Major Jeffrey SMITH (462543), Royal Regiment of Artillery, Territorial Àrmy.

24008121 Warrant Officer Class 1 (now Lieutenant) Michael SMITH. The Black Watch (Royal Highland Regiment).

Major Robert Charles William TAYLOR (502958),

Intelligence Corps.

Major James Henry Stewart THOMPSON (474071), The Royal Irish Rangers (27th (Inniskilling) 83rd and 87th).

Major Wade James TOVEY (506458), The Yorkshire

Volunteers, Territorial Army.

Jonathan Christopher WALMISLEY Major (493797), Corps of Royal Engineers.

Major (Quartermaster) Glyndwr Brian WATKINS

(504679), The Light Infantry. 24022736 Warrant Officer Class 1 (now Lieutenant) (Acting Captain) William Noel WHITE, Royal Corps of Signals.

(Acting Major) John WRANGHAM (516998), Special Air Service Regiment, Territorial Army.

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (AIR FORCE DEPARTMENT)

C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Group Captain Peter George BEER, L.V.O., O.B.E., Royal Air Force.

Air Commodore Peter Joseph Alan CHISLETT, M.B.E., Royal Air Force.

Group Captain Brian Martin HUMPHRIES, O.B.E., Royal Air Force.

Group Captain Thomas Graham Rowland OSBORN, O.B.E., Royal Air Force.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Commander Samuel James BARCLAY (4335474), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander John Alwyn DICKSON (3039604), Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve (Training)

Wing Commander Brian Michael DOYLE (3527586), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander Michael William Sayle GRIGSON (609011), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander John Harold HAINES (4232386), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander Philip LANGRILL (3151808), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander Donald John MOYCE (2602748), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander Richard NORTHCOTE (608568), Royal Air Force.

Commander Michael John PERRETT (4231999), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander David Henry PHILLIPS (608504), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander Huw REES (5201562), Royal Air Force.

M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Warrant Officer Phillip Frank BARBER (4267374), Royal Air Force Regiment.

Squadron Leader Paul Charles Stuart BARRATT (5202534), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader James David BELL (1943505), Royal Air Force.

Warrant Officer Harry Noel BEVAN (4263922), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader William John BIRD (5203070), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant Alexander Daniel BROWN, A.F.C., (8025438), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant John CARLTON (207916), Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve (Training).

Squadron Leader Graham Roy Cecil COLLINS (686111), Royal Air Force.

Kenneth Leader George DAVIES Squadron (3120350), Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve (Training).

Squadron Leader Anthony Thomas DOLMAN (5201999), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant Brian FORBES (3504691). Royal Air Force.

Master Air Loadmaster John Freeland HANRAHAN (3529407), Royal Air Force.

Leader Iain Robertson Squadron (5201017), Royal Air Force.

Warrant Officer Michael HICKS (4249254), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader John Alexander JARVIS (595334), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader Raymond Edward LEACH

(4230512), Royal Air Force. Flight Lieutenant William Barrie LEE, B.E.M., (4235563), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader Graham Stuart LYNN (686326), Royal Air Force

Squadron Leader John Stirling MARDON (8025380), Royal Air Force.

Warrant Officer Gordon David **MEASURES** (4147550), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader Andrew Neil MITCHELL (8025261), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader James LE MOINE (586661), Royal Air Force.

Warrant Officer Joseph Alphonsus MORRISON (1940478), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant Michael RETALLACK (579644), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader Edward John SOWELLS (685876), Royal Air Force.

Warrant Officer Harry Owen SPENCER (4024406). Royal Air Force.

Order of the British Empire (Civil Division)

G.B.E.

To be Ordinary Knights Grand Cross of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

NEWMAN, Kenneth Leslie Q.P.M., Commissioner, Metropolitan Police. Edwin Noel, Baron PLOWDEN, K.C.B., K.B.E. For

public services.

D.B.E.

To be Ordinary Dames Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Miss Elizabeth Ursula CHESTERTON, O.B.E., Architect and Town Planner.

Miss Elizabeth Violet MACONCHY, C.B.E. (Mrs. Le Fanu), Composer.