Elizabeth Cecilia, Lady MORE O'FERRALL, lately Chairman, Guinness Trust.

David John MORTON, Lecturer in Education, University of Nottingham.

Berkeley Alfred MOWLEM, Principal Professional and Technology Officer, Department of Transport.

Derek Peter MUIR, Chairman and Chief Executive, Vickers Marine Engineering Division, Edinburgh. David Rickards Baskerville MYNORS, Vice-

Chairman, Oxfordshire Health Authority.

Elizabeth Anne, Mrs. NAIRNE. For Political Service. Cecil NIMMONS, General Manager, Belfast Harbour Commissioners.

Percy John NORRIS, lately Chapter Agent, Canterbury Cathedral.

Barbara, Mrs. OLDHAM, Deputy President, Cheshire County Branch, British Red Cross Society.

Harry Stanley ORTON, Consultant Orthodontist, Kingston Hospital and Royal Dental Hospital, London.

Robert Frederick James PARSONS. For Political and Public Service.

John Mower Alexander PATERSON, D.L. For public services in Buckinghamshire.

John Bramwell PATON. Director of Horticulture, Commonwealth War Graves Commission.

Thomas William Saunderson PATTON, Member, Belfast City Council.

James Beaumont PENDLE. For Political and Public Service.

Alan John PIKE, Senior Principal, Department of the Environment.

Bernard Francis PLUMMER, Principal Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence

Jeremy James Richard POPE, Joint Managing Director, Eldridge Pope plc.

William RAMSDEN, Managing Director, Rank Taylor Hobson Ltd.

Miss Elizabeth RAYBOULD. For services to Nursing Education.

Philip REASBECK, Chief Scientist and Director of Research, Lucas Industries plc.

Geoffrey Porter RICH, Editor, South Wales Echo. John RISHBETH, Reader in Plant Pathology, Botany School, University of Cambridge.

Ian Crake ROBEY, Chairman, Cakebread Robey plc.

Virendra SAHAI, Regional Architect, South Western Regional Health Authority.

Joseph Stanley SALT, Superintending Engineer,

Surrey County Council. Michael Vincent SALTER, Inspector, Department

of Education and Science Geoffrey Frank SARJEANT, Chairman, British

Literacy Committee.

Robert SAUNDERS, Director, South Western Farmers Ltd.

William Alfred SCOTT. For Political and Public Service.

Roger Douglas SELF. For services to Hockey.

Henry Samuel SHARPLEY. For Political and Public Service.

Harold Watkins SHAW. For services to Music.

James Brian SHAW. For services to the Pensions Appeal Tribunals.

Frank SIMMONS, lately Principal, Lord Chancellor's Department.

Clifford Joseph SMITH. For Political Service.

Mervyn Philip SMITH, Establishment Officer, Natural Environment Research Council.

Leslie James SOANE, Managing Director, Reorganisation, British Railways Board.

Terence John SOUTAR, Principal, H.M. Stationery Office.

Peter STALKER, Partner, Kirk McClure and Morton, Consulting Engineers, Belfast.

John Henry STARKEY. For Political Service.

Edwin Frederick Reed STEARN, Principal, Brooks-

by Agricultural College and Chief Agricultural Education Officer for Leicestershire.

Charles Paul Joseph STEINITZ. For services to the London Bach Society

Stephen James STEWART. For Political and Public Service.

Miss Marianne STRAUB, Textile Designer and Weaver.

Heather May Farquhar, Mrs. SWIFT. For Political and Public Service.

David John THOMAS, Headmaster, Aberaeron Comprehensive School.

Bertram Eric TWYFORD, lately Clerk and Chief

Executive, Guildford Borough Council. Victor Howard USHER. For Political and Public

Service. Edward James Alfred VENN. For services to the

blind. Stephen Baly VINCENT. For Political and Public

Service William Patrick VINTEN, Director, Vinten Group

plc. For Services to Export. Bernard Coultas WADE, Official Receiver, Depart-

ment of Trade and Industry. Miss Rosalind WADE (Mrs. R H Seymour), Editor,

Contemporary Review. Thomas WALFORD, General Secretary,

Multiple Sclerosis Society of the United Kingdom. Sidney Charles WALKER. For services to the

training of Mining Engineers. anley Charles WALLIN, Stanley Charles WALLIN, Principal Son Officer, Department of Trade and Industry. Principal Scientific

John Murray WATTERSON, Headmaster, Plas Gwynant Outdoor, Social and Residential Education Centre.

Austen Ian WELCH. For Political and Public Service.

Neville Joseph WHITEHEAD, Manager, Great Britain Athletics Team.

Howard WHITEHOUSE, Director, Whitehouse Brothers (Fuels) Ltd.

Hugh Norman WILLIAMS, Chief Executive Community Transport.

Arthur Leslie WOLFENDALE, Managing Director, South Wales Switchgear Ltd.

Angus John Howell WOOD, Area Director, Manchester, Department of Employment.

Arthur Murdoch Mactaggart WOOD, General Secretary, Royal Scottish Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children.

Douglas Graham WOOD M.C. For services to the elderly and disabled in Scotland.

Ian William YOUNG, Headteacher, Hedworthfield Comprehensive School, Jarrow.

M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Pauline, Mrs. ACKLAM, Chairman, Barnsley and District Council for Voluntary Service.