- Commander Francis William COLLINS, R.N. (Retd.). For services to Sport, particularly the Torch Trophy Trust.
- John Augustine COLLINS, Director of Manufacturing Technology, Domestic Appliance Division, TI Group PLC.
- David Henry CONVILLE, Managing and Artistic Director, Open Air Theatre, Regents Park.
- Cyril Edwin COX, Reader in Education, University of London Institute of Education.
- Jeanne Margaret, Mrs. CURRIE, Secretary, Association of Educational Psychologists.
- Joseph DAVID. For services to the British Standards Institution.
- David Tom DAVIES, M.M. For services to local government in Dyfed.
- Robert DAVIS, Deputy Chairman, Central Arbitration Committee, General Workers' Group, Transport and General Workers' Union.
- Robin Henry DAY, Design Consultant, Hille International Limited.
- Captain Stanley Wilson DEAN, lately Captain and Commodore of Fleet, Shell Tankers (UK) Limited.
- William Henry DEANE, Superintending Planning Officer, Department of the Environment.
- Denis Aufrere Stanley de FREITAS, Chairman, British Copyright Council.
- David DICK, Chairman, Fire Services Examination Board (Scotland).
- Professor Kenneth William DONALD, D.S.C. For services to underwater safety.
- William Anderson DONALDSON, Professor and Head of Department of Operational Research, University of Strathclyde.
- Pamela Elwes, Mrs. DUNBAR. For Political Service.
- Gerald Malcolm DURRELL, Director, Jersey Wildlife Preservation Trust.
- David Ernest EVANS. For Political Service.
- William Geraint EVANS, Assistant Editor, The Royal Society.
- Tom William FISHER, District Nursing Officer, Tameside and Glossop Health Authority.
- David Jocelyn FISHLOCK, Science Editor, Financial Times.
- Patrick Joseph FLYNN, Q.P.M., lately Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Metropolitan Police.
- Lilian Joan Mary, Mrs. FOX, Principal Establishment Officer, London H.Q.; UK Atomic Energy Authority.
- Margaret Louise, Mrs. FRY. For Political Service.
- Gilbert Theodore FUGE, Managing Director, Prismo Universal Limited.
- David Gilbert GEACH, Principal, Department of Trade.
- Frank Dale GIBSON. For Political and Public Service.
- Kenneth Alan GILBERT, Managing Director, Geevor Tin Mines PLC.
- Ronald Crispin GILL, lately Editor, The Countryman.
- Kelvin GLENDENNING, Leader, Corby District Council.
- John Laurence GOULD, Chairman, Laurence Gould and Company Limited, ULG Consultants Limited.
- Beatrice Mary, Lady GRAHAM. For services to handicapped people in North Yorkshire.
- Winston Mawdsley GRAHAM, Writer.

- George David GRANT, Chief Executive, Nithsdale District Council.
- Francis Charles GRAVES, Senior Partner, Francis C. Graves and Partners.
- Major Geoffrey Carne GREEN, lately Leader, Brentwood District Council.
- Jacob Gwyn GRIFFITHS, Farmer, Knelston, Gower. For services to agriculture in Wales.
- David Latham GRUNDY, Technical Director, Integrated Circuits Group, Ferranti Electronics Limited.
- Frank Gerald HAIGH, Assistant Chief Probation Officer, West Yorkshire Probation and After-Care Service.
- Dennis HALE, Deputy Chief Engineer (Transport), Metropolitan Police.
- Lieutenant-Colonel Henry Robert HALL, T.D., D.L. For services to the Scout Association in Jersey.
- Brian Thomas HARRIS, Q.C., Clerk to the Justices, Poole, Dorset.
- Frederick Charles HARRIS, Counselling Adviser, West Midlands Small Firms Service.
- Walter Basil HATCHER. For Political and Public Service.
- George HAYES, Director, South Yorkshire Area, National Coal Board.
- Terence Thompstone HENSHAW, Group Electrical and Energy Engineer, Amey Roadstone Corporation.
- Kenneth Charles Henry HERRING, lately Divisional Director (Industrial/Consumer), Esso Petroleum Company Limited.
- Geoffrey Graham HILDITCH, General Manager, Leicester City Transport.
- Richard Desmond HILL. For services to Rowing.
- Eric HOGGARTH. For services to the Science and Engineering Research Council.
- Victor Leonard HOLT, lately Senior Principal, Board of Customs and Excise.
- Daniel HORROCKS, Chairman, Broseley Estates Limited.
- Andrew Beatty HOUSTOUN, M.C., D.L., lately Convener, Scottish Landowners' Federation.
- Ronald Charles HOWELL, General Secretary, The Rainer Foundation; Director, The Intermediate Treatment Fund.
- Anne Luise, Mrs. HUNTER, Clinical Assistant (Neurology), South West Surrey Health District.
- Thomas Munro HUNTER, Secretary, Church of Scotland Committee on Chaplains to H.M. Forces.
- Roy Vernon HURRELL, Director, Precision Products Group, Stevenage Division, Dynamics Group, British Aerospace PLC.
- Captain Maurice Gwynne HUTCHINSON, T.D., Member, Council of St. John Ambulance Association, South and West Yorkshire.
- Edward Robert JOBSON. For services to the Royal British Legion.
- Brian Alexander JOHNSTON, M.C. For services to Broadcasting and Cricket.
- Alexander Irving JOHNSTONE, Member, Thames Barrier Advisory Team.
- William Henry JOLLIFFE. For Political and Public Service.
- Dorothy Annie, Mrs. JONES, Nursing Officer, Department of Health and Social Security.
- Miss Myra JONES, lately Senior Principal Scientific Officer, Ministry of Defence.