Doreen Edna Joy, Mrs. BROOKE, lately Deputy Director, Ministry of Defence.

Raymond Frederick BURMAN, lately Chairman, West Indies Trade Advisory Group. For services to Export.

Robert Duncan CATTERALL, Consultant Adviser in Genito-Urinary Medicine, Middlesex Hospital, London.

George CLARKE, Chief Officer, Hampshire Fire Brigade.

Peter CLARKE, Principal, Robert Gordon's Institute of Technology, Aberdeen.

Miss Barbara Evelyn CLAYTON (Mrs. Klyne), Professor of Chemical Pathology and Human Metabolism, University of Southampton.

Michael David Nevill COBBOLD. For services to

local government in Westminster.

Basil Eugene Sinclair COLLINS, Deputy Chairman and Chief Executive, Cadbury Schweppes PLC.

Professor John Philip COOPER, Director, Welsh Plant Breeding Station, Aberystwyth.

John Michael Terence Wellesley DENISON, Actor. Arthur Henry Alexander DIBBS, lately Deputy Chairman, National Westminster Bank PLC

Harry Ari Simon DJANOGLY, Chairman and Chief Executive, The Nottingham Manufacturing Company PLC

Gordon Elliott FOGG, Professor of Marine Biology, University College of North Wales, Bangor.

Peter Walter FOSTER, O.B.E., M.C., T.D., D.L., Chairman and Managing Director, William White and Company (Switchgear) Ltd.

Norman Edward FROST, Chief Scientific Officer (B), Department of Industry.

William Nichol Garry, lately Assistant Secretary, H.M. Treasury

Eric John GIBSON, Deputy Chief Scientific Officer, Department of the Environment.

David Alec GRAHAM, Director General, Greater Manchester Passenger Transport Executive.

Albert Julian GRANVILLE, Chairman and Managing Director, Howard Doris Ltd.

Miss Dulcie Winifred Catherine GRAY (Mrs. Denison), Actress.

Stanley, William GRUNDY, Chairman, Grundy (Teddington) Group Ltd.

William Jardine HARKNESS, lately President, Scottish Football Association.

Eric HARTWELL, lately Vice Chairman, Trust-house Forte PLC.

John Dennis Miles HEARTH, Chief Executive, Royal Agricultural Society of England.

David Burton HOBMAN, Director, Age Concern (England).

Robert Edgar HODD, Chairman, Preston Health Authority.

Gyde HORROCKS, For Political Service.

Raymond HORROCKS, Group Chief Executive, Cars, BL PLC.

James Douglas Howden HUME, Deputy Chairman and Managing Director, Howden Group PLC,

Robin Eliot IRVINE, Consultant Physician, Department of Medicine for the Elderly, Hastings Health Authority.

John Bryan JEFFERSON, Partner, Jefferson, Sheard and Partners.

Professor Huw MORRIS-JONES. For Public Service in Wales.

Michael KELLY, Lord Provost of Glasgow.

William Leslie KENDALL, lately Secretary General, Council of Civil Service Unions.

Albert LAUGHARNE, Q.P.M., Deputy Commissioner, Metropolitan Police.

John LEATHER, Principal, Derby College of Further Education.

Raymond John LEPPARD, Conductor, Harpsichordist and Composer.

Trevor Oswin LEWIS. For services to countryside conservation in Wales.

John Luke LOWTHER, D.L. For Political and Public Service.

Professor Bryan KEITH-LUCAS. For Political and Public Service.

Thomas Russell McKNIGHT, Assistant Secretary, Department of Economic Development, Northern Ireland.

Matthew MACMILLAN, O.B.E., lately Controller. English Language and Literature Division, The British Council.

John Hannah Forbes MACPHERSON. For public service in the West of Scotland, particularly to Glasgow Chamber of Commerce.

Professor William Norton MEDLICOTT, Senior Editor, Documents on British Foreign Policy.

Peter Colin MICHAEL, Chairman, Micro-Consultants Group Ltd.

John Alfred MILLS, Managing Director, Molins PLC. For services to Export.

David William MITCHELL. For Political and

Public Service.

John Royston MOORE, Member, West Yorkshire Metropolitan County Council.

George Henry MOORES, Chairman, South Yorkshire Police Authority.

Alistair Fleming NEILSON, Solicitor and Chief Legal Adviser, Scottish Health Service.

Eric Hamilton NICOLL, Deputy Chief Engineer, Scottish Development Department.

Richard Edward NORMAN, Chairman and Managing Director, Thorn EMI Ferguson.

Leonard Sidney PAYNE, Director of Distribution, J. Sainsbury PLC

Peter Charles PEDDIE, Partner, Freshfields and Company.

James George Christopher PILDITCH, Chairman, Aidcom International PLC

John Henry McKnight PINKERTON, Professor of Midwifery and Gynaecology, Queen's University of Belfast.

Michael Vivian POSNER, Chairman, Social Science Research Council.

Leslie John PYM. For Political and Public Service. John Michael RAISMAN, Chairman, Shell UK Ltd. James RANKIN, Principal Inspector of Taxes, Board of Inland Revenue.

Bryan Colman READ, Chairman, R. J. Read (Holdings) Ltd.

Cyril Norman READ, Business Consultant.

Derek Harry ROBERTS, Director of Research, The

General Electric Company PLC. Margaret Helen, Mrs. RULE, Archaeologist. For Services to the raising of the Mary Rose.

Paul Johannes RUTTEMAN, Partner, Arthur Young McClelland Moores and Company.

Desmond Eric Renforth SCARR, Assistant Secretary, Department of Energy.

Arthur SELDON, Economist.

Professor John Cyril SMITH, Member, Criminal Law Revision Committee.