Malcolm Roy PIKE, Head, Nacelle International Aero Engines AG. For services to Export.

Peter Claude PINFIELD, V.R.D. For political service.

Bryan Nicholas PRESTON, Executive Director, Stone Manganese Marine Ltd. For services to Export.

Charles Reginald PURLEY, Chairman, Lec Refrigeration plc.

Donald Joseph RAMSDEN, Secretary, East Midlands Regional Examination Board.

Guy READMAN, Chairman and Managing Director, Tor Coatings Ltd.

Michael Myer REED, lately Chairman, Royal National Institute for the Deaf.

Robert Hargreaves REED, Managing Director, William Reed (Weaving) Ltd.

Ms Helen May REEVES, Director, National Association of Victims' Support Schemes.

Miss Beryl REID, Actress.

Michael David RICHARDS, Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Metropolitan Police.

John Henry RICHARDSON, Governor I, H.M. Prison, Liverpool.

Miss Mary RICHARDSON, Director of Personnel and Nurse Adviser, Hammersmith Special Health Authority.

Miss Elizabeth Scylla RILEY LORD, D.L. For services to the community in Darlington, County Durham.

Eric Thomas RINGROSE, Technical Director, Microflow, Dent and Hellyer Ltd.

Harold Alfred Thomas ROGERS, lately Manager, Radio Kent, British Broadcasting Corporation.

David Andrew ROSS STEWART, Chairman and Managing Director, John Bartholomew & Son Ltd.

James Fraser ROYAN, Commissioner, Meat and Livestock Commission.

Brian McCallan RUTHERFORD, lately Chief Buyer, BOCM Silcock Ltd.

Kenneth Clive SALTRICK, Operations Director, Flight Refuelling Ltd.

Thomas Albert SANDROCK, lately Crime Correspondent, Daily Telegraph.

Merton SEIGLEMAN. For services to the East Lancashire Hospice.

David Nicholas Oliver SEKERS, Director, Quarry Bank Museum.

John Antony David SETTLE, Director, Yorkshire Regional Burns Centre, Pinderfields General Hospital, Wakefield.

Richard Adrian William SHARP. For services to Sport particularly in the South West.

David Thomas SHARPE, Consultant Plastic Surgeon, Bradford Health Authority.

Nora, Mrs SMITH. For political service.

Victor Henry SMITH, Transport Systems Consultant.

William Christopher SMITH, Member, Hammersmith and Fulham Borough Council.

Beverley John SNOOK, Chairman, Royal Aero Club of the United Kingdom.

Alexander Allison STEELE, lately Sheriff Clerk, Dundee Sheriff Court, Scottish Courts Administration.

Charles Miller STEVENSON, Managing Director, Todd & Duncan Ltd.

Miss Clara Winifred STONE, Director, Children's Society.

Paul Anthony STURGESS, lately Executive Secretary, Marie Curie Memorial Foundation.

John Guthrie SUTHERLAND, Chief Area Nursing Officer, Forth Valley Health Board.

Richard Carey SWAN, Director, Agriculture Training Board.

Philip Edgar SWINSTEAD, Chairman and Managing Director, Systems Designers International plc. Thomas Francis THOMAS. For services to the

community in Mid-Wales.

John De Morgan Campbell THOMPSON, Director, Hot Isostatic Press Company Ltd.

Miss Margaret Wallace THOMSON, Chief Executive Officer, National Board for Nursing, Midwifery and Health Visiting for Scotland.

Harold TOUZEAU, Commander, Guernsey Division, St. John Ambulance Brigade.

Isabel Margaret, Mrs TRAILL. For services to the Arts in Scotland.

Reginald William James TRIDGELL, Chief Executive, London Borough of Havering.

Albert William TUKE, Director, North Yorkshire Area, National Coal Board.

Kenneth Ian TUNNICLIFFE. For political service. Noel Laird VALENTINE, Branch Manager, Belfast, Cheltenham and Gloucester Building Society.

Roger Davison VAUGHAN, General Manager, Fast Reactor Projects, National Nuclear Corporation Ltd.

Colin VICKERMAN, Secretary, Joint Matriculation Board.

Miroslaw VITALI, Medical Adviser, National Association for Limbless Disabled.

Geoffrey Hugh WALSH, Technical Adviser, Ministry of Defence.

Constance, Mrs. WARD, National Meals on Wheels Organiser, Women's Royal Voluntary Service.

William Roy WARRINGTON, Deputy Secretary, Association of District Councils.

Walter Ernest Hector WESTLAKE, Deputy Controller, National Savings Bank, Department for National Savings.

William Henry Potts WHATLEY, General Secretary, Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers.

Daniel Geraint WILLIAMS, lately Headmaster, Castell Alun Comprehensive School, Clwyd.

John Hobart Frederick Parker WILLIAMS, Administrator, Nottinghamshire Family Practitioner Committee.

Alan Arthur WILSON, Chief Regional Scientific Adviser, No. 4 Civil Defence Region.

David Geoffrey WILSON, D.L. For public services in the North West.

Monica Mary, Mrs. WOODHOUSE, Proprietor, Hampshire Chronicle.

Samuel Arthur John YOUNG. For political and public service.

M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Gilbert Sydney AARON, Head, Physical Education Department, South Glamorgan Institute of Higher Education.

Philip Wesson ABBOTT, Training Courses Officer, Sea Cadet Corps.

Harry ABRAHAM, Manager, Technical Staff Aircraft Group, Warton Division, British Aerospace plc.