George Patrick McGUIGAN, Member, Northern Health and Social Services Board.

Miss Helen Todd McINTOSH, Area Nursing Officer (Child Health), Greater Glasgow Health Board.

Donald Colin MACKAY, Head Teacher, Craigmuir Primary School, Edinburgh.

Douglas Alistair MACKAY, lately Professional and Technology Officer Grade II, Scottish Home and Health Department.

Donald Edward McKEWAN, Senior Executive Officer, Board of Inland Revenue.

Ian Alistair MACPHERSON, Controller of Works, East Kilbride Development Corporation.

Marie Isobel, Mrs. MAIR, lately Senior Clinical Medical Officer, Argyll and Clyde Health Board.

Alastair George Gunn MANSON, Chairman and Member, BSI Committees. Standards Liaison Executive, Plessey Assessment Service, The Plessey Company PLC.

Valerie Palmer, Mrs. MARETT, Principal Lecturer in Multiracial Studies, School of Education,

Leicester Polytechnic.

Miss Euphemia MATHERS, lately Matron/Housekeeper, Guide Dog Training Centre, Forfar, Angus.

Miss Daisie Lily Kathleen MATTHEWS. For Political Service.

John MATTHEWS, Head, Boot and Shoe Making Department, Derwen Training College.

Miss Betty MEAKIN, Personal Secretary to Chief

Constable, Derbyshire Constabulary.

John Richard Grainger MEIKLE, Leader, Taunton Deane Borough Council.

Kenneth MELLING, Director, HAT Group Ltd, Barley Wood.

Miss Anne Marie MEYER, Secretary and Registrar, The Warburg Institute.

John Henry MILLARD, General Manager, Victoria Coach Station PLC.

Leonard MILLS, Secretary, British Amateur Boxing Association.

Rena, Mrs. MOHON. For services to the community in Co Durham.

Terence Frank MONEY, Technical Manager, Optical Division, Avimo Ltd. For Services to Export. David Robert MOORCROFT. For services to Athletics.

Jack MOORE, Commercial Director, Ruston Diesels

Barbara Jean, Mrs, MORGAN, Sister, Mid Wales Hospital, Talgarth.

Joan, Mrs. STOKES-MORRIS, Member Melton Borough Council.

Mrs. MORRIS, Personal Secretary, Katherine. Home Office.

Michael Leon MULLENDER, Senior Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Vera Elizabeth, Mrs. MULLIGAN, Director, Josephine MacAllister-Brew Development Training.

Duncan MUNRO, Farmer, Crosshills, Alness, Rossshire.

Miss Pearl Brown MURRAY, Executive Officer, Board of Inland Revenue.

George Robert MUSTOE, Senior Principal Assistant, Comptroller and City Solicitor's Department, Corporation of London.

Ann, Mrs. NASH. For Political Service.

William Simpson NEWTON, Member, Darlington Borough Council.

Major Robert Andrew NICHOL (Retd.), Secretary, Cornwall Industrial Development Association.

Miss Cecilia O'BOYLE, District Manager, Londonderry No. 1 District, Northern Ireland Housing Executive.

Miss Alice Helena Walker ORR, Superintendent Physiotherapist, Ards Hospital, Newtownards.

Edward Gwynfor OWEN, Higher Executive Officer, Forestry Commission.

John OWEN, Chairman and Managing Director, Newelco (Uskside).

Miss Kathleen Ann PARKEN. For services to the community in Wiltshire.

Dennis Ernest PARKER. For Political Service.

Constance May, Mrs. PARRY, Senior Nursing Officer, York Health Authority.

James PATERSON, Chairman, Policy and Resources Committee, Cumnock and Doon Valley District Council.

Edward PAYNE, Personnel and Training Manager, Linotype and Machinery Ltd., Altrincham.

Geoffrey PEARSON, General Dental Practitioner, Warsop.

Betty May, Mrs. PENNY. For services to charities. Mary Doreen, Mrs. PENYCATE, Member, South Eastern Gas Consumers' Council.

Miss Muriel Joyce PHILLIPS, Production Director, Wallers Ltd.

William POWERS. For services to the community in Luton.

Thomas John Edward PRICE. For services to the Road Transport Industry

Idris John William PUGH, lately Chief Administrative Officer, Buckinghamshire Fire Brigade.

Cyril Broome PURVIS, Field Manager, North Construction Industry Training Board.

John William RALPH, Deputy Principal, Department of Agriculture, Northern Ireland.

Miss Thelma Barbara RATCLIFF, Senior Executive

Officer, Ministry of Defence.

Philip Menzel RAY, Director, Sheffield Council for Voluntary Service.

Herbert Walter Alfred RIGGS, Voluntary Worker, National Cycling Proficiency Scheme in Poole.

Archibald McDonald RINGLAND, Higher Executive Officer, Department of Energy.

Sheila Elizabeth, Mrs. RINNING, Training Organiser, Motorcycle Training Scheme, Edinburgh.

Richard Alfred ROBERTS, Chief Inspector, Rotat-Machines Division, Quality Assurance, Mather and Platt PLC

George Edward ROBINSON, Head, Department of Mathematics and Computer Studies, Belfast College of Technology.

Winifred, Mrs. ROBINSON, Regional Secretary, North West, Abbeyfield Society.

Horace Eric ROOT, lately Clerk to the Lord Chief Justice.

Leslie ROWLAND, lately Director of Housing Services, Telford Development Corporation.

Victor Murray ROYAL, Chief Superintendent/ Senior Police Liaison Officer, Directorate of Telecommunications.

Harold Anthony RUDGARD, Chairman, Central London Energy Manager Group.

Miss Nina Maud RUFFELL, Registrar, Association of Certified Accountants.

John Ainslie RUSH, Superintendent, Lothian and Borders Police.

James Graham RUSSELL. For Political and Public Service.