- Kenneth GILL, Principal, Portland Training College for the Disabled, Mansfield.
- Harold Marks GLASS, lately Director, Research, British Standards Institution.
- Nathan GOLDENBERG, lately Member, Food Additives and Contaminants Committee.
- Derek Stanley GORDON, Consultant Neuro-Surgeon, Eastern Health and Social Services Board, Belfast.
- Miss Miriam Aurelia GOUGH, lately Principal Nursing Officer (Education), University Hospital of Wales.
- Peter Ernest GOUGH, Director, Components Division, Muirhead Ltd.
- Miss Christina Florent GRACE, (Sister Christina), Educational Adviser, Order of the Sisters of St. Paul.
- Andrew Kirkwood GRANT, Senior Principal, Department for National Savings.
- Miss Doreen Lilian GREEN, Headmistress, Lewis Comprehensive School for Girls, Ystrad Mynach.
- Geoffrey Arthur Reginald GREEN, M.B.E., Sports Writer and Broadcaster.
- Jonah GRIFFITHS, Assistant Commissioner, Crown Estate Office.
- John Douglas HACON, Superintending Civil Engineer, Property Services Agency, Department of the Environment.
- Professor Walter HAGENBUCH. For services to Wages Councils.
- Alexander James HAGGART, Potato Grower and Merchant, Perthshire.
- David Arthur HAIG, Senior Principal Scientific Officer, Institute for Research on Animal Diseases, Compton, Agricultural Research Council.
- Paul Hubert Walter HAILE, Head, Road Safety Division, The Royal Society for the Prevention of Accidents.
- Miss Kathleen HALE (Mrs. McClean), Author and Artist.
- Morris HARDY, lately Clerk of the Sheriff Court, District of Dundee.
- Kenneth Frederick Brian HEMPEL, Restorer I, Victoria and Albert Museum.
- Ivan Edward HILLS, Chief Agent, The National Trust.
- Colonel Denis Arthur Sydenham HOUGHTON, T.D., D.L., Chairman, Lancashire Branch, Council for the Protection of Rural England.
- Geoffrey Luther HOWE, lately Master, Royal Research Ship, Discovery.
- Herbert Raymond HOY, Assistant Director, Leatherhead Laboratories, National Coal Board.
- James Barlow HURST, Director of Operations, Tyne and Wear Passenger Transport Executive.
- Margery, Mrs. HURST, Joint Chairman and Managing Director, Brook Street Bureau of Mayfair Ltd. For charitable services.
- Miss May JACKSON, County Superintendent, Northumbria, St. John Ambulance Brigade.
- George Albert JARROLD, Senior Inspector of Taxes, Board of Inland Revenue.
- William George JEWERS, Director of Finance, British Gas Corporation.
- Miss Nina Mary Elizabeth JOACHIM, lately Principal, St. Hild's College, Durham.
- Albert JOHN, lately Chairman, Council for the Principality of Wales.
- James KENNEDY, D.L., Chairman, Trustee Savings Bank of South of Scotland.

- The Reverend Prebendary Thomas Phoebus KER-FOOT, M.B.E., General Secretary, The Missions to Seamen.
- George Reymond KITTERINGHAM, Senior Principal Scientific Officer, Department of Health and Social Security.
- Francis LAGAN, M.B.E., Assistant Chief Constable, Royal Ulster Constabulary.
- Anne-Louise, Mrs. LAING, lately Deputy Chief Commissioner, Girl Guides Association.
- Harold LAMBERT, Member, Sheffield District Council.
- Mabel Lillian, Mrs. LEE, M.B.E. For services to the community in Gwent.
- Ernest Charles LETLEY, Principal Professional and Technology Officer, H.M. Naval Base, Rosyth, Ministry of Defence.
- Francis Benjamin LEVETUS, lately Technical Director, Keelavite Hydraulics Ltd.
- Laurier LISTER, lately Director and Administrator, Yvonne Arnaud Theatre, Guildford.
- Norman Peter LISTER, Member, Coventry Education Committee.
- Lloyd Robert LORIMER, Area Administrator, Bradford Area Health Authority.
- Eric Walter LOWDEN, Deputy Chief Executive, British Airways Board.
- Evelyn Irene Sophie Phipps, Mrs. LUCAS, County Secretary, Dorset Soldiers', Sailors' and Airmen's Families Association.
- Derek Kingsmill LYONS, Managing Director, Industrial and Trade Fairs Holdings Ltd. For services to Export.
- Sybilla Mary de Symons, Mrs. McCALLUM, Member, Divisional Social Services Committee, Kesteven.
- Norman Wall McCAW, T.D., Member, Wessex Regional Health Authority.
- Frank Calder MACDONALD, Senior Principal, Ministry of Defence.
- Ronald Lenox Ogilvie MACFARLANE, lately Assistant Controller II, The British Council.
- Miss Lorna MACHELL, Principal, Department of the Environment.
- Donald McLeman McINTOSH, Member, Grampian Health Board.
- Eric William MACINTYRE, Q.F.S.M., Firemaster, Northern Area Fire Brigade.
- Charles MACLEOD, Headmaster, Shawbost Secondary School, Isle of Lewis.
- Miss Bessie Hamill MACONACHIE, D.L. For public services in Northern Ireland.
- Henry MANSFIELD, Chairman, Local and Public Authorities Savings Committee, Wales.
- Alfred Edward MARKS, Actor.
- The Reverend David Michael MASON, Chairman, South Metropolitan Conciliation Committee, Race Relations Board.
- Dennis Stewart MAYO, Director, Ewbank and Partners Ltd.
- Alan Cotton MEIGH, Managing Director, Soil Mechanics Ltd.
- John MENHENEOTT, M.B.E., Regional Marketing Director, Yorkshire Sales Region, National Coal Board.
- Francis John Clark MENNELL, Foreign and Commonwealth Office.
- Joseph MERCER. For services to Association Football in England.