David Abraham Goitein GALTON, Professor of Haematology, University of London.

Ronald GARRICK, Managing Director and Chief Executive, Weir Group plc.

Douglas Lindley GEORGALA, Head of Colworth Laboratory, Unilever Research, Unilever plc.

Norman GIDNEY, Chairman, Gidney Securities Ltd. Peter Austin GOODWIN, Director, National Investment and Loans Office.

Francis St. John Corbet GORE, Adviser on paintings, National Trust.

Edward Michael Wynne GRIFFITH, D.L. For services particularly to Agriculture in Wales.

John Ross HARPER. For political and public service.

William Flett HAY, M.B.E., President, Scottish Fishermen's Federation.

John Trevor HAYES, Director, National Portrait Gallery.

Professor Jack Charles HAYWARD, Director, Nursing Education Research Unit, King's College, University of London.

James Warwick HELE, High Master, St. Paul's School, Barnes, London.

John Derrik HENDER, D.L., lately Chief Executive, West Midlands Metropolitan County Council.

David Hugh Laing HOPKINSON, R.D., Deputy Chairman and Chief Executive, M. & G. Group plc.

Vera, Lady HOUGHTON. For services to women's health and to the Family Planning Association.

Cyril Raymond HOWARD, Managing Director, Pinewood Studios Ltd. For services to the British Film Industry.

Eric Waldo Benjamin HOWELLS. For political and public service.

George David INGE-INNES-LILLINGSTON, D.L., Crown Estate Commissioner.

Philip Mark JONES, O.B.E. For services to Music. Edwin KERR, Chief Officer, Council for National Academic Awards.

Peter Joseph LITTLE, Collector, Board of Customs and Excise.

John Charles LOWEIN, Chairman, Mobil Oil Company Ltd.

Benjamin Matthew LUXON, Singer,

John LYONS, General Secretary, Electrical Power Engineers' Association, and Engineers' & Managers' Association.

Finlay MacKENZIE, General Manager, Hewlett-Packard Ltd.

Duncan James MacLEOD, Senior Partner, Ernst and Whinney, Glasgow.

Professor Thomas Kenneth MARSHALL, State Pathologist, Northern Ireland.

Geoffrey Haward MARTIN, Keeper of the Public Records.

Philip Reynolds MATTHEW, Deputy Director-General, Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

James Sinclair McFARLANE, Director General, Engineering Employers' Federation.

Tom Montague MEYER, Chairman, Board of Governors, National Heart and Chest Hospitals, London.

John Clifford MORTIMER, Q.C., Playwright and author.

Royston John MOUNTAIN, Chairman and Managing Director, Avimo Ltd.

Charles Edwin NEEDHAM, Director, Coalite Group plc.

William Henry PARKER, lately Assistant Secretary, Department of Agriculture for Northern Ireland.

Kenneth Ritchie PATERSON, Director of Finance, Strathclyde Regional Council.

John Morris PEAKE, Chairman, Baker Perkins plc.

Richard Wintour PHELPS, lately General Manager, Central Lancashire New Town Development Corporation.

Archibald Ernest PITCHER, President, Ogilvy and Mather Ltd

Ian PRESTT, Director, Royal Society for the Protection of Birds.

Alastair Tarrant PUGH, Executive Vice Chairman, British Caledonian Airways.

Harcourt Neale RAINE, Chairman, Business and Technician Education Council.

Joseph William RAINE, M.B.E., Chairman, Livestock and Wool Committee, National Farmers' Union.

Professor Anthony John Harding RAINS, Assistant Director, British Post-graduate Medical Federation, University of London.

Professor Philip Alan REYNOLDS, D.L., lately Vice-Chancellor, University of Lancaster.

John Edmund RIDING, Consultant Anaesthetist, United Liverpool Hospitals.

Francis Edward RITCHIE, O.B.E., Treasurer, Council for National Parks.

Roy Ernest James ROBERTS, Managing Director, Guest Keen and Nettlefolds plc.

David Greig ROBERTSON, Director of Education, Tayside Region.

John Dermot RYAN, Chairman, Argyll and Clyde Health Board.

John Joseph SALISSE, lately Director, Marks and Spencer plc.Colin SANDERS, Managing Director, Solid State

Colin SANDERS, Managing Director, Solid State Logic Ltd.

Derek William SAUNDERS, Professor of Polymer Physics and Engineering, Cranfield Institute of Technology.

James Norman SCOTT, lately Director of Contracts, General Electric Company plc. For services to Export.

Roger John SELLICK, Assistant Chief Valuer, Board of Inland Revenue.

Benjamin SHAW, lately Chairman, Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Society.

Ernest Alwyn SMITH, Professor of Epidemiology and Social Oncology, University of Manchester.

George Taylor SMITH. For political and public service.

Brian TESLER, Chairman and Managing Director, London Weekend Television Ltd.

John William McWean THOMPSON, lately Editor, Sunday Telegraph.

Cyril Jesse TITE. For political service.

Lewis John Wynford VAUGHAN-THOMAS, O.B.E. For services to Welsh culture.

Peter John VINSON, Chairman, Construction Equipment and Mobile Cranes Economic Development Committee.

David Maxwell WALKER, Q.C., Regius Professor of Law, University of Glasgow.

Duncan Amos WATSON, Chairman, Royal National Institute for the Blind.

John Reginald WEEKS, lately Senior Partner, Llewelyn-Davies Weeks.

Deryk Vander WEYER, Deputy Chairman, British Telecommunications plc.