

SPECIAL SUPPLEMENT TO

The London Gazette

of Tuesday, 27th March 1962

Published by Authority

Registered as a Newspaper

THURSDAY, 29TH MARCH 1962

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace, London S.W.1. 29th March 1962.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased to signify her intention of conferring Peerages of the United Kingdom for Life on the undermentioned:

To be a Baroness:

Miss Elaine Frances Burton, Labour Member of Parliament for Coventry South, 1950-1959. First Woman Chairman of Sub-Committee of Select Committee on Estimates. Delegate to the Council of Europe and a member of Parliamentary delegations to the Netherlands, U.S.S.R., Siam and South America.

To be Barons:

Arthur Joseph Champion, Esq., J.P., Labour Member of Parliament for the South Division of Derbyshire, 1949-1950; Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Minister of Food, 1949-1950; Labour Member of Parliament for South-East Derbyshire, 1950-1959; Parliamentary Private Secretary to the Secretary of State for War, 1950-1951; Joint Parliamentary Secretary to the Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries, 1951. Delegate to the Council of Europe. Director of the British Sugar Corporation, 1960.

The Right Honourable Sir Oliver Shewell Franks, G.C.M.G., K.C.B., C.B.E., Provost of Worcester College, Oxford. Permanent Secretary, Ministry of Supply, 1945-46. Provost of Queen's College, Oxford, 1946-1948. British Ambassador at Washington, 1948-1952. Chairman, Lloyds Bank Limited, 1954-1962.

Sir Ian Macdonald Horobin, Warden of Mansfield House University Settlement since 1923. National Member of Parliament for the Central Division of Southwark, 1931-1935; Conservative Member of Parliament for Oldham East, 1951-1959. Parliamentary Secretary, Ministry of Power, 1958-1959.

Sir Geoffrey Clegg HUTCHINSON, M.C., T.D., Q.C., Chairman, National Assistance Board since 1954. Conservative Member of Parliament for Ilford, 1937-1945; and for Ilford North, 1950-1954. Governor and Almoner, Christ's Hospital. Chairman, Commission appointed by the Church Assembly on pastoral legislation, 1955.

Alan John Sainsbury, Esq., Chairman, J. Sainsbury, Limited. Member of the Food Research Advisory Committee since January, 1960.

Sir Alexander Robertus Todd, Professor of Organic Chemistry, University of Cambridge since 1944. Chairman, Advisory Council on Scientific Policy since 1952. Nobel Prize for Chemistry, 1957.

Edward Francis WILLIAMS, Esq., C.B.E., Author, journalist and television commentator. Editor, Daily Herald, 1936-1940. Controller of News and Censorship, Ministry of Information, 1941-1945. Adviser on Public Relations to the Prime Minister, 1945-1947. A Governor of the British Broadcasting Corporation, 1951-1952.

Sir Thomas WILLIAMSON, C.B.E., J.P., Labour Member of Parliament for the Brigg Division of Lincoln and Rutland, 1945-1948. General Secretary, National Union of General and Municipal Workers, 1946-1961. Member of the Trades Union Congress General Council since 1947, and Chairman, 1956-1957. Parttime member of the Iron and Steel Board since 1960.

LONDON

