Edith Jean, Mrs. PARRISH. For services to community organisations and the welfare of ex-servicemen and women.

Jean, Mrs. SHAW, of Broken Hill. For services to the community, particularly on behalf of intellectually limited children.

STATE OF VICTORIA

C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Alfred Burdett MELLOR, Esq., Chairman of the Melbourne Stock Exchange.

Esq., Charles Wiffin SIMMONDS, President of the Melbourne Cricket Club.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Samuel Gerald Wood BURSTON, Esq., of Casterton. For services to fire-fighting.

Annie, Mrs. DELANY, of Bright. For social

welfare services.

Councillor DWYER, John Beynon Warrnambool. For local government and community services.

George Thomas THOMPSON, Esq., Director of the Natural Resources Conservation League.

Edith Winter, Mrs. WALLACE, State President of the Country Women's Association of Victoria.

Councillor Arthur Branscombe WOOD, J.P., of Geelong. For local government and community services.

M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Miss Daphne Lillian BARRETT, of Balwyn. For services to Education.

Vera, Mrs. BAYLEY, J.P., of Ashburton. For political, social welfare and charitable services.

James Henry Clive BLACK, Esq., of Portarlington. For services to the community, particularly on behalf of ex-servicemen.

Miss Victoria Ethelberta CARTER, Secretary of the Royal Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals.

Douglas HEMINGWAY, Esq., of Balwyn. For his services to the community and to the Field and Game Association of Victoria.

Councillor William Henry KAYE, of Elmhurst. For services to local government and the community.

Esme Vivienne, Mrs. LUCAS, of Brighton. For services to the community, particularly in connection with the Australian Red Cross Society.

STATE OF QUEENSLAND

K.B.E.

To be an Ordinary Knight Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

The Honourable Thomas Alfred HILEY, lately Deputy Premier.

C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Alexis Eric Francis SHAW, Esq., M.B., B.S., Director, Queensland Division, Australian Red Cross Blood Transfusion Service.

Ronald Newman WITHAM, Esq., of Gympie. For services to local government and community welfare.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

John Patrick KELLY, Esq., Chairman of the Mater Misericordiae Hospitals Medical Advisory Board.

The Reverend Robert McCann PARK, of Toowong. For his services to the Presbyterian Church and welfare activities.

THEILE, Esq., Egmont Friedrich Hellmuth M.B., B.S., of Brisbane. For his services in the interests of community health and youth welfare.

John Robert WINDERS, Esq., of Brisbane. For services to municipal administration and the development of the surf life saving movement.

M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

William BEAK, Esq., of North Rockhampton. For his services to the beef cattle industry.

Major Roy COOPER, E.D., of Bisbane. charitable and community welfare services. Miss Frances FOUNTAIN, Matron, Toowoomba

Hospital.

Francis Henry ROBERTSON, Esq., of Brisbane. For services to the community.

James Alexander ROBINSON, Esq., D.S.O., of Brisbane. For services in the field of educa-

Cecil Eric SMITH, Esq., of Townsville, in recognition of his work for the Church of England

and his community welfare services.

Jessie Marjorie, Mrs. TAYLOR, of Brisbane.

For welfare services, particularly to the Blind.

STATE OF WESTERN AUSTRALIA

C.B.E.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Frederick ALEXANDER, Esq., Professor of Modern History and Head of the Department of History, University of Western Australia.

Cyril Gore HAMMOND, Esq. For services to the Secretarial and Accountancy profession and to commerce.

O.B.E.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of of the said Most Excellent Order:

William Grant McDONALD, Esq., J.P., General President of the Farmers Union of Western

James Murray O'BRIEN, Esq., M.V.O., lately Commissioner of Police, Western Australia Police Force.

William Charles Gordon THOMAS, Esq., Mayor of South Perth.