Margaret, Mrs. McGREGOR, Member, North-Eastern Education and Library Board, Northern Ireland.

Lieutenant Colonel William Alfred McLELLAND, T.D., D.L., lately Chairman, Gloucester County Council.

John Ewen McNAUGHTON, Chairman, Scotch Quality Beef and Lamb Association.

Michael MELOY, Principal, Ministry of Defence. Gordon MICHELL, Architect, Michell and Part-

Ian David MILLER. For political service.

Donald Alfred MOODY, Chairman, Moody Homes

Douglas Campbell MUIRHEAD, Chairman, Ardrossan, Saltcoats and Stevenston Enterprise Trust.

Peter Arthur Glanville MULLENS. For services to the Welsh Industrial Development Advisory

William Edward Scott MUTCH, Head, Department of Forestry and Natural Resources, University of Edinburgh.

Alec Preston NUTTALL, Chief Probation Officer, Cleveland Probation Service.

Brigadier John Henry Huby OLIVER, T.D., D.L., General Medical Practitioner, Worcestershire. Derek Armstrong PATTINSON. For services to the

community in Cumbria.

Professor John Frederick PAYNTER, Professor of Music Education, University of York.

Albert William Kenneth PENHALIGON, Deputy Chairman, North Eastern Region, British Gas Corporation.

Miss Margaret PILBEAM, Chief Nursing Officer, Eastbourne District Health Authority.

Norman PLATT, Artistic Director, Kent Opera. Stanley PLEASE. For services to the World Bank.

Mary Joy, Mrs. POTTS. For political and public

David William PYE, Woodcarver.

William Robert RANGELEY. For services to international irrigation and drainage.

James Humphrey Carr RAWSON. For political and public service.

James Walter REED, Secretary, Dairy Produce Quota Tribunal for England and Wales.

Richard Ivor REES. For services to local government and the community in Dyfed.

Alleyne Holden REYNOLDS, Managing Director and Consultant, BAT Industries (Small Business). Joseph Ogden RILEY, Chairman, National Council, Royal Naval Association.

Samuel Reid Campbell RITCHIE, General Medical Practitioner, Northern Ireland.

Shena, Mrs. ROBERTSON COLE, Chairman. Abbeyfield Governing Council, Scotland.

Peter David ROBESON. For services to Show Jumping.

Valerie, Mrs. ROBINSON. For services to Hockey. Edward Albert ROWE, Member, Lewisham and North Southwark District Health Authority.

Maurice Frank ROWLAND, Consultant, Reginald W. Barker.

Reuben Joseph RUSSELL, Reservoir Evaluation Specialist III, Department of Energy.

Peter William RUSSELL-EGGITT, Chairman, Joint Scientific and Technical Committee, Food and Drink Federation.

James Douglas SALMON, Managing Director, Crosfield Electronics Ltd.

Frederic David SKIDMORE, Consultant, Joyce Green Hospital, Dartford.

Margaret, Mrs. SLADE. For political service.

Brian Eugene SMITH, lately Principal, Department for National Savings.

Charles Leslie SMITH, Principal Professional and Technology Officer, Department of the Environment.

Lieutenant Colonel John Norris SMITH, T.D., D.L., Vice-Chairman, Wales, Territorial Auxiliary and Volunteer Reserve Association.

Joyce Evelyn May, Mrs. SMITH, Chairman, Spastics Society.

Professor John Crocket SMYTH, Head of Department of Biology, Paisley College of Technology.

Walter George SMYTH, Sales Manager, Richardsons Fertilisers Ltd.

Boleslaw Marian SOSIN. Chief Scientist, Marconi Communications Systems Ltd.

David Charles STANLEY, Deputy Director of Education and Training, Confederation of British Industry

Stanley STEENSON, Assistant Chief Constable, Roval Ulster Constabulary.

Harold John TAMPLIN. For services to farming in Wales.

Jennifer Anne, Mrs. TAYLOR. For political service.

Martin THOMAS, D.L. For services to local government and the community in West Glamorgan.

Gilbert Williamson THOMPSON, Chief Executive, Manchester International Airport.

John Geoffrey Tristram, Baron TREVETHIN and OAKSEY. For services to the Injured Jockeys Fund.

William Mark TULLY, Chief of Bureau, Delhi, British Broadcasting Corporation.

Colin VEYSEY, lately Assistant County Surveyor,

Hampshire County Council.
William Proudfoot WALKER, lately Member, Livingston Development Corporation.

Frank Lystra WARNER, Senior Principal Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Alexander Stewart WEATHERHEAD, T.D. services to the legal profession in Scotland.

Miss Joan Muriel WHEELER, Principal Nursing Officer, Department of Health and Social Security. Miss June Rosemary WHITFIELD (Mrs. Aitchison). Actress.

Thomas Jackson WHITSON, Deputy Chief Constable, Central Scotland Police.

Rowland James WILLIAMS. For services to Medicine in Wales.

Katherine Muriel Irwin, Mrs. WILSON, lately Chairman, Equal Opportunities Commission for Northern Ireland.

Major Douglas Harold WITHERINGTON, lately Senior Veterinary Officer, The Jockey Club.

Miss Mima Clark WOOLLEY, Regional Nurse, North East Thames Regional Health Authority. Lois Mary, Mrs. YATES, lately County Commissioner, Staffordshire, Girl Guides' Association.

M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Hylda May, Mrs. ABELL. For political and public service.