David Edward Moore MAXWELL, Principal, Clondermot High School, Londonderry.

Edward Fredrick MAY, Director, Schlumberger Industries (Sangamo-Metering).

William McEWAN, Director Scottish School of Non-Destructive Testing, Paisley College of Technology.

Andrew McKIBBIN, Consultant, Erne Hospital, Enniskillen, Northern Ireland.

John Francis Valentine McMURRAY, Principal, Department of Health and Social Services, Northern Ireland.

James McWILLIAM, Chairman, Highland Health Board.

John William Marc MESTON, Controller, Occupational Safety and Hygiene, Rank Hovis McDougall.

Major Peter Victor MOORE (Retd.). For services to Rural Conservation.

Henry John NASH, Chairman, Firsteel Manufacturing Limited.

George Henry NEAL. For services to the mentally handicapped.

Jesse Richard NEW, Executive Director, Personnel, Marshall of Cambridge (Engineering) Limited.

Sir Iain Andrew NOBLE Bt. For services to Gaelic Language and Culture.

Ian David NUSSEY, Manager, Warwick Development Group, IBM United Kingdom Limited.

Egil Robert ORSKOV, Senior Principal Scientific Officer, Rowett Research Institute, Aberdeen.

Miss Joan OWENS, Principal, Northern Ireland

Henry Anthony PAWSON. For services to Angling. George Walter PEKAREK, General Manager, Commercial, Albright and Wilson Limited.

Thomas Heydon PENSON. For political and public service.

Ray Buchanan, Mrs. PIGOTT. For political service. Harold PINDER. For political and public service.

Derek Edward PIPE, Senior Principal, Board of Inland Revenue.

Raymond Arthur PITTOCK, Grade 7, The Patent Office.

Derrick James Branscomb PLATT, Chairman, Eastbourne Health Authority and Eastbourne Association of Voluntary Service.

Miss Jennifer POLAND, Director, Unit of Veterinary Continuing Education, Royal Veterinary College. Colin Harold POTHECARY, Partner, MRM

Partnership, Consulting Engineers.

Dawson PRICE, Principal Establishment Officer, London Headquarters, United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority.

Canon William Frederick REID, lately Sectretary, Church of England Hospital Chaplaincies Council.

John Alistair RIDDELL, General Practitioner, Glasgow.

Richard Frank RIMMER, lately Deputy Managing Director, YARD Limited, Glasgow.

Julian Mervyn ROBERTS, Consultant Psychiatrist, St James' Hospital, Leeds, and High Royds' Hospital, Menston.

Robert William Kelly Cupples ROGERSON, Chairman, Committee on Access for Scotland.

Daniel Clive Thomas ROWLANDS. For services to Rugby Union Football.

Robert William RUSSELL, Principal Professional and Technology Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Douglas Cecil RUSTOM, D.F.C., Executive Secretary, Association of International Courier and Express Services.

William John SAINT, Chief Executive, North West Europe, BP Petroleum Development Limited.

Gordon Ramsay SCOTT. For services to Tropical Veterinary Medicine.

Laurence Alfred SCUDDER, Senior Principal, Home Office.

Mortimer (Tim) SHAPLEY. For services to Mobility for the Disabled.

Terence John SIGGS, Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Metropolitan Police.

Allen SIMMEN, Principal, Scottish Home and Health Department.

Frank Alexander SIMS, Chief Executive, Pell Frischmann Consultants Limited.

Francis William SLEEMAN, Inspector (P), Board of Inland Revenue.

Eric Watson SMITH, Industrial Relations Director, Yarrow Shipbuilders Limited.

Margaret Watson, Mrs. SMITH. For political and public service.

Maurice George SMITH, Chairman, Knights Association of Christian Youth Clubs, Lambeth.

Thomas SMITH, Managing Director, Thomas Smith and Sons (Kirkoswald) Limited.

Thomas Peter SNAPE, General Secretary, Secondary Heads' Association.

Kenneth George Edwin SPINK. For political and public service.

Roger Charlton SPOOR. For services to the community in Newcastle-upon-Tyne.

The Reverend Brother Cornelius (John) SREENAN, lately Head, St Boniface's College, Plymouth.

John Robin STAYT, lately Chief Commissioner, The Scout Association.

James STEWART, Member, Fire Authority for Northern Ireland.

John Barry Bingham STEWART, Member, Scottish Agricultural Wages Board.

Miss Patricia Creswick STOCKEN. For political service.

Martin William SUTHERS. For political and public service.

Merrick Wentworth TAYLOR, Deputy Chairman and Managing Director, Motor Panels Coventry Limited.

John Hedley Brian TEW, External Professor of Economics, Loughborough University. For public service.

Archibald Grahame THOMSON, Director, Scottish Daily Newspaper Society.

William Paterson Loudoun THOMSON, Rector, Kirkwall Grammer School, Orkney.

Sydney Frederick TONGUE, lately Chief Executive, Wrexham Maelor Borough Council.

Major Alexander TRIMMER R.E. (Retd.), Secretary, Quantity Surveyors Division, Royal Institution of

Chartered Surveyors.

Geoffrey Wensley TROTTER, Chairman, London
Taxi Board.

Donald Alexander Gordon TROUP. For services to Agriculture and Land Agency.

John Oliver Warrillow TUNNELL, Leader, Scottish Chamber Orchestra.

Robert John TYLER, President, National Federation of Meat Traders

of Meat Traders.

Joseph Michael VALDES SCOTT, Chief Executive,
Latin America Trade Advisory Group. For services

to Export.