William Alan JENKINS, Chairman, Board of Visitors, H.M. Prison, Wakefield.

Evan Trefor JÓNES. For services to the Royal British Legion.

Gwilym Murray JONES, M.B.E., General Practitioner, Caerphilly, Glamorgan.

John Emlyn JONES, Treasurer, Manchester Regional Hospital Board.

Alex Peter JOSEPHIDES, Superintending Architect, Property Services Agency, Department of the Environment.

James Reid KELSO, Q P.M., Deputy Chief Constable, City of Glasgow Police.

Thomas KILVINGTON, Deputy Director of Radio Technology, Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications

Arthur Tracy LAMBERT, Director, R H Thompson and Company Ltd.

Alan John Le BRUN, Chief Immigration Officer, Jersey.

Cyril John LINDSEY, T.D. For political services. Eric Albert LOVEGROVE, Postmaster Controller,

Eric Albert LOVEGROVE, Postmaster Controller, Eastern Central and Foreign Section, London Postal Region, Post Office.

Douglas Dean LOVELL, T.D For political and public services in the West of England.

Katharine, Mrs. LOWE. For services to the community in Manchester.

Einest McDONNELL, Headmaster, Birley High School, Manchester.

Gerald McGUIRE, National Countryside and Education Officer, Youth Hostels Association (England and Wales).

Alexander McINTOSH, Town Clerk, Motherwell and Wishaw.

Joseph Shanks McLEAN, lately Head of Department of Chemistry, Paisley College of Technology.

Michael McLUSKEY, Director, Beck and Pollitzer Contracts Ltd. For services to Export.

George McRINER, D.F.C., Operations Officer Grade I (Commandant), Civil Aviation Authority.

James Lionel MANNING, Sports writer and broadcaster.

George William MANTLE, Assistant Secretary, Department for National Savings.

Harold MARK, Principal, Lord Chancellor's Department.

Michael Robert MATHEWS, Member, Economic Development Committee for the Hotels and Catering Industry.

Alistair Francis MACLEOD MATTHEWS, Assistant General Manager (Fields Co-ordinator), British Petroleum Company Ltd.

Richard John Hannay MEADE. For services to Riding.

John MITCHELL, Editor/Manager and Director, Craven Herald Ltd, Skipton, Yorkshire.

Tom Noel MITCHELL, Regional Architect, Liverpool Regional Hospital Board.

William Burrell Alan MITCHELL, lately Chairman, The Savings Bank of Glasgow.

Richard Edward MOIRA, Partner, Moira and Moira, Architects, Edinburgh.

John Glaister MORRISON, Q.P.M., Deputy Chief Constable, Birmingham City Police.

Elizabeth Gwendolen, Mrs. MULLINS. For services to the Gwen Mullins Trust.

Christopher NEEDHAM. For services to the British Standards Institution.

John Hugh NICHOLL, Vice-Chairman, former Londonderry County Council.

Miss Ann Gould NOTMAN, lately Chief Nursing Officer, Plymouth and District Hospital Management Committee.

Hubert Culliford PALIN, General Practitioner, Burnley, Lancashire.

Richard Henry PAMPLIN, Secretary, Staff Side, Police Council for the United Kingdom.

Jonathan Cyril PARK. For services to the National Health Service.

Robert Benton PEACOCK, lately Chairman, High Mowthorpe Experimental Husbandry Farm Advisory Committee.

Alexander PHILIP, General Manager, Scottish Region, British Railways Board.

Herbert Reginald POOLE, Chief Executive, Liverpool Council of Social Service.

Miss Mary POWELL, Principal Nursing Officer, Robert Jones and Agnes Hunt Orthopaedic Hospital, Oswestry, Shropshire.

John Anthony PRICE, County Planning Officer, Pembrokeshire.

Robert Beverlin PRICE, Member, former Urban District Council, Ballymoney, County Antrim.

William McKay RAE, Managing Director, Radar and Equipment Division, Electrical Musical Industries Electronics Ltd.

Frank Reginald REEVES, Director of Education, King Edward's Hospital Fund for London.

George Overton RICHARDS, Secretary, University of Leeds Institute of Education.

James Taylor ROBERTSON, Member, Scottish Air Cadet Council.

Leslie Alexander ROBERTSON, lately Deputy Director of Social Services, City of Westminster. Thomas ROBERTSON, Senior Inspector (Horticulture), Department of Agriculture and Fisheries for Scotland

Thomas Bernard ROBINSON, Secretary, The Marie Curie Memorial Foundation.

Michael James ROGERS, Chief Executive, Lloyd's Common Market Secretariat. For services to Export.

John Douglas ROTHERY, M.B.E., Senior Principal, Ministry of Defence.

Alec William Alfred RUNDLE, lately Chairman (Executive), A Gallenkamp and Company Ltd. For services to Export.

Lieutenant-Colonel Rudyard Holt RUSSELL, President, Amateur International Boxing Association.

Hugh SANDERS, Principal Probation Officer, Sheffield.

John Stuart SANSOM, Technical Controller, Thames Television Ltd

Tom SCOTT, Principal Careers Officer, Denbighshire Education Authority

William SCOTT, Clerk to the Teesside Justices.

John SEWELL. For services to the European Atlantic Movement.

Philip Hooper SEWELL, Library Adviser, Department of Education and Science.

William Arthur SEYMOUR, Assistant Director, Ordnance Survey, Department of the Environment.

Norman William SHARP, General Manager, Munich Office, Turbo-Union Ltd, Rolls-Royce (1971) Ltd., Bristol Engine Division.

Miss Hilda Marjorie SIMPSON, Principal Nursing Officer (Research), Department of Health and Social Security.