### M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order :

- Major Frederick Betton BATH (30426), Royal New Zealand Artillery (Regular Force).
- Major John BROOKE (31357), Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment (Regular Force).
- 34595 Warrant Officer Class I Charles William CROTTY, Royal New Zealand Infantry Regiment (Regular Force).
- Captain John Digby IRELAND (568126), Royal New Zealand Corps of Signals (Territorial Force).

ROYAL NEW ZEALAND AIR FORCE

## , C.B.E.

To be an Ordinary Commander of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order :

Air Commodore Percival Patrick O'BRIEN, O.B.E., Royal New Zealand Air Force.

#### O.B.E.

To be an Ordinary Officer of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order :

Wing Commander Ralph Crowther JONES (70222), Royal New Zealand Air Force.

## M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order :

Flying Officer Denis Alexander GABLE (72691), Royal New Zealand Air Force.

Warrant Officer Vivian John COSGRAVE (70987), Royal New Zealand Air Force.

# Order of the British Empire (Civil Division)

### K.B.E.

To be an Ordinary Knight Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order : Chifford Ulric PLIMMER, Esq., of Lower Hutt.

For services to business, industry and in public affairs.

## C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order :

- Eoin Robert GARDEN, Esq., of Dunedin. For valuable services in the field of engineering.
- Wilton Ernest HENLEY, Esq., M.B.E., B.Ch., F.R.C.P., of Auckland. For valuable services to medicine.
- Eric William McCALLUM, Esq. For services to farming, especially as President of the Federated Farmers of New Zealand.
- Carl Leslie SPENCER, Esq., C.V.O., Commissioner of Police.

#### O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order :

- Ernest Philip ADERMAN, Esq., of New Plymouth. For public and political services.
- Thomas Harcourt Clarke CAUGHEY, Esq., J.P. For community services, especially as Chairman of the Auckland Hospital Board.

- John Herbert HALL, Esq., of Wellington. For services to the community in journalism, broadcasting and welfare work.
- William Greig MACARTNEY, Esq., of Christchurch. For services to the dairy industry.
- Miss Elizabeth Bamford ORBELL, of Rotorua. For services to nursing.
- Manahi Nitama PAEWAI, Esq., M.B., Ch.B. For services to the Maori people in the Kaikohe district.
- Beryl, Mrs. SIDEY, of Dunedin. For services to the community, especially in the Kindergarten and Girl Guide movements.
- Harold Parnwell SMITH, Esq., of Christchurch. For services to local government.
- John Arthur STEELE, Esq., J.P., of Auckland. For services to the community and local government.
- Peter TAIT, Esq., J.P., Mayor of Napier.

### M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order :

- Donald Clarebrough BUTLER, Esq., Chairman of the Whakatane County Council.
- Cyril Stewart DAVIES, Esq., of Geraldine. For services to the community and local government.
- James DEMPSEY, Esq., J.P., Chairman of the Taumarunui County Council.
- Betsy Robertson, Mrs. EYRE, J.P., of Nelson. For services to the community and local government.
- Alfred Charles Lindsay FOOKS, Esq. For services to engineering, especially as Project Engineer of the Wairakei Geothermal Power Project.
- Harold Owen HILLS, Esq., J.P., Mayor of Katapoi.
- Miss Elizabeth Margaret Creighton LITTLE, lately Senior Nurse Inspector, Hamilton.
- Roy Vincent McLACHLAN, Esq., of Otago. For services to the community and local government.
- George MELVILLE, Esq., J.P., Town Clerk, Milton.
- Gwynneth, Mrs. NELSON, of Dannevirke. For services to local government.
- Dorothy Martha, Mrs. PARFITT, of Greymouth. For services to the community in welfare and local body work.
- Kathleen, Mrs. REEVE-SMITH, J.P., of Te Kuiti. For community services for many years.
- Araitia TEPURETU, Esq., President of the Cook Islands Returned Services' Association.
- Mabel Christina, Mrs. WACHNER, of Invercargill. For community welfare services.
- Thomas Albert WILSON, Esq., of Waimate. For services to the community and local government.
- Charles WOODS, Esq. For services to the community, especially as General Secretary of the Palmerston North Branch of the Young Men's Christian Association.

- - - - -

. .

44