Charles Kennedy Comans, Esq., Principal Assistant Parliamentary Draftsman, Canberra.

Philip Halford Cook, Esq., Assistant Secretary (Employment), Department of Labour and National Service, Victoria.

The Reverend Father Thomas Vincent Dunlea, of Hurstville, New South Wales. For services in the field of social welfare.

Henry James Evans, Esq., of North Brighton, Victoria. For his contribution to Australian industry.

Ernest David GARDINER, Esq., of Williamstown, Victoria. For his services to the advancement of science teaching.

Joseph Robert Archibald GLENN, Esq., of Toorak, Victoria. For his services to industry.

Arthur Lawrence Hall, Esq., Assistant Secretary, (Establishments) Secretariat, Department of Air, Canberra.

Travis Henry John Harrison, Esq., Director, Plant Quarantine Division, Commonwealth Department of Health, Canberra.

Stanley Scott ICK-HEWINS, Esq., of Pymble, New South Wales. For his services to the Australian grazing industry.

George Ernest KITCHIN-KERR, Esq., Secretary, Australian Citrus Growers' Federation.

William Richards Lawson, Esq., Collector of Customs, Department of Customs and Excise, Western Australia.

Ian McDonald, Esq., J.P., Chairman, Papua and New Guinea Copra Marketing Board.

James Joseph McGrath, Esq., Director, Australian War Memorial, Canberra.

David MacKay, Esq., lately Secretary of the Australian Coastal Shipping Commission.

Peter Malloch, Esq., M.B.E., of Mildura, Victoria. For his services to the Australian dried fruits industry.

Thomas Stuart Philpott, Esq., First Assistant Secretary (Establishments and General), Department of the Navy, Canberra.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Arthur Edward BINGHAM, Esq. For services to disabled ex-servicemen, particularly as President of the Maimed and Limbless Ex-Servicemen's Association of Western Australia.

Leonard David Percival BLESSINGTON, Esq., of Girral, New South Wales. For services to the welfare of blinded ex-servicemen.

Miss Dorothy BRUCE, Matron, Repatriation General Hospital, Springbank, South Australia. Kenneth Rutherford BUNN, Esq., of Bondi, New South Wales. For services to the blind.

Elizabeth Robson, Mrs. Calvert, of Canberra. For social welfare services, especially in connection with the Red Cross.

John Maxwell Cameron, Esq., Director of Works, Territory of Papua and New Guinea.

Patrick John Edward Claffey, Esq., Registrar of the School of Public Health and Tropical Medicine, Department of Health, Sydney, New South Wales.

Robert Alan CROOK, Esq., J.P., of Killara, New South Wales. For public services, particularly as founder of the Australian Rostrum.

Miss Elizabeth Margaret Cunningham, of Orange, New South Wales. For her services to the care of the sick.

Reginald Cecil DAVIES, Esq., lately Superintending Inspector, Weapons Branch, Department of the Navy, Canberra. Alan Robert Docking, Esq., Director, Commonwealth Bureau of Dental Standards, Department of Health, Victoria.

Elsie Jean, Mrs. EASTERBROOK, of East Kew, Victoria. For services to the R.A.A.F. Women's Association.

Thomas Kingston Fisher, Esq., Administrative Officer, Department of the Army, Canberra.

Charles Fletcher, Esq., J.P., of Toongabbie, New South Wales. For services to aviation.

Agnes Mary, Mrs. GARRY, of Binalong, New South Wales. For social welfare services.

Harry Christian GIESE, Esq., M.L.C., Director of Welfare, Department of Territories, Northern Territory.

Herbert Francis Griffin, Esq., Area Finance Officer, Department of Air, Sydney, New South Wales.

Miss Joan Merritt HAIGH. For her services on behalf of immigrants, particularly as Secretary of the Good Neighbour Council of Western Australia.

George Henry Hallandale, Esq., Assistant Director of Works, Victoria and Tasmania.

Clive Henry HARBURG, Esq., of Coorparoo, Brisbane, Queensland. For services to exservicemen.

Cleven James Healey, Esq., of West Footscray, Victoria. For services to ex-servicemen.

Michael James Healy, Esq., lately District Commissioner, New Ireland District, Territory of Papua and New Guinea.

Elenor, Mrs. HEMPTON, of Waverley, New South Wales. For public and social welfare services.

Miss Beryl Elaine Jacka, Secretary, Australasian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy, Victoria.

Edwin Thomas John KERBY, Esq., of Auburn, Victoria. For services to the welfare of exservicemen.

Captain Arthur Carrington LOVELL. For services to civil aviation, particularly as Chief Pilot, Ansett/Australian National Airways.

Frank Sydney Meddows, Esq., J.P., of Balgowlah, New South Wales. For services in the field of hospital administration.

Olive, Mrs. O'Keefe, of Katherine, Northern Territory. For services to nursing.

Miss Margaret Somerville, of Darwin, Northern Territory. For services to the welfare of part-aboriginal children.

Sam Wilson STINSON, Esq., of Bathurst, New South Wales. For services to local government and the community.

Miss Eva Margaret Thompson, of Strathfield, New South Wales. For services to subnormal children.

William Douglas TREDINNICK, Esq., Deputy
Assistant Director-General, Post Offices
Branch, Postmaster-General's Department,
Victoria.

John Andrew Tuite, Esq., Engineer, Class 4, Postmaster-General's Department, New South Wales.

Archibald James VASEY, Esq., Executive Secretary, Commonwealth Scientific Committee.

Anne Gorman, Mrs. Watts, J.P., of Darra, Brisbane, Queensland. For social welfare services.

Grace, Mrs. Young (Matron Saunders), of Collaroy, New South Wales. For services to the care of the aged.