Alexander Grant GORDON, Chairman and Managing Director, William Grant and Sons Ltd. Robert GRAY, Lord Provost, City of Glasgow.

- David GRIEVES, Board Member and Managing Director, Personnel and Social Policy, British Steel Corporation.
- Reginald Edward Hawke HADINGHAM, O.B.E., M.C., T.D., Chairman, All England Lawn Tennis and Croquet Club.
- Robert James HANNA, O.B.E., Chairman, Ulster Countryside Committee.
- Robin David Ronald HARRIS. For political and public service.
- Donald Leslie HAXBY, Veterinary Surgeon.
- Bernard Vere HENDERSON, Chairman, Anglian Water Authority.
- Robert Aubrey HINDE, Royal Society Research Professor, University of Cambridge.
- Andrew Law HOWIE, Chairman, Scottish Milk Marketing Board.
- Henry Holman HUNT, Deputy Chairman, Monopolies and Mergers Commission.
- Cecil Alfred JOHNSON, Secretary and Scientific Director, British Pharmacopoeia Commission.
- John Raymond JOHNSTONE, Chairman and Managing Director, Murray Johnstone Ltd.
- George Briscoe JONES, Director, Co-operative Development Agency.
- Miss Jane Isabel JONES, Director of Information and Regional Nursing Officer, West Midlands Regional Health Authority.
- Roger Alwyne JUGGINS. For political and public service.
- James KINCADE, Principal, Methodist College, Belfast.
- Derek John KINGSBURY, Group Chief Executive, Fairey Group Ltd.
- David Donald KIRBY, Member, British Railways Board.
- Bryan David LANGTON, Director, Bass plc. Chairman, Bass plc International Hotels Division.
- Percy LIVINGSTONE, Vice Chairman, Royal Naval Film Corporation.
- Miss Brenda Margaret LOWE. For political service.
- John Newcombe MALTBY, Chairman, The Burmah Oil plc.
- Denis Victor MARDLE, Grade 5, Foreign and Commonwealth Office.
- George Henry MARTIN. For services to the British Record Industry.
- David Slesser McCALL, Chief Executive, Anglia Television Ltd.
- James Black McGillivray McKEAN, Registrar, Capital Taxes Office, Scotland, Board of Inland Revenue.
- Geoffrey Daniel McLEAN, Q.P.M., Assistant Commissioner, Metropolitan Police.
- Thomas Jaffrey McNAIR, President, Royal College of Surgeons, Edinburgh.
- David John McNEIL, lately President, Law Society of Scotland.
- Philip David MERRIDALE, Chairman, Education Committee, Hampshire County Council.
- Edward MILLER, Director of Education, Strathclyde Regional Council.
- Frank Leslie MORGAN, M.B.E. for public service in Wales.
- John Orwin MORRIS, County Education Officer, Essex.

- Gareth John Jarvis NEALE. For political and public service.
- John Hallam Mercer NORRIS, lately President, Country Landowners' Association.
- John William PARSONS, Chairman and Chief Executive, Time and Data Systems International Ltd. Member, The British Overseas Trade Board. For services to Export.
- John Edgar Norris PETERS, M.B.E. For political and public service.
- Charles Edward PUGH, lately Managing Director, National Nuclear Corporation Ltd.
- Edward Ernest RAY, Senior Partner, Spicer and Pegler.
- Barry St George Austin REED, M.C., D.L., Chairman and Chief Executive, Austin Reed Group plc.
- Miss (Enid) Diana (Elizabeth) RIGG (Mrs. Stirling), Actress.
- Michael Silvanus ROBINSON, lately President, Shell International Trading Company.
- Professor Ian Campbell RODDIE, T.D., Chief Regional Scientific Adviser, Civil Defence, Northern Ireland.
- Major Charles Frederick ROSE, M.B.E., Grade 4, Department of Transport.
- Derek Norman ROSLING, Vice Chairman, Hanson plc.
- Michael Colin SHANNON. For services to the Health and Safety Commission.
- Stephen Ashley SHERBOURNE. For political service.
- Robert Shearer SIM, M.B.E., Q.P.M., H.M. Inspector of Constabulary for Scotland.
- Adrian Carnegie SLADE. For political and public service.
- Clive Edward SNOWDEN. For services to the Food Industry.
- John Oliver SPALDING, Director and Chief Executive, Halifax Building Society.
- Patrick Christopher STEPTOE, Medical Director, Bourn Hall Clinic, Cambridge.
- David Deas STEVENSON, Group Managing Director, The Edinburgh Woollen Mill Ltd.
- Ronald George TAYLOR, Director General, The Association of British Chambers of Commerce.
- John TELFORD BEASLEY, Chairman and Managing Director, London Buses Ltd.
- David Jeffrey THOMPSON. For services to the development of synchroton radiation.
- Professor Raymond THOMPSON, lately Business Development Director, Borax Holdings Ltd.
- Robert Burgess THOMPSON, lately Director Works Services, Department of Health and Social Services, Northern Ireland.
- Alistair MacLachlan THOMSON, Director, Scottish Prison Service, Scottish Home and Health Department.
- John Warren TURNER, Chairman and Managing Director, E. Turner and Sons Ltd.
- Professor Thomas Summers WEST, lately Site Director, Macaulay Land Use Research Institute.
- Alfred Arden WOOD, T.D. For services to conservation.
- Cecil Derek WOODBURN-BAMBERGER. For political and public service.
- John George WOOLHOUSE, Director of Educational Programmes, Manpower Services Commission.