Lawrence George HADLEY, Senior Partner, Donald Smith, Seymour and Rooley.

John Neville HAMPTON, lately Head of Air Photography Section, Royal Commission on the Historical Monuments of England.

Alastair Kydd HANTON, Deputy Managing Director, National Girobank.

Michael Fraye HARDY, County Surveyor, Hertfordshire County Council.

Dorothy Clare, Mrs. HARKIN, lately Principal, Lord Chancellor's Department.

John Leigh HARKNESS, Rose Breeder and Grower. John Frederick HARRIS, Curator, Drawings Collection, Royal Institute of British Architects.

William George HASTINGS, Chairman, Hastings Hotels Group Ltd.

Edward HAUGHEY, Managing Director, Norbrook Laboratories Ltd.

Hedley Walter HAWARD. For public services in Dorset.

John Steven HENDERSON. For public services in London.

Brian Dennis HERMON, Principal, Board of Customs and Excise.

David Ian HESLOP, Member, Sheffield Metropolitan City Council.

Miss Pamela Jean HIBBS, District Nursing Officer, City and Hackney Health Authority.

Raymond John HILBORNE, Executive Director, Geest Industries Ltd.

Rowland HILDER, Artist.

Desmond William Hill HODGES, Director, Edinburgh New Town Conservation Committee.

Edwin George HOOPER, Chief Safety Officer, Electricity Council.

Isaac Rees HOPKIN, lately Headteacher, Gwrt Sart Comprehensive School, Briton Ferry, West Glamorgan.

Daphne, Mrs. HOWARD, Headteacher, Brine Leas School, Nantwich, Cheshire.

Alan Thomas HOWARTH, Clinical Biochemist, Bradford Royal Infirmary.

Edith Margaret, Mrs. HOWIE. For political and public service.

Ronald William HOWLETT, Managing Director, Cwmbran Development Corporation.

Philip HUGHES, D.S.C., lately Director of Social Services, City of Wakefield Metropolitan District Council.

Alan Clifford HUTCHINSON, Principal, Paddington College.

Edward John HUXTABLE. For services to the magistracy in North East London.

John Patrick IDE, Secretary, Theatre Investment Trust.

David Maurice JACOBS, Consultant on Company Law.

John Ellis Erasmus JENKINS, Senior Principal Scientific Officer, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Jean, Mrs. JOHNSTON. For political and public service.

David Aubrey JONES, Clerk to the Justices, Cambridge City, Ely, Newmarket and South Cambridgeshire.

Frederick Herbert KEENS, Grade 6, Home Office. Professor George Stewart KILPATRICK. For ser-

Professor George Stewart KILPATRICK. For ser vices to medicine in Wales.

Ralph Richard LAND, General Manager, Eastern Europe Export Operations, Rank Xerox Ltd. For services to Export.

Miss Rowena Mary LAWSON. For services to fisheries economics and development overseas.

Lieutenant Colonel David Alexander Wallace LOCHHEAD, M.C., lately General Secretary, Scottish Branch, British Red Cross Society.

Hew Martin LORIMER. For services to the Scottish heritage.

Kathleen Mary, Mrs. LOSINSKA. For services to The Civil and Public Services Association.

Miss Ann Pauline LYNCH, Director of Nurse Education, Leeds (Eastern) District School of Nursing. Colonel Hugh MACKAY, Director, Overseas De-

partment, Save the Children Fund.

Colonel William Bradbury MANSELL, M.C., lately Principal, National Maritime Museum.

Elisabeth Lesley Grant, Mrs. MAPSTONE, Professor of Social Administration and Social Work, University of Dundee.

Alan Charles Nelson MARTIN, General Director, Scripture Union in England and Wales.

Hugh Leslie MATHEWS, Director of Production, Midlands Region, Central Electricity Generating Board.

Colonel Alexander MATTHEW, D.L., Vice-Chairman, North West of England and Isle of Man Territorial Auxiliary and Volunteer Reserve Assn.

John Charles McCASKIE, Director, Baker Perkins Holdings plc.

John McCORKINDALE, Member, Strathclyde Regional Council.

William Gordon McDOUGALL, Principal, Department of Health and Social Security.

William McGOOKIN, Chief Information Officer, Royal Ulster Constabulary.

Francis McGRATH, Assistant Director (Engineer), Ministry of Defence.

Mervyn Kenneth McKENZIE. For political and public service.

Derek Michael MELLUISH, lately Head of Computing Services, North Staffordshire Polytechnic.

Mary Johanna, Mrs. METCALF, Headteacher, Haggerston School, Hackney.

Alexander MONEY, lately Principal, Motherwell College, Lanarkshire.

George Henry MOORE, Q.F.S.M., Chief Officer, Lincolnshire Fire Brigade.

Leslie James MORRELL, Chairman, Northern Ireland Water Council.

Ferris Anderson MORTON, Superintending Professional and Technology Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Arthur MUSCOTT, lately Principal Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Desmond William NEILL, Biochemist and Head of the Department of Biochemistry, Royal Victoria Hospital, Belfast.

Margot Gwendoline, Mrs. NEILL, Chairman, CRUSE, Northern Ireland.

Ronald NORMAN, Chairman, R. Norman Ltd.

Jack Gordon OVERY. For services to Cricket. Henry PATON, Senior Engineer Superintendent,

Ben Line Steamers Ltd.

Frank Arthur Walter PEREGRINE, lately Principal, Lancashire College of Agriculture.

Pamela Hazel, Mrs. PHILLIPS. For political and public service.