- Pious Binnawei KEREPIA, Commissioner of Police, Royal Papua New Guinea Constabulary.
- Walter Andrew LUSSICK. For public and political services in Papua New Guinea.
- Cyril Joseph LYNCH, Constitutional Draftsman and Special Legislative Counsel, Papua New Guinea.
- David Roger Milbourne MARSH. For long and distinguished service in Papua New Guinea and for services to the Papua New Guinea Independence Celebrations.
- William Paul RYAN. For public service in Papua New Guinea, particularly for services to the Chief Minister and Cabinet.
- Alkan TOLOLO, Director, Department of Education, Papua New Guinea.

M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order :

David CHENOWETH, lately Principal of the Administrative College, Papua New Guinea.

- Greville Michael FEENEY, Senior Superintendent, Royal Papua New Guinea Constabulary.
- Sinake GIREGIRE, M.H.A. For public and political services in Papua New Guinea.
- Wesley HARIRIAN. For services to the community in Papua New Guinea.
- Morauta HASU. For outstanding service to the community in Papua New Guinea.
- Madge, Mrs. KENNY. For services to nursing in Papua New Guinea.
- Stephanie, Mrs. MAINO. For devoted service to the community in Papua New Guinea.
- Vincent Alexander Henry NIELSEN. For services to the community and to economic development in Papua New Guinea.
- John Joseph PINI. For services to sport in Papua New Guinea.
- Donigi SAMIEL. For services to the community and to local government in Papua New Guinea.
- Oscar TAMMUR, M.H.A. For community and political services in Papua New Guinea.
- Rosa, Mrs. TOKIEL. For services to women in Papua New Guinea.