

SECOND SUPPLEMENT TO

The London Gazette

of Friday, 29th May 1970

Published by Authority

Registered as a Newspaper

TUESDAY, 2ND JUNE 1970

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD ST. JAMES'S PALACE, LONDON S.W.I 2nd June 1970

THE QUEEN has been graciously pleased to signify her intention of conferring Peerages of the United Kingdom for Life upon the undermentioned:

To be a Baroness :

The Right Honourable Priscilla Jean Fortescue, Baroness TWEEDSMUIR. Member of Parliament for South Aberdeen, 1946-66. Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Scottish Office, 1962-64.

To be Barons :

- The Right Honourable Evelyn Nigel Chetwode BIRCH, O.B.E. Member of Parliament for Flintshire, 1945–50 and for West Flintshire, 1950–70. Parliamentary Under-Secretary of State, Air Ministry, 1951–52; Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Defence, 1952–54; Minister of Works, 1954–55; Secretary of State for Air, 1955–57; Economic Secretary to the Treasury, 1957–58.
- The Right Honourable Sir Edward Charles Gurney BOYLE, Bt. Member of Parliament for the Handsworth Division of Birmingham, 1950-70. Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Supply, 1954-55; Economic Secretary to the Treasury, 1955-56; Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Education, 1957-59; Financial Secretary to the Treasury, 1959-62; Minister of Education, 1962-64; Minister of

State, Department of Education and Science, 1964.

- The Right Honourable Sir Eric George Molyneux FLETCHER. Member of Parliament for East Islington, 1945-70. Minister without Portfolio, 1964-66; Chairman of Ways and Means and Deputy Speaker, 1966-68.
- The Right Honourable James Hutchison HOY, D.L. Member of Parliament for Leith, 1945-50 and for the Leith Division of Edinburgh, 1950-70. Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food since October 1964.
- Sir Barnett JANNER. Member of Parliament for West Leicester, 1945-50 and for the North West Division of Leicester, 1950-70.
- The Right Honourable Sir John Kenyon VAUGHAN-MORGAN, Bt. Member of Parliament for the Reigate Division of Surrey, 1950–70. Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Health, 1957; Minister of State, Board of Trade, 1957–59.
- The Right Honourable Emanuel SHINWELL, C.H. Member of Parliament for Linlithgow, 1922-24 and 1928-31, for the Seaham Division of Durham, 1935-50 and for Easington, 1950-70. Parliamentary Secretary, Department of Mines, 1924 and 1930-31; Financial Secretary, War Office, 1929-30; Minister of Fuel and Power, 1945-47; Secretary of State for War, 1947-50; Minister of Defence, 1950-51.
- Joseph SLATER, B.E.M. Member of Parliament for the Sedgefield Division of Durham, 1950–70. Assistant Postmaster General, 1964–69; Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Posts and Telecommunications, 1969.

Printed and published by HER MAJESTY'S STATIONERY OFFICE: 1970 Price Fivepence [2p] net