Ronald Francis GRIDLEY, Senior Principal, Metropolitan Police Office.

Allan Norman GRUT, President, States of Guernsey Advisory and Finance Committee.

Bunty Moffat, Mrs. GUNN, lately Chairman, Scottish Council for Health Education.

Joseph GUZZAN, Joint Managing Director, Daks-Simpson Ltd.

Geoffrey Noel HAGUE, Chairman and Managing Director, Welwyn (Garments) Ltd.

Denis George HAKE, lately Principal, Export Credit Guarantee Department.

Miss Nora Mary HANLON, lately Principal Lecturer in Religious Education, Notre Dame College, Liverpool.

Ivanhoe James HARRIS. For political and public service in Wales.

Vera Joyce, Mrs. HARRIS. For political and public Service, Greater London Area.

Bernard Peter HEAPHY, Managing Director, Bovis Construction Ltd.

Bernard Thomas HENMAN. For services to the Magistracy in Luton and Bedfordshire.

Austin YOKKE HILL. For political and public service, Wessex Area.

Alexander David MacIntosh HILTON, T.D., lately Member, Apple and Pear Development Council.

Frank Clark HIRST, Principal Librarian, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Fred Ernest HIXON, Refinery Manager, Shell Haven Refinery, Essex.

Niall Dingwall HODGE. For services to the community in Scotland.

Charles HOLT, Principal, Department of Trans-

Frederick Wilson HORNE, Chairman, Executive Committee, Royal Zoological Society of Scotland.

Michael Rex HORNE, Beyer Professor of Civil Engineering, University of Manchester.

Gordon HOWARD. For political and public service, East Midlands Area.

Ann Christobel, Mrs. WHEATLEY-HUBBARD, Farmer, Wiltshire.

William Howard Lake HUGHES, Environmental Health Officer, Department of Health and Social Security.

George HULL, Principal Collector, Board of Inland Revenue.

Major Arnold John JAMES, lately Vice-Chairman, South Glamorgan Health Authority.

Kenneth Merlin David JOHNS, Chairman and Managing Director, Actair International Ltd, Cardiff.

Peter Magrath JOHNS, Secretary, The Lawn Tennis Association.

William John JONES, lately Principal, Ministry of Defence.

Gerald KEMP, Administrative Officer, South Belfast District, Eastern Health and Social Services Board.

George Michael Sinclair KENNEDY. For services to Music.

Patricia, Mrs. LAMBERT, Member, National Consumer Council and Consumer Standards Advisory Committee, British Standards Institution.

Ralph Augustus Arthur Rustom LAWRENCE, General Medical Practitioner, Leabrooks, Derbyshire. Colonel Charles Anthony La Trobe LEATHAM, Comptroller, Union Jack Club.

Kenneth George LEE, Q.P.M., Deputy Chief Constable, South Wales Constabulary.

Phoebe Margery, Mrs. LESLIE, Principal, Richmond Adult College, Richmond upon Thames.

Air Commodore Leslie George LEVIS, D.L. For services to the Royal British Legion.

Ronald LEWIS, Group Managing Director, G.P.G. International Ltd.

Norman Paul LISK, lately Assistant Director/ Engineer, Military Vehicles and Engineering Establishment, Ministry of Defence.

William Niel Brown LOUDON, External Affairs Secretary, Royal and Ancient Golf Club, St. Andrews.

The Reverend Donald MACAULAY, Convenor, Western Isles Islands Council.

Miss Doreen McCULLOUGH, Chief Nursing Officer, Department of Health and Social Services, Northern Ireland.

Alexander MACDONALD, Principal, Department of Agriculture and Fisheries for Scotland.

Donald Alistair MACDONALD, Director of Social Work, Borders Regional Council.

Major Nigel Donald Peter CHAMBERLAYNE-MACDONALD, M.V.O., D.L., Vice-Chairman, National Association of Boys' Clubs.

National Association of Boys' Clubs.

Donald MACMILLAN, T.D., Director, Nuffield
Centre for Health Service Studies, Leeds.

Amalendu Jyoti MAJUMDAR, Senior Principal Scientific Officer, Department of the Environment.

Bernard MARCUS, Principal Psychologist, H. M. Prison, Grendon.

Phyllis Rodway, Mrs. BUSHILL-MATTHEWS. For public service in the West Midlands.

Frank Brian MERCER, President, Netlon Ltd.

William Eric John BARBOUR-MERCER, Principal Investigator, Royal Commission on Historical Monuments (England).

Austin MERRILLS, Chairman and Chief Executive, Ireland Alloys (Holdings) Ltd.

Lieutenant Colonel Robert Charles Michael MON-TEITH, M.C., T.D., D.L., Convenor, Clydesdale District Council.

Michael John Morris MORGAN, Director, G.K.N. Contractors Ltd. For services to Export.

Richard Taylor MORRIS, lately Senior Principal,
Department of Employment.

William Kerr MORRISON, Headmaster, Graeme High School, Falkirk.

James MUNRO, Managing Editor, Glasgow Herald. John Donald NISBET, Professor of Education, University of Aberdeen.

Virginia Fay, Mrs. NORRIS. For political and public service, Northern Area.

James Sidney OSWALD, Chairman, Northumberland County Cricket Club.

Hubert John PACEY, M.C., Director, Lincolnshire Branch, British Red Cross Society.

Leslie Harold William PAINE, House Governor and Secretary, Bethlem Royal and Maudsley Hospitals, London.

Kenneth Michael PARRY, Secretary, Scottish Council for Post-graduate Medical Education.

Frank PARTINGTON, Chief Fire Officer, Hereford and Worcester Fire Brigade.

Cyril Irvine PATNICK, Member, South Yorkshire County Council, and Sheffield City Council.