- John Keith Waller, Esq., O.B.E., Her Majesty's Australian Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary to the Union of the Soviet Socialist Republics.
- Dudley Cadell Leslie WILLIAMS, Esq., Secretary, Department of Shipping and Transport.
- To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:
- Robert William Charles Anderson, Esq., Director, Associated Chamber of Manufactures of Australia.
- Leslie Atkinson, Esq., of Earlwood, New South Wales. For services to Australian commerce and industry.
- Thomas William Bearup, Esq., Representative in the United Kingdom of the Australian Broadcasting Commission.
- Barbara Jocelyn, Mrs. Cullen, of Castle Hill, New South Wales. For social welfare services.
- Michael Doherty, Esq., Registrar of the High Court of Australia.
- Stephen Sydney Donelan, Esq., Federal President, Australian Primary Producers Union.
- Allan James Eastman, Esq., Assistant Secretary, Department of External Affairs.
- Keith William EDWARDS, Esq., formerly Vice Chairman of the Australian Coastal Shipping Commission.
- Margaret Frances, Mrs. Guy, Matron of Canberra Community Hospital.
- Herbert Denys Hake, Esq., Headmaster, The King's School, Parramatta, New South Wales.
- Frank Shaw Hanton, Esq., of Stonor, Tasmania. For services on behalf of incapacitated exservicemen.
- Geoffrey Richard May, Esq., Chairman, Finance Committee of the Export Development Council.
- Norman Eric Murray, Esq., Director, Commonwealth Acoustic Laboratories.
- Eric Gilbert Roberts, Esq., Chairman, Australian Dairy Produce Board.
- Thomas Mitchell Scott, Esq., President, Australian Woolgrowers' and Graziers' Council.
- Albert Leopold SENGER, Esq., First Assistant Secretary (Marketing and Stabilization), (Marketing Stabilization), Department of Primary Industry.
- Miss Alice Constance TISDALL, of East Malvern, Victoria. For services to Education.
- Timothy Claudius Adolphus Weinert, Esq., J.P., State Treasurer of the New South Wales Branch of the Commonwealth Council of Totally and Permanently Disabled Soldiers' Associations of Australia.
- To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:
- Joseph Bales, Esq., of Willoughby, New South Wales. For public services.
- Miss Florence Myrtle Christian, National General Secretary, Young Women's Christian Association of Australia.
- Hughie Leslie Condon, Esq., Alderman of Wagga Wagga City Council, New South Wales.
- Eric Vere Corry, Esq., M.B., B.S., a medical practitioner, of Binnaway, New South Wales.
- Fraser Wesley Coss, Esq., member of the Royal Australian Air Force Canteens Service Board.
- Francis Davison, Esq., Secretary, Queensland Division, Australian Postal Institute.

- Francis Roy Druery, Esq., J.P., of Wallsend, New South Wales. For public services. Ray Arnot, Mrs. Ellis, of Armidale, New South Wales. For public and Charitable services.
- Stanley William Gorrell, Esq., of Bourke, New South Wales. For public services.
- Ernest Harold Graham, Esq., J.P., of Tamworth, New South Wales. For public services. George Gratton, Esq., formerly Assistant Deputy Commissioner of Taxation, New South Wales.
- Mabel Matilda, Mrs. Green, of Forbes, New South Wales. For services to the Australian Red Cross
- Gwendoline Dorothea Julie, Mrs. Hansen, of Artarmon, New South Wales, formerly member of the Film Censorship Board.
- Heather May, Mrs. Harrison, of Ryde, New South Wales. For public and charitable services.
- Ernest Alfred Francis HEAD, Esq., Public Service
- Inspector, Perth, Western Australia. Alexander Victor Lyon, Esq., of Mildura, Victoria. For services to Australian agriculture. Miss Gracemary MacKinnon, of Bentleigh, Victoria. For services to the Australian wool
- industry.

 thur William McIlveen, Esq.,

 New Sout Brigadier, Arthur Salvation Army, Bexley, New South Wales.
- Miss Eileen Passmore, a nursing sister of Bush Nursing Centre, Jindabyne, New South Wales.
- George Norman Pockett, Esq., of Brighton, Victoria. For services to the Australian Motor Vehicle Standards Committee.
- Jack Rov, Esq., Engineering Manager, Ansett— Australian National Airways.
- James Rodger TAYLOR, Esq., President of the Police and Citizens' Association, Quirindi, New South Wales.
- Miss Ada Muriel Thomas, Matron of the Garden Settlement for aged people, Chermside,
- Captain Alexander Laurence Anderson WHITHAM, Chief Pilot, MacRobertson-Miller Airlines.
- Florence Marion, Mrs. WILLIAMS, Secretary, Queensland Branch of the Over-Seas League.
- Charles Sydney YORK, Esq., of Gladesville, New South Wales. For services to charitable and social welfare organisations.
- Captain Thomas Robert Young, Secretary of the Aircraft Owners' and Pilots' Association of Australia.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace, London S.W.1.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the Celebration of Her Majesty's Birthday, and on the advice of Her Majesty's Australian Ministers, to approve the award of the British Empire Medal (Military Division) to the undermentioned:

- Kevin Frederick Seaman Leading ASHER, O.N. R51110, Royal Australian Navy.
- Able Seaman Harold Leslie BINGHAM, O.N. R50749, Royal Australian Navy.
- Engine Room Artificer Fourth Class Albert Ian Pollard, O.N. R54418, Royal Australian Navy. Naval Shipwright Second Class Allan George
- Priest, O.N. R35212, Royal Australian Navy. Mechanician First Class Reginald Joseph Warren, O.N. R39419, Royal Australian Navy.