John Byerley CLEMETSON, Senior Official Receiver, Insolvency Service, Department of Trade and Industry.

Adrian Fraser Canning CLISSITT, Q.P.M., Chief Constable, Hertfordshire Constabulary.

David Jervis COATS. Senior Partner. Babtie Shaw and Morton, Consulting Engineers.

Brigadier Colin Hunter COWAN, D.L., Chief Executive, Cumbernauld New Town Development Corporation.

James COWLEY, Grade 4 Surveyor, Department of Transport.

Robert George Reginald DANIELS, D.L., lately Chairman, Essex County Council.

Ivor Roland Morgan DAVIES. For Political Ser-

John Howard DAVIES, Director of Education, Clwyd.

Bramwell John DEACON. For Political and Public Service.

William Eric DENNY, Chairman, Home Secretary's Advisory Board on Restricted Patients.

Professor Robert Buchan DUTHIE, Nuffield Professor of Orthopaedic Surgery, University of Oxford.

Barry Warwick EAST, Regional Works Officer, North East Thames Regional Health Authority.

Frank Wallis EDWARDS, lately Chairman, Latin American Trade Advisory Group. For services to

Vivian John Herman ELLIS, Composer and Author. nomas Myrddin EVANS, O.B.E., President, Farmers' Union of Wales. Thomas

Joseph Sidney FAWCETT, Farmer; Vice-President National Farmers' Union, North Yorkshire.

Ian Stark FLETT, Director of Education, Fife Re-

James Anthony GAFFNEY, Director of Engineering Services, West Yorkshire Metropolitan County Council.

Robert Thomas GARDNER, Vice-President and Chief General Manager, Bradford and Bingley Building Society.

Roy Harry GEORGE, M.B.E., Chairman and Managing Director, Celluware Ltd. For services to Export.

Nicholas GEORGIADIS, Artist and Stage Designer. Alan Breck GILMOUR, Director, National Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Children.

Professor Ronald Haxton GIRDWOOD, President, Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh.

Norman MacLeod GLEN, T.D. For Political Service.

Jayvantsinh Kayaji GOHEL. For Political and Public Service. James Stuart GORDON, Managing Director, Radio

Alan Thomas GREGORY. Director, UK and External Affairs, BP International Ltd.

Professor Ronald GULLIFORD, Professor and Head, Department of Special Education, University of Birmingham.

John Brown HARDY, lately President, Cocoa, Chocolate and Confectionery Alliance.

Leonard HARTON D.L., Managing Director, Newcastle Chronicle and Journal Ltd.

Raymond HERON, lately Chief Scientific Officer B', Ministry of Defence.

John HOSIER, Principal, Guildhall School of Music and Drama.

Arthur Henry James HOSKINS, Deputy Chairman and Group Chief Executive, Matthew Hall plc.

John IMRIE, Keeper of the Records of Scotland

(Grade 5), Scottish Record Office,

Professor James Alistair MacFarlane INGLIS, For services to the Scottish legal profession.

Thomas Garnet Henry JAMES, Keeper, British Museum.

Jack William JESSOP, Board Member (Director of Safety Services), British Airways.

Kenneth Edward KEMP-TURNER, D.L., lately Chairman, Suffolk County Council.

Harry KLEEMAN, Chairman, Plastics Processing Economic Development Committee.

Paul George KORÂLEK, Architect, Ahrends Burton, Koralek.

Olaf Francis LAMBERT, Director General, Automobile Association.

Professor Leslie Philip LE QUESNE, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Dean of the Faculty of Medicine. University of London.

John Edward LECK, Assistant, Director of Public Prosecutions.

John Thirlestane LEONARD, Chairman and Chief

Executive, Carless Capel and Leonard plc.

Joseph LEVY, M.B.E., B.E.M. For charitable services.

James Richard LLOYD, lately Non-Executive Director, Bass plc.

lbert John LONG, Chairman, Social Work Committee, Strathclyde Regional Council.

William LOW, Chairman and Managing Director, Don Bros, Buist plc.

Martin Osbert MACONACHIE, Senior Technical Adviser, Ministry of Defence.

Francis Anthony MALLETT, lately Chief Executive, South Yorkshire County Council.

Victor Robert MARGRIE, Director, Crafts Centre. Peter MATHIAS, Chichele Professor of Economic History, University of Oxford.

Stuart McDOWALL, Senior Lecturer in Economics, University of St. Andrews.

Ronald William MELLOR, Director, Ford Motor Company Ltd.

Arnold Robert MOUNTFORD, Director, Stoke-on-Trent City Museum.

Geoffrey MYERS, Board Member and Joint Managing Director (Railways), British Railways Board. Jan NEUMANN, Managing Director, YARD Ltd. For services to Export.

Professor Thomas Ernest OPPE, Director of Paediatric Unit, St. Mary's Hospital, London.

Alan Christopher PALMER, Chief Supplementary Benefits Officer, Department of Health and Social Security.

Charles Henry PALMER. For services to Cricket.
The Right Honourable Victoria Ellen, Lady
PALMER, Vice-Chairman of the Council, British Red Cross Society.

Professor Kenneth Alwyne POUNDS, Professor of Space Physics and Director, X-ray Astronomy Group, University of Leicester.

David Lynn PRATT, Controller of Engineering, Commonwealth Development Corporation.

Norman QUICK. For Political and Public Service. Charles John RISK, lately Chairman, National Council, Association of British Chambers of Commerce. Waheeb RIZK, O.B.E., Chairman, British Standards

Institution.