Robert Denholm Reid, Esq., Head, West of Scotland Unit, Scottish Horticultural Research

Miss Erna Reiss, Chairman, Stockport, Crewe, Northwich and Sale National Insurance Local

George Edward Richardson, Esq., First Class Valuer, Board of Inland Revenue.

Richard John RICHARDSON, Esq., Director, Brown, Lenox and Company, Ltd., Pontypridd, Glamorgan.

William RICHMOND, Esq., Chairman, Glasgow (Partick) National Insurance Local Tribunal.

Miss Clara Kathleen RIDDICK (Mrs. BIXLEY), Conductor, Surrey Philharmonic Orchestra.

Cyril Frederick RIGBY, Esq., Senior Chief Executive Officer, H.M. Treasury.

James Mowat Robertson, Esq., Commodore Chief Engineer, m.v. "Port Brisbane", Port Line, Ltd., London.

Leonard George Walker Robinson, Esq., Head Postmaster, Harrow and Wembley, Middlesex. Robert Sayer Rowe, Esq., Senior Partner, Perfect Lambert and Company.

Edward Leverton Russell, Esq., Senior Principal Clerk, Companies Court, Lord Chancellor's Departments.

Henry Charles Sansom, Esq. Lately Assistant Accountant General, Ministry of Housing and Local Government.

Leslie Thomas Sawney, Esq., M.C., Chairman and Managing Director, Thermos, Ltd.

The Right Honourable Ivor Murray, Baron SAYE AND SELE, M.C., D.L., Chairman, Oxfordshire Civil Defence Committee.

Ernest Scorr, Esq., D.S.O., T.D., D.M., B.Ch., General Practitioner, Ashford, Kent.

Alan Ure Reith Scroggie, Esq., Chief Constable, Northumberland County Constabulary. Alison, Mrs. SETTLE. For services journalism of fashion.

Patrick SHEA, Esq., Principal Officer, Ministry of Finance for Northern Ireland.

Victor Marlborough SILVESTER, Esq., For services to Ballroom Dancing.

William SIMM, Esq., Grade 2 Officer, Ministry of Labour.

Daniel Joseph SKIDMORE, Esq., Production Director, Scottish Division, National Coal Board.

Morris Smith, Esq., Orchestral Director, Royal Opera House, Covent Garden.

Andrew Chalmers SMYTH, Esq., J.P., Chairman, Angus War Pensions Committee.

Michael Henry Ray Soper, Esq., University
Demonstrator and Lecturer in Agriculture, Department of Agriculture, University Oxford.

Sidney George STARKEY, Esq., Chief Executive Officer, Board of Trade.

Owen STAVELEY, Esq., Chairman, Atherton and Tyldesley Disablement Advisory Committee.

Oliver Winton Stebbings, Esq. For political services.

Charles Helme STEWART, Esq., J.P., Secretary and Registrar, University of Edinburgh.

Miss Margaret Donald STEWART, Secreta Scottish Board, Royal College of Nursing. Secretary,

Lieutenant-Colonel George Kinnear STOBART, D.L., Organising Secretary, Northern Forestry Products, Ltd.

Alfred Thomas STOKOE, Esq., Chief, Organisation and Methods Department, Cable and Wireless, Ltd., London.

Thomas Suttar, Esq., Deputy Chief Inspector of Sea Fisheries, Department of Agriculture and Fisheries for Scotland.

Albert Howard Thomas, Esq., Chairman of three

Wages Councils, Ministry of Labour. Richard Thomas, Esq., J.P. For services to music and the arts in Swansea.

Graham Robert Torrible, Esq., Marine Superintendent, China Navigation Company, Ltd., London.

Commander George John Drumelzier Tweedy, Royal Navy (Retired). For political services in Edinburgh.

William Henry Twells, Esq., Principal Ministry of Power.

Wing Commander Edwin Harry Umbers, M.B.E. J.P., R.A.F.V.R. (Retired), Chairman, No. 148 (Barnsley) Squadron, Air Training Corps. Harold William Underhill, Esq., Chairman,

Harold William Underhill, Esq., Central London Productivity Association.

Henry Richard UPJOHN, Esq., Chairman, Leicester Industrial Savings Committee.

Annie Eleanor Charlotte, Mrs. WAINWRIGHT. For political and public services in Yorkshire. Leslie Eustace Warner, Esq., Chief Executive Officer, Ministry of Aviation,

George Nicoll Warson, Esq., Principal, Scottish

Home Department.

Gilbert Forsyth Wharton, Esq., Higher Collector, London South, Board of Customs and Excise.

Frederick Charles Wickson, Esq., Chief Executive Officer, Royal Aircraft Establishment, Ministry of Aviation.

Alderman Edward WILLIAMS, J.P. For public services in the County of Denbigh and North Wales.

Owen Pasley Denny WILLIAMS, Esq., Chief Maintenance Surveyor, Ministry of Works.

Frank Wilshaw, Esq., Chief Executive Officer, Ministry of Pensions and National Insurance. Sidney George Chesterman WILSON, Esq., Senior

Inspector of Taxes, Board of Inland Revenue. William WRIGHT, Esq., Higher Collector, Edinburgh, Board of Customs and Excise.

William Harry Wright, Esq., Alderman, Herefordshire County Council.

Bert Boyden Wykes, Esq., Principal Production Engineer, Admiralty.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Marjorie, Mrs. Ablett. For political services in Whitehaven.

Dorothy, Mrs. Adamson, J.P. For public services in Hyde, Cheshire.

Walter James Addock, Esq. For political services in Warwick and Leamington.

Miss Winifred Lizzie Aldwinckle, Matron, Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading.

Laura Massingham, Mrs. ALEXANDER, J.P. For services to youth in Southend-on-Sea.

Donald Allister, Esq., Chief Warden, Luton Division, Civil Defence Corps.

Leslie Richard Allum, Esq., Higher Executive Officer, Ministry of Aviation.

Charles Norwood Anderson, Esq. For services to the Boy Scouts Movement.

Captain John Laurence Inkster Anderson, Dockmaster, Leith Dock Commission.

Ronald James Andrew, Esq., J.P. For political services in Ruislip.

Alfred James Andrews, Esq., Officer, Manchester Purchase Tax Centre, Board of Customs and Excise.