Alan Proctor GRANT, Physician, Belfast City

David James GRANT, Chairman, Darchem Ltd.

George Michael Anthony HARRISON, Chief Education Officer, Sheffield Local Education Authority.

Walter Leopold Arthur HAYES, Vice Chairman, Ford of Europe.

Stephen HEARST, Controller, Future Policy Group, British Broadcasting Corporation.

Basil Arthur HERMON, Regional Works Officer, South West Thames Regional Health Authority.

Joseph Edmund HINDE, Chairman, Printing Machinery Sector Working Party. David HODGE, Lord Provost, City of Glasgow. Miss Rita HUNTER (Rita Nellie, Mrs. Thomas),

Singer. William Thomas HUTTON, Assistant Secretary,

Ministry of Defence. Allan GWYNNE-JONES, D.S.O., Painter.

Miss Beti JONES, Chief Social Work Adviser, Scottish Office.

Colonel Hugh Edward HUNTER JONES, M.C., T.D., Chairman, East Anglia, Territorial Auxiliary

and Volunteer Reserve Association.

Leslie Thomas LOADER. For political and public services in Wessex.

Joseph Edward LUMB, Chairman, Allied Textile Companies Ltd. For services to Export.

Eric LYALL. For political service in Eastern England. Peter Alexander McCUNN, Deputy Chairman and Group Managing Director, Cable and Wireless Ltd. Ronald Swift McNEILL. For political service in Scotland.

Norman Croumbie MACPHERSON, Solicitor in Scotland to the Admiralty Board.

Norris Dewar McWHIRTER, Author and Publisher. John Basil NEWLAND, Chairman, Northern Bank Ltd.

Ronald George OWEN, Employee Relations Adviser, Unilever Ltd.

William Stanley PAGE, Principal Chief Officer and City Treasurer, Birmingham City Council.

Alan PLUMPTON, Chairman, London Electricity

Board.

Peter James PRIOR, Chairman. H. P. Bulmer (Holdings) Ltd.

Donald Kirkman REDFORD, Chairman and Managing Director, Manchester Ship Canal Company.

Robert Basil REID, Member, British Railways Board. Trevor RIPPINGTON, Regional Treasurer, South Western Regional Health Authority.

John Joseph Donald RIVERS, O.B.E. For services to the Royal British Legion Housing Association Ltd. Richard ROBERTS, M.B.E., Chairman, Salford Area Health Authority.

Ronald Foote ROBERTSON, lately President, Royal College of Physicians of Edinburgh.

Frank Arnold ROBINSON. For services to Chemistry. Harold Geoffrey ROBSON, Director of Marketing, National Girobank, Post Office.

Jeremy ROWE, Chairman and Managing Director, London Brick Company Ltd.

William Thomas Hawken ROWSE, Chairman, Cornwall County Council.

Andrew MacLeod RUSSELL, lately Treasurer and General Manager, Bank of Scotland.

Cyril Frederick SCURR, M.V.O., Consultant Anaesthetist, Westminster Hospital.

Eric SHARP, Chairman, Monsanto Ltd. For services to Export.

SHUTTLEWORTH, Kenneth lately Controller, Department of Health and Social Security.

John SPEIRS, lately District Auditor, Department of the Environment.

Gerald Maurice STITCHER, Chief Commoner, City of London.

John Burton SWEETING, Assistant Secretary, Board of Inland Revenue.

TEMPLEMAN, D.L., Geoffrey Vice-Chancellor, University of Kent.

William Henry TENCH, Chief Inspector of Accidents, Department of Trade.

M.B.E., Pro-Chancellor, Albert Jesse THAYRE, University of Bradford.

Graham Bruce THOMSON, Director of Manufacturing, UK Plants, Dundee, Timex Corporation.

Peter Eugene TRIER, Director of Research and Development, Philips Electronic and Associated Industries Ltd.

Thomas William Matthew TUITE, Senior Principal Inspector of Taxes, Board of Inland Revenue.

Elston GREY-TURNER, M.C., T.D., Secretary, British Medical Association.

David Arthur John TYRRELL, Deputy Director, Clinical Research Centre, Medical Research Council. Herbert WADDELL, T.D. For services to Rugby Football.

Roland Henry WADE, Chairman, Council for the Protection of Rural England.

Arthur Stephen WALSH, Managing Director, Marconi Space and Defence Systems Ltd. For services to Export.

Tom Vivian WALTERS, Chief Executive, Mid Glamorgan County Council.

Rachel Elizabeth, Mrs. WATERHOUSE. For services to consumer affairs.

Horace John WEBB, Collector, Dover, Board of Customs and Excise.

William Southcombe Lloyd WEBBER. For services to Music.

James Alfred WILDE, Chief Social Work Adviser, Department of Health and Social Services, Northern Ireland.

Charles Cuthbert Powell WILLIAMS, lately Chairman, Price Commission.

Thomas Eifion Hopkins WILLIAMS, Professor of

Civil Engineering, University of Southampton. Margaret Elizabeth, Mrs. WINGFIELD. For political service.

Geoffrey WOOD, Consultant, Ove Arup Partnership. For services to Export.

O.B.E.

(To be dated 31st December 1979)

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

David Emlyn ADAMSON, Principal, Ministry of Defence.

Douglas ANDREWS, Principal Professional and Technology Officer (Fire), Department of the **Environment**

Mary Beatrice, Mrs. ARMITAGE, lately Director of Social Services, Sheffield City Council.

Frank ATKINSON, Director, North of England Open Air Museum, Beamish Hill.

Frank Harry BAKER, D.F.C., A.E., Deputy Chairman, London and South East Region, Air Cadet Council.