Permanent Secretary, Department of Agriculture, Northern Ireland.

Iain Smith MACDONALD, Chief Medical Officer, Scottish Home and Health Department.

James Alexander Mackintosh MacKENZIE, lately Chief Road Engineer, Scottish Development Department.

James Stephen MASON, Parliamentary Counsel, Office of the Parliamentary Counsel.

Nicholas Jeremy MONCK, Deputy Secretary, H.M. Treasury.

Robin MOUNTFIELD, Deputy Secretary, Department of Trade and Industry.

John Tregarthen MURLEY, Foreign and Commonwealth Office.

Bernard POLLARD, lately Deputy Secretary and Director General (Technical), Board of Inland Revenue.

Peter Graham SMITH, Under Secretary, Ministry of Defence.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

ST. JAMES'S PALACE, LONDON S.W.I

11th June 1988

THE QUEEN has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the Celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, to give orders for the following promotions in and appointments to the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George:

C.M.G.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions of the said Most Distinguished Order:

Ronald Frank Robert DEARE, Grade 5, Overseas Development Administration.

Anthony David LOEHNIS, Executive Director, The Bank of England.

DIPLOMATIC SERVICE AND OVERSEAS LIST

G.C.M.G.

To be an Ordinary Member of the First Class, or Knight Grand Cross of the said Most Distinguished Order:

The Right Honourable Peter Alexander Rupert, Baron CARRINGTON, K.G., C.H., K.C.M.G., M.C., Secretary-General, North Atlantic Treaty Organisation, Brussels.

K.C.M.G.

To be Ordinary Members of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders, of the said Most Distinguished Order:

Rodric Quentin BRAITHWAITE, C.M.G., Foreign and Commonwealth Office.