K.B.E.

To be Ordinary Knights Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

David Wigley NICKSON, C.B.E., D.L., President, Confederation of British Industry.

John Roundell, Earl of SELBORNÉ, D.L., Chairman. Agricultural and Food Research Council.

C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Douglas Ian ACRES, O.B.E., D.L., Chairman, Council of the Magistrates' Association.

John Francis AVERY JONES. For services in the field of revenue law.

Eric Billingsley BATES, Grade 5, Department of Trade and Industry.

Edward Gascoigne BATES. Director. Technology Services Ltd.

Ronald Frank BISHOP, lately Managing Director, Whessoe Heavy Engineering Ltd.

Christopher Wadsworth BRIERLEY, Managing Director, Economic Planning, British Gas plc.

BUSHELL, Foreign Brian Bernard and Commonwealth Office.

Ronald Herbert BUTT, formerly Associate Editor, The Times. For services to journalism.

Donald CAMPBELL, Professor of Anaesthetics, University of Glasgow.

Gordon Verner CARR, Chairman, Port of Tyne Authority.

Michael James Frederick CARTER. For political and public service.

CHILD, Chairman, Executive Denis Marsden Committee, British Bankers' Association.

Kenneth James CLARK, Chief Executive, Borders Regional Council.

John Robert CLAYTON, Chairman, Agricultural Training Board.

Peter Bridgeman COCKS. For political and public

COGAN, lately Francis Joseph Chairman. Hertfordshire County Council.

Douglas COOKE, Director, Royal Ordnance, Leeds plc. COOPER, George Chairman. Fair

Employment Agency, Northern Ireland. Professor John Terence COPPOCK. For services to

Geography.

Roy Arthur COX, lately Chairman of Council, Building Societies Association.

Ronald Duncan CRAMOND, Deputy Chairman, Highlands and Islands Development Board.

William Peter DAVEY, lately Chief Executive, South Glamorgan County Council. rynley DAVIES, M.B.E.,

Brynley Chairman, Mid-Glamorgan Area Health Authority.

James Burnside DIAMOND. For services to the Pharmaceutical Industry

Roy DUCKWORTH, Professor of Oral Medicine, University of London.

Peter Robin DUGDALE, Managing Director, Guardian Royal Exchange plc.

Jack EDELMAN, Director, Rank Hovis McDougall plc.

Clive Arthur Peirson FOXELL. For services to Microelectronics Research, Science and Engineering Research Council.

Robert David Eric GALLAGHER, O.B.E. For services to community relations in Northern Ireland.

David John GEE, Professor of Forensic Medicine, University of Leeds.

Frederick John Pym GORE, Painter.

Gilmour GRAHAM, Duncan lately County Education Officer, Suffolk.

Kenneth GRAHAM, O.B.E., Deputy General Secretary, Trades Union Congress.

George Howell GUEST, Organist, St. John's College, University of Cambridge.

Nils Erik HEIJNE, Principal Planning Inspector, Department of the Environment.

Stuart David HOLLANDER, Chairman, Cotton and Allied Textiles Economic Development Committee. Anthony Philip HOPKINS, Actor.

William Young HUGHES, Chairman and Chief Executive, Grampian Holdings plc.

Professor Laurence Colvin HUNTER. For services to Industrial Relations.

Trevor JONES, lately Grade 4, Ministry of Defence. Terence Kevin KILMARTIN, lately Literary Editor, The Observer.

Peter LARGE, M.B.E., Chairman, Joint Committee on Mobility for the Disabled

David George Thomas LINNELL, lately Chairman, Eggs Authority.

John LISTER, lately Chairman, Imperial Chemical

Industries Fibres plc.
Frederick Mervyn Barton LOANE, Chairman, Western Health and Social Services Board.

John Richard LONG, Under Secretary, Department of Health and Social Security

Major Michael Hildesley LYCETT. For political service.

Alistair Graham LYNN, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Grampian Police.

Miss Anne Catherine MACNAGHTEN (Mrs. Ashby). For services to Music.

Robert Ian McCALLUM, lately Professor and Head of Department of Occupational Health and Hygiene, University of Newcastle upon Tyne.

Bryce McCRIRRICK, Thomas Director Engineering, British Broadcastng Corporation. Iain Alastair McCRONE. For political and public

service.

John Henderson McKAY, Lord Provost, City of Edinburgh. Alan MEIKLE, Property Director, Hereford and

Worcester County Council. Claire Allan Ure, Mrs. MORRISON. For political

and public service. Basil Clifford MORSON, V.R.D. For services to

Gastro-intestinal Pathology.

John MULKERN, lately Managing Director, British Airports Authority plc.

Professor William Frederick NASH, Chairman, Home Defence Scientific Advisory Committee. Director,

ofessor John PARNABY, Group Directo Manufacturing Technology, Lucas Industries plc. Alastair Craig PATERSON, Senior Partner, Bullen and Partners, Consulting Engineers.

David Daniel August PIÉSOLD, Senior Partner, Watermeyer, Legge, Piésold and Uhlmann. For services to Export.

David Martin PORTSMOUTH, Senior Principal Inspector of Taxes, Board of Inland Revenue.

Philip Michael Rivers POUNCEY. For services to Art.

Geoffrey POWELL, Chairman, Property John Advisory Group, Department of the Environment.