Roger BIRCH, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Sussex Police.

Thomas Renfrew BONE. For services to Education in Scotland.

John Morton BOYD. For services to the conservation of the natural environment in Scotland.

Frederick Gordon BROOK-SHEPHERD, Author and Journalist. Lately Chief Assistant Editor, Sunday Telegraph.

John Lawson BROOME, Chief Executive, Alton

Towers Ltd

Kenneth CAMERON, Professor of English Language; Head of Department of English Studies, University of Nottingham.

Walter Menzies CAMPBELL, Q.C. For political and

public service.

Paul CLARK-EDDINGTON, Actor.

Charles Nigel CLARKE, Chairman, Bristol and Weston Health Authority.

Stanley George Gurney CLARKE, O.B.E. For services to the Newspaper Industry.

Miss Eileen Marie Lucy COLE, Member, Post Office

Michael Graeme COMPTON, Keeper of Museum Services, Tate Gallery.

Professor Rosemary Jean CRAMP, Commissioner, Historic Buildings and Monuments Commission for England.

Joseph Henry CROUCH, Lately Director, Marketing, Cable and Wireless plc.

Edward Horder CULLINAN, Senior Partner,

Edward Cullinan, Architects.

Cyril James DAVIES, Lately Ch
Newcastle upon Tyne City Council. Lately Chief Executive,

Alistair Jowett DEWHIRST, Chairman and Chief Executive, I. J. Dewhirst Holdings plc.

Benjamin Charlesworth Ralph DODSWORTH, D.L., Under Sheriff of Yorkshire.

William Brian DUNN, Managing Director, British Wool Marketing Board.

Harold ELLIS, Professor of Surgery, Charing Cross and Westminster Medical School, University of London.

Dewi Ieuan EVANS, Grade 4, Department of Transport.

Robert ÉVANS, Chief Executive, British Gas plc. Norman Gerald Dickson FERGUSON, Chairman, Northern Ireland Housing Executive.

Peter FIRMSTON-WILLIAMS, O.B.E., Chairman, Covent Garden Market Authority.

Donald FISHER, County Education Officer, Hertfordshire.

Donald Logan FORBES. For political and public service.

Peter Basil FRASER, Lately Assistant Secretary-General, Western European Union.

Richard Anthony GARRETT, Chairman, National Association of Boys' Clubs.

Philip James GRIMMER, O.B.E. For political and public service.

Professor Michael John HAMPSHIRE, Chairman, Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering, University of Salford.

Alan George HATCHETT, Deputy Chairman, Peninsular and Oriental Containers Ltd.

Nigel Barnard HAWTHORNE, Actor.

Miss Doreen Valerie HAYWARD, Chief Nursing Officer, Department of Health and Social Security. Susan (Ruby Evelyn), Mrs. HILL. For political service.

Ronald Sidney HOPE, O.B.E., Lately Director, Marine Society.

John Horsley HOSE. For services to the agricultural industry.

Donald Hamilton IRVINE, O.B.E., Lately Chairman of Council, Royal College of General Practitioners. Miss Sheelagh JEFFERIES, Deputy Director

General, Central Office of Information.

Peter Michael JEFFORD, Director, National Audit

Professor Norman Alan JEPSON, Academic Adviser, Prison Service College.

Elfed JONES, Chairman, Welsh Water Authority.

Austen Steven KARK, Lately Managing Director, British External Broadcasting, Broadcasting Corporation.

Rachel Walley, Mrs. KELLY, O.B.E. For services to the National Health Service.

Warburton Richard KNIGHT, Member, Technical Vocational and Educational Initiative, National Steering Group.

Derrick Alfred LARKINS, Chairman, Lansing Ltd. Penelope Ann, Mrs. LEE, Grade 5, Home Office.

John LYLES, Chairman and Chief Executive, S. Lyles plc.

Professor Alistair George James MACFARLANE. For services to Engineering

Kenneth Leslie MAIDMENT, President, British Film and Television Producers Association, Ltd.

Geoffrey Alan MARR, Chairman, J. Marr and Son Ltd.

David Kean MASON, Professor of Oral Medicine, University of Glasgow.

Brian John McMASTER, General Administrator, Welsh National Opera.

James Lauder MILLAR, Managing Director, William Low and Company plc.

John Clifford NICHOLSON, Deputy Controller of

Audit, Audit Commission for Local Authorities in England and Wales.

George Maitland NISSEN. For services to the Stock Exchange.

John Henry NORTHARD, O.B.E., Operations Director, British Coal.

Robert Stephen O'BRIEN, Chief Executive, Business in the Community

Trevor Bryan OWEN, Managing Director, Remploy

Christopher Frederick PAYNE, Q.P.M., D.L., Chief Constable, Cleveland Constabulary

Penelope Ellison, Mrs. PHILLIPS, M.B.E. For political and public service.

Alick Michael RANKIN, Group Chief Executive, Scottish and Newcastle Breweries plc.

Simon Denis RATTLE, Conductor.

Owen James RICH, Deputy Chairman, Alfred McAlpine plc.

David Gwilym Morris ROBERTS, Senior Partner, John Taylor and Sons.

Victor Alfred Baden ROGERS, Corporate Technical Staff Director, Westland plc.

Esmond Patrick Thomson RONEY, Chief Com-

moner, City of London. William Mackie ROSS, T.D., D.L., Lately President,

Royal College of Radiologists. The Honourable Walter Garrison RUNCIMAN,

Chairman, Walter Runciman plc. Joyce Beatrice, Mrs. SCROXTON, President, Young

Women's Christian Association.

John Beesley SHARP, Assistant Secretary, Department of Health and Social Security.

Thomas SHARP, Grade 5, Department of Trade and Industry.