Kelvin Richard ELLIS, Esq., of Rosanna, Victoria. For services to industry.

Joseph Randolph GIBSON, Esq., of Lutwyche, Queensland. For services to industry.

Leslie Bruce HAMILTON, Esq., First Assistant Secretary, Social Services Branch, Department of the Treasury, Canberra.

The Reverend Harold Lawes HAWKINS, Superintendent of the Leichhardt Methodist Mis-

sion, New South Wales.

Francis Joel HORWOOD, Esq., of Geraldton, Western Australia. For services to primary industry.

Ralph Augustus HURMAN, Esq., Deputy Chairman, Repatriation Committee, Victoria. Walter Theodore KING, Esq., of Strathfield, New South Wales. For public services. Francis Lyell LEY, Esq., Chief Electoral Officer

for the Commonwealth of Australia.

Colonel Malcolm Hugh McARTHUR, of Wool-

lert, Victoria. For services to primary industry.
Douglas Henry McKAY, Esq., Director, Bureau
of Agricultural Economics, Department of Primary Industry, Canberra.

Mary Durack, Mrs. MILLER, of Nedlands, Western Australia. For services to Australian

John Hereford PORTUS, Esq., D.F.C., Commonwealth Conciliation Commissioner.

Alderman William SHEPPARD, of Strathfield,

New South Wales. For public services.
Robert Stanley SWIFT, Esq., First Assistant
Secretary, Government and Social, Department of Territories, Canberra.

M.B.E.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Francis Clyde BARNES, Esq., Public Relations Officer, Postmaster-General's Department, New South Wales.

Miss Dorothy Agnes BARNETT, of Sylvania, New South Wales. For social welfare ser-vices, especially as Matron of the Dalmar Children's Home.

Fam Choo BENG, Esq., Principal of the Asian

School, Christmas Island, and Headmaster, Christmas Island Teaching Service. William Peter BOLGER, Esq., of Richmond, Victoria. For services to the welfare of exservicemen and their dependants.

William John CAHILL, Esq., Chief Auditor, Banking Division, Commonwealth Auditor-General's Office, Sydney, New South Wales.

Aleck Hugh Gelston CLARKE, Esq., of North Balwyn, Victoria. For services in the interests of needy ex-Royal Australian Air Force Members and their wives.

Miss Taymar Eleonor COSGROVE, of Double Bay, New South Wales. For social welfare services.

Miss Jean Hilda CRITTENDEN, Matron, Repatriation General Hospital, Hobart, Tas-

Robert Henry DOYLE, Esq., formerly Air Traffic Controller, Grade 6, Search and Rescue Section, Central Office, Department of Civil Aviation, Victoria.

Clive Burton EDWARDS, Esq., lately Director, Statistical Branch, Department of Customs and Excise, Canberra.

David William ELLIMAN, Esq., of Canberra. For services to the welfare of ex-servicemen and women and their families.

The Reverend Brother John Baptist Headmaster of Holy Cross GALLAGHER, College, Ryde, New South Wales.

Arthur Clarence GRAY, Esq., of Wahroonga, New South Wales. For public services.

The Reverend George Richmond HARRIS. For services to Aborigines, especially as a member of the Church Missionary Society, in the Northern Territory.

Frederick William HUMPHREYS, Esq., Director of Social Services, Perth, Western Australia. William James HUNT, Esq., Musical Director of the Canberra Philharmonic Society.

Alderman Ivan John JACK, Mayor of Wagga

Wagga, New South Wales.

ydney Lorrimar KIRKBY, Esq., Surveyor Class I, National Mapping Division, Depart-ment of National Development, Victoria. Sydney

Henry Refshauge McKENZIE, Esq. For social welfare services, especially in connection with the Good Neighbour Council of Victoria.

Ian Roderick McLEOD, Esq., Geologist Class II, Bureau of Mineral Resources, Geology and Geophysics, Department of National Development, Canberra.

Eric Colin Stevenson MELDRUM, Esq., of Largs Bay, South Australia. For public ser-

Oswald Francis MINGAY, Esq., of St. Ives, New South Wales. For services to the broadcasting industry.

Charles Alfred NICOL, Esq., Director of Public Relations, Department of the Army, Canberra.

Patrick Edward RICE, Esq., Clerk, Enemy Property Section, Department of the Treasury, Canberra.

Charles Frederic SPELDEWINDE, Engineer, National Capital Development Commission, Canberra.

> CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD ST. JAMES'S PALACE, LONDON S.W.I 1st January 1966

The Queen has been graciously pleased, on the advice of Her Majesty's Australian Ministers, to approve the award of the British Empire Medal (Military Division) to the undermentioned:

British Empire Medal (Military Division)

ROYAL AUSTRALIAN NAVY

Chief Petty Officer Quartermaster Gunner James Denis CURRAN, Royal Australian Navy. Air Mechanician Terence Stanley RAFTERY, Royal Australian Navy.

Chief Engineering Mechanic Allen ROBINSON, R 20484, Royal Australian Navy.

Australian Military Forces

8494 Warrant Officer Class II (temporary) BOUWE/PAWA, Royal Australian Infantry. 29598 Sergeant (temporary) Terry Hunter BREAKWELL, Royal Australian Infantry. 34058 Warrant Officer Class II (temporary) Richard Edward Mansfield GARRETT, Royal

Australian Army Educational Corps.

41121 Sergeant Claude Alfred Dudley HALE, Royal Australian Infantry.