- William BREWER, Sector Administrator, Barnet/ Finchley Health District.
- Ronald Norris BRITTON, Rubber Development Manager, Chloride Lorival Ltd.
- William Cecil BRODIE, Inspector of Clerical Establishments, National Giro, Post Office.
- Miss Beryl Irene BROOKMAN, lately Health Visitor, Islington.
- Archibald Campbell BROWN, lately Professional and Technology Officer Grade 1, Property Services Agency, Department of the Environment.
- Gilbert BUCHAN, R.D. For services to the Herring Industry.
- Margaret Brenda, Mrs. BURNS, Secretary, British Committee, European Schools Day.
- Edwin BUTTERTON, Assistant Area Opencast Manager, National Coal Board.
- Nancy June, Mrs. BUTTON, Nursing Officer, Rivermead Hospital, Oxfordshire Area Health Authority.
- George Thomas CADDEY, Assistant Manager, Overseas Service, Navy, Army and Air Force Institutes.
- Cyril Dean CAIN, Scientific Officer, National Physical Laboratory.
- Evan Roderick Gelling CAIN. For services in the Isle of Man and particularly to the St. John Ambulance Brigade. Miss Phyllis Vera CAIN, Higher Executive Officer,
- Department of Education and Science.
- Arthur CAMPBELL, President, Scottish Cyclists' Union.
- George William CANDELET, Divisional Organiser, Sheffield Division, Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers.
- Peter CARPMAEL, Secretary, Blue Cross Animal Welfare Society.
- Doreen Mayhard, Mrs. CARR. For services to the community, and particularly the mentally handicapped in the Isle of Wight. Harold CAVE. For services to the community in
- Nottingham.
- Richard Raymond CAWTHORNE, Managing Director, North Devon Meat Ltd.
- Rosemary Lavinia Cumberland, Mrs. CHAPMAN, Senior Personal Secretary, National Institute for Research in Dairying
- Frederick Robert CHIPP, lately Senior Executive Officer, Ministry of Defence.
- Harold Percy CHOATE, Lately Chairman, Sedgemoor District Council.
- Roy Cloberry CHRISTIAN, Lecturer, Derby College of Further Education.
- Sidney Alfred CHRISTY, Establishment and Finance Officer, Commonwealth Institute.
- Rosina Emma, Mrs. CLARK. For services to beekeeping
- Alfred CLARKE, lately Chairman, North West Leicestershire District Council.
- Colin Comyn CLARKE, Chief Office Clerk, House of Commons.
- Kathleen Miriam, Mrs. CLARKE, Occupations Officer "A", Rampton Hospital, Department of Health and Social Security.
- Edward Charles CLAYDEN, lately Principal Technician, Bland Sutton Institute of Pathology.
- Thomas CLOONAN, Higher Executive Officer, Cabinet Office.
- Joseph CLYNE. For services to ex-Servicemen in Manchester and district.
- Doris Mabel, Mrs. COLE, Ward Sister, Darenth Park Hospital, Kent Area Health Authority.

- Miss Freda Knaggs COLLEGE, Headteacher, Seaham Secondary School, Seaham, County Durham.
- Annie Elizabeth, Mrs. COLLINS. For services to the community, and particularly the elderly in Outwood, West Yorkshire.
- Gwladys Gwenfron, Mrs. COLLIS, Chairman, Wales Committee, Royal Commonwealth Society for the Blind.
- Miss Janet CONLY, lately Foreign and Commonwealth Office.
- Brian Francis CONROY, Chief Maxillo-Facial Technician, Queen Mary's Hospital, Roehampton.
- Brian Rees COOK, Joint Managing Director, Setten and Durward Ltd., Llandrindod Wells.
- Robert Leslie COOK, Member, Erewash Borough Council, Derbyshire.
- Ronald Edward COOK, Assistant Head Postmaster, Hounslow, London Postal Region, Post Office.
- James Richard COOPER, Chief Research Officer, Unit on the Experimental Pathology of the Skin, Medical Research Council.
- George Basil COPLEY, Senior Nursing Officer, Tickhill Road Hospital, Doncaster.
- Anthony COSKER, Education Officer, H.M. Prison, Durham.
- Guilford Edward CRABTREE, National Consultant, Scaffolding (Great Britain) Ltd.
- Miss Patricia Mary CRANSTON, Senior Nursing Officer, St. George's Hospital, London.
- Margaret, Mrs. CROMIE. For services to the Royal British Legion Women's Section in Northern Ireland.
- Helen Murray, Mrs. CRUMMY, Organising Secretary, Craigmillar Festival Society.
- Beatrice Mary Ellen, Mrs. DARE, Supervisor, Reser-Department, Victoria Coach Station, vations National Travel (South East) Ltd.
- Allan John DARTON, Chief Engineer, Midland Area, Sir Robert McAlpine and Sons Ltd.
- Miss Verna Naunton DAVIES, Superintendent Physiotherapist, Sully Hospital, South-Glamorgan Health Authority.
- Brian Michael DAVIS, Senior Officer, Board of Customs and Excise.
- Cyril DAWES, Senior Probation Officer, Cheshire Probation and After-Care Service.
- Alexander Sibbald DAWSON, Higher Executive Officer, Department of Employment.
- Miss Audrey Agnes Lilian DE CHASTELAIN, lately Senior Executive Officer, Department of Prices and Consumer Protection.
- Charles William DICKINS, Deputy Director (Mining), South Yorkshire Area, National Coal Board.
- Thomas Mill DONALDSON, Senior Executive Officer, Board of Inland Revenue.
- Kenneth Stanley Chatfield DOY, Director, Boneham and Turner Ltd.
- Vincent DOYLE, Assistant Competition Controller, Renold Ltd.
- Henry Richard DUGGAN. For services to the community, and particularly to the Hellingly Hospital League of Friends.
- Mary Violet Shurlock, Mrs. DUKE, Headteacher, Princess Infant School, Moss Side, Manchester.
- Francis Edward DUNNING, Chairman, King's Hall Community Association, Brent.
- David EARLY, Foreign and Commonwealth Office.
- Idwal EDWARDS, District Secretary, Gwynedd, Transport and General Workers' Union.
- James EGAR, Treasurer, Northern Ireland Spina Bifida Association.