Major Henry DUCKWORTH, lately Chief Commoner, City of London.

The Honourable John Dawson ECCLES, lately Deputy Chairman, Monopolies and Mergers Commission.

Jack Trevor EDWARDS, Senior Partner, Freeman Fox and Partners. For services to Export.

Malcolm John EDWARDS, Commercial Director, National Coal Board.

Ian Keith Casey ELLISON, Assistant Secretary, Department of Trade and Industry.

Professor Michael Anthony EPSTEIN. Professor of Pathology, University of Bristol.

Lucy (Barbara Ethel), Lady FAULKNER of DOWNPATRICK, National Governor, Northern Ireland, British Broadcasting Corporation.

Alfred Henry FERGUSON, Lord Mayor of Belfast. Marshall Hayward FIELD, lately General Manager and Director, Phoenix Assurance plc.

David Atkinson FLETCHER. For political and public service.

Kenneth Bent, Baron GRANTCHESTER, Q.C. For public service.

Anthony George Molyneux GREENLAND, O.B.E. For political service.

Ivor Reginald GUILD, lately Chairman, Scottish Committee, Council on Tribunals.

Geoffrey Ronald HALL, Director, Brighton Polytechnic.

Anne Macintosh, Mrs. HARRIS, lately Chairman, National Federation of Women's Institutes. Reginald John HARTLES, Chief Education Officer,

London Borough of Ealing.

Colonel Michael Brian HAYCOCK, T.D., D.L., Chairman, West Midlands Territorial Auxiliary and Volunteer Reserve Association.

Donald Burnie HENDERSON, Q.P.M., lately Chief Constable, Northern Constabulary.

Professor Douglas Mackay HENDERSON, Regius Royal Botanic Garden, Edinburgh, Keeper, Department of Agriculture and Fisheries for Scotland.

Nicholas John HINTON, lately Director, National Council for Voluntary Organisations.

John Richard Seymour HOMAN, Industrial Director, National Economic Development Office.

Ronald George HOOKER, Chairman, Henry Sykes plc.

Professor Edward Philip George HOUSSEMAYNE DU BOULAY, Professor of Neuroradiology, University of London.

Vernon Guy HUNTRODS, lately Executive Director, Lloyds Bank International Ltd.

James Keith ISAAC, Director General, West Midlands Passenger Transport Executive.

Professor Kenneth Hurlstone JACKSON. For services to Celtic Studies.

William Unsworth JACKSON, Chief Executive, Kent County Council.

Derek George JACOBI, Actor.

Frederick Stuart JENNETT, Architect, Percy Thomas Partnership.

David Evan Alun JONES, Commissioner for Local Administration in Wales.

Francis Henry KING, O.B.E., Author; and for services to authors and writers.

The Honourable Kenneth Henry Lowry LAMB, Secretary, Church Commissioners for England.

Miss Patricia LAMBURN (Mrs Derrick). For services to the magazine industry.

William Herbert LAMING, Director of Social Services, Hertfordshire.

Geoffrey John LOMER, Technical Director, Racal Electronics plc.

Thomas MAYER, Chairman and Managing Director, Thorne EMI Electronics. For services to export.

John McCABE, Composer and pianist.

John MINTER, Chairman, North East Essex Health Authority.

James Richard Samuel MORRIS. For services to Industry and Science.

John Alderson PARRY, Veterinary Practitioner, For services to agriculture particularly in Wales.

Miss Margaret PEREIRA (Mrs. Wells), Director. Forensic Science Service, Home Office.

PLOWMAN, lately Secretary, Albert Association of Metropolitan Authorities.

Rowland Donald POTTER, Assistant Secretary. Welsh Office.

Percy RADCLIFFE, lately Chairman, Executive Council, Isle of Man.

William Scotland RANKIN, Senior Principal Inspector of Taxes, Board of Inland Revenue.

Donald Arthur David REEVE, Deputy Chairman and Chief Executive, Severn Trent Water Authority.

Antony Stuart ROBERTSON, Chairman of Traffic Commissioners, Metropolitan Traffic Area, Department of Transport.

Frank Edwin ROE, D.L., Divisional Managing Director, Warton Division, Aircraft Group, British Aerospace plc. For services to Export.

Professor John Allan Fynes ROOK, Second Secretary, Agricultural and Food Research Council.

Joan, Mrs. SANSOM, President, East Midlands Rent Assessment Panel.

Reginald Nicola SIMEONE, Comptroller of Finance and Administration, United Kingdom Atomic Energy Authority.

Hugh John SIMMONDS. For political and public service.

Martin SMITH, President, Samuel Chamber of Commerce.

Thomas Eric SMITH, Chairman, Smith's Containers Ltd.

Terence Edward SPRATT, Chairman and Managing Director, Safeway Food Stores Ltd.

Harbourne Mackay STEPHEN, D.S.O., D.F.C., Managing Director, Daily Telegraph and Sunday Telegraph plc. For services to the newspaper industry.

Denis Synge STEPHENS, Q.C., lately Master. Central Office, Supreme Court of Judicature of Northern Ireland.

William Trevor STEVENSON, D.L., Chairman, Scottish Transport Group.

Roy Irvine STEWART. For political and public service.

Anthony Guy STRINGER, Director, Oxfam.

Richard Benjamin THOMAS, O.B.E., Chief Constable, Dyfed Powys Police.

Paul Archer TYLER. For political service.

Richard Eric Roger TYRRELL, Managing Director, XCAN Grain (Europe) Ltd.

John Herbert Cecil VERNON, Scientific Adviser, Ministry of Defence.

Michael Giles Neish WALKER, Chief Excutive, Sidlaw Group plc.