- Veronique Lucy Vernon, Mrs. FOSTER, Secretary, South West and Southern Regions, Abbeyfield Society.
- Anthony Conway GABE. For services to the Blind in Mid-Sussex.
- Alan John GANE, Chief Commandant, Cambridgeshire Special Constabulary.
- Alexander McLean GARDEN, Foreign and Commonwealth Office.
- John Frederick GARDINER, Senior Executive Officer, Department of Health and Social Security.
- Edward John GEORGE, Detective Chief Superintendent, Metropolitan Police.
- Richard Dennis GILBERT, Manager, Company Secretariat, B.L. PLC.
- Miss Beatrice GILLAM, Member, Council, Wiltshire Trust for Nature Conservation.
- Duncan Alexander GOODHEW. For services to Swimming.
- Donald Frederick GOODWIN, Principal Partner, D. and P. Goodwin Limited (Fruit Growers).
- Michael Gurnell GREEN, General Medical Practitioner, Burscough, Lancashire.
- The Reverend Charles GRICE, General Secretary, The Church Lads' and Church Girls' Brigade.
- David John GRIFFITH, Commissioner, Clwyd County, St. John Ambulance Brigade.
- Arnold GRIMSTON, Collector of Taxes, Board of Inland Revenue.
- Miss Mabel Alice Jane HALES. For services to the community in Norfolk.
- Henry Palmer HALKETT, lately Chairman, Local Review Committees, H.M. Prisons, Aberdeen and Peterhead.
- Charles William HALL, Works Director, Ladybird Books Limited.
- Maeve Patricia, Mrs. Hall, lately Member, Northern Ireland Tourist Board.
- James Peter HAMILTON, Assistant Secretary, Occupational Safety and Health, Social Insurance and Industrial Welfare Department, Trades Union Congress.
- Doris Lillian, Mrs. HARRIS, Personal Secretary Department of Transport.
- William George Alfred HATHAWAY. For services to the community in Usk.
- Donald William HAWKINS, Professional and Technology Officer Grade I, Ministry of Defence.
- Kathleen Mary, Mrs. HAZZARD, Personal Secretary, Department of Employment.
- Donald Gill HEADLEY, lately Chief Test Pilot, Brough; Kingston-Brough Division, Aircraft Group, British Aerospace PLC.
- James Ivor HEATH, Senior Executive Officer, Ministry of Defence.
- John Barrie HESKETH, Artistic Director, Mull Little Theatre.
- Marianne Edith Frances, Mrs. HESKETH, Artistic Director, Mull Little Theatre.
- George Ernest HILL, Vice-Principal, North East Derbyshire College of Further Education, Chesterfield.
- Edward Wiliam HOBSON, T.D., Head Teacher, Meltham Church of England Primary School, Kirklees.
- Edward Joscelyn HOLLAND, Farmer, Staffordshire. For services to agriculture.
- Robert HOLLINGDRAKE, Counsellor, Manchester Small Firms Service.

- Charles Reginald HOPKIN, Chief Superintendent, North Yorkshire Police.
- Clifford Frederick Charles Cecil HOPKINS, Site Manager, Heysham 1, National Nuclear Corporation Limited.
- Jack HOWARTH (John Aubrey Conway Howarth), Actor, and for services to charity.
- John HOY, lately Manager, Londonderry Terminal, Shell UK Limited.
- Albert HUGHES, Executive Officer, Department of Employment.
- John HUGHES, Chairman, Wales Council for the Blind.
- Edward Arthur HUMPHREYS, lately Senior Executive Officer, Department of Health and Social Security.
- Edward Desmonde Carlisle HUNT, Executive Officer, Department of Employment.
- Ruby, Mrs. HUNT. For services to the community in Lincolnshire.
- Denys Dobell HUTCHINGS, Secretary, Kennet and Avon Canal Trust Limited.
- Isobel June, Mrs. HUTCHINGS. For Political Service.
- Florence Rose, Mrs. INGLIS, Member, Monklands District Council.
- Robert Stewart INGLIS, General Sales Manager, Clyde Canvas Goods and Structures Limited, Port Glasgow.
- Marjorie Rose, Mrs. ISGAR, Headteacher, Perthy-Terfyn Infants School, Holywell.
- Irene, Mrs. ISRAEL, lately General Secretary, Basingstoke Council of Community Service.
- Bill JACKSON, Secretary, Sutton Valence Branch, Agricultural and Allied Workers' National Trade Group.
- Marlene, Mrs. JEFFERSON, For services to local government in Londonderry.
- Ronald Samuel JOHNSTON, Secretary, Rathgael and Whiteabby Schools Management Board, Bangor.
- Richard ap Simon JONES, Farmer, Tywyn, Gwynedd.
- Leslie JORDAN, lately Professional and Technology Officer Grade I, Ministry of Defence.
- Amy Beatrice, Mrs. JURY, Member of Council, St. Andrew's Ambulance Association.
- Jane Margaret, Mrs. KENDALL. For Political and Public Service.
- Ralph Erskine KENDRICK, Vice-President, Boys' Clubs of Wales.
- Pearl Winifred, Mrs. KERR. For services to Muckamore Abbey Hospital, Antrim.
- Charles George Herbert KEYSE, Senior Executive Officer, Board of Customs and Excise.
- Miss Norah Mabel KING, Principal Personnel Assistant, Central Departments, London Transport.
- Terence KINKEAD, Vice-Chairman, Belfast Savings Council.
- Walter Mansfield KITCHEN, Divisional Officer 1, London Fire Brigade.
- Trevor George Crosby KNIGHT, Joint Chairman, East and West Sussex Supplementary Benefit Appeal Tribunals.
- Raymond Keith KNOWLES, Typist, Department of Health and Social Security.
- Thomson Rae LANNIGAN. For Political Service.
- Patrick Larry LAY, Senior Executive Officer, Department of Health and Social Security.