Major-General Terence Douglas Herbert Mc-MEEKIN, O.B.E. (77531) late Royal Regiment of Artillery.

Major-General Harry OWEN (137048) Army Legal Services now R.A.R.O.

MINISTRY OF DEFENCE (AIR FORCE DEPARTMENT)

#### K.C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders, of the said Most Honourable

Air Marshal Anthony Wilkinson HEWARD, C.B., O.B.E, D.F.C, A.F.C., Royal Air Force.

Air Marshall Thomas Neville STACK, C.B., C.V.O., C.B.E., A.F.C., Royal Air Force.

#### C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the Third Class, or Companions of the said Most Honourable Order:

r Vice-Marshal Ivor Gordon BROOM, C.B.E., D S.O , D F.C., A.F.C., Royal Air Force.

Air Vice-Marshal Marcus Maxwell GARDHAM, C.B.E., Royal Air Force.

Acting Air Vice-Marshal Arthur GRIFFITHS, A.F.C., Royal Air Force.

Air Commodore Thomas Malcolm Grahame BURY, O.B.E., Royal Air Force. Air Commandant Ann Smith McDONALD, A R.R.C., Q H.N.S., Princess Mary's Royal Air Force Nursing Service.

> CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD ST. JAMES'S PALACE, LONDON, S.W.1

#### 1st January 1972

THE QUEEN has been graciously pleased to give orders for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Honourable Order of the Bath:

#### Order of the Bath (Civil Division)

To be an Ordinary Member of the Civil Division of the Second Class, or Dame Commander, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Miss Mildred RIDDELSDELL, C.B.E., Second Permanent Secretary, Department of Health and Social Security.

#### K.C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the Second Class, or Knights Commanders, of the said Most Honourable Order:

James Duncan JONES, C.B., Second Permanent Secretary, Department of the Environment. Alan Derrett NEALE, C.B., M.B.E., Second Permanent Secretary, H.M. Treasury.

#### C.B.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Honourable Order:

Edward John BRAYBROOK, Director-General of Supplies and Transport (Naval), Ministry of Defence.

Arthur Caffin BROOKE, Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Commerce for Northern Ireland.

Peter Willoughby CAREY, Deputy Secretary, Cabinet Office.

William Henry Morton CLIFFORD, C.B.E., Solicitor, Department of Health and Social Security.

George Roy DENMAN, CM.G., Deputy Secretary, Department of Trade and Industry.

Hywel Wynn EVANS, Permanent Secretary,

Welsh Office.

Ronald Petrie FRASER, Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food. (Secretary designate, Scottish Home and Health Department.)

James Arnot HAMÍLTON, M.B.E., Deputy Secretary, Department of Trade and Industry. James Boag HOWARD, Assistant Under Secretary of State, Home Office.

Dennis John LYONS, Director-General of Research, Department of the Environment.

John Ringer MOSS, Deputy Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Robert Stanley PORTER, O.B.E., Director-General of Economic Planning, Foreign and Commonwealth Office (Overseas Development Administration).

Robert PRESS, C.B.E., Deputy Secretary, Cabinet Office.

Rhys Price PROBERT, Deputy Controller of Aircraft (A) Procurement Executive, Ministry of Defence.

Eric Hugh Alexander STRETTON, Under Secretary, Department of the Environment.

Colonel Kenneth David TREASURE, CB.E., T.D., D.L., lately Chairman, Wales and Monmouthshire Territorial Auxiliary and Volunteer Reserve Association.

> CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD ST. JAMES'S PALACE, LONDON S.W.I

# 1st January 1972

THE QUEEN has been graciously pleased to give orders for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Distinguished Order of Saint Michael and Saint George:

## G.C.M.G.

To be an Ordinary Member of the First Class, or Knight Grand Cross, of the said Most Distinguished Order:

Sir William Alan NIELD, K.C.B., Permanent Secretary, Cabinet Office.

## C.M.G.

To be Ordinary Members of the Third Class, or Companions, of the said Most Distinguished Order:

Charles William CAPSTICK, Senior Principal Agricultural Economist, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Michael David Milroy FRANKLIN, Under Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Cyril Robert Parke HAMILTON, Deputy Chairman, The Standard Bank Ltd.

Michael Hugh LAWRENCE, Principal Clerk and Head of Overseas Office, House of Commons.