- To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:
- Ernest Henry Aldis, Esq., Chief Engineer, Qantas Empire Airways Limited.
- Andrew Thomson Bedford, Esq., M.M., J.P., of Coogee, New South Wales. For community service, particularly on behalf of ex-servicemen.
- Frank Thomas Boan, Esq., of Peppermint Grove, Western Australia. For honorary public services.
- Robert Frederick Bunting, Esq., M.L.C., of Lae, Territory of Papua and New Guinea. For services on behalf of ex-servicemen.
- Roy Ian Cameron, Esq., Assistant Secretary (Finance), Department of Air.
- John Patrick Cass, Esq., Member of the Australian Wheat Board.
- William Alexander Dargie, Esq., Member of the Commonwealth Art Advisory Board.
- George Joseph Evarr, Esq., Chairman of the Australian Canned Fruits Board.
- John Garfield Fussell, Esq., M.B.E., Secretary of the A.I.F. Canteens Fund Trust, 1927-59.
- James Reginald Halligan, Esq., Senior Commissioner, South Pacific Commission.
- Kenneth Thomas HARDY, Esq., formerly Chairman of the Australian Wine Board.
- Alfred Phillips Hosking, Esq., Honorary Vice-President of the Victorian Branch of the Royal Commonwealth Society.
- Samuel Landau, Esq., First Assistant Secretary, Department of Defence.
- William Henry Leng, Esq., Assistant Secretary (Finance), Department of the Army.
- Douglas Evan Macinnis, Esq., M.L.C., Director of the Department of Lands, Surveys and Mines. Territory of Papua and New Guinea.
- Godfrey Alfred RATTIGAN, Esq., Deputy Secretary, Department of Trade.
- The Honourable Leicester Birkenhead SADDINGTON, Member of the Legislative Council of New South Wales. For public and political services.
- Douglas Alexander Stewart, Esq., of St. Ives, New South Wales. Author and writer.
- Reginald Henry Donald White, Esq., Assistant Director-General (Administration and Finance), Commonwealth Department of Health.
- To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:
- Lawrence Fenton Archibald, Esq., Commissioner of the Australian Air League.
- John Mayston Bechervaise, Esq., Officer-in-Charge, Mawson Station, Antarctic Division, Department of External Affairs.
- Ernest James Brunckhurst, Esq., Chief Maintenance Engineer, Trans-Australia Airlines.
- Hugh Victor Spencer Burgoyne, Esq., of Enfield, New South Wales. For public services.
- Alice Marjorie, Mrs. Charlton, Honorary Australian Treasurer, Girl Guides Association of Australia.
- James Stewart CROCKER, Esq., of Broken Hill, New South Wales. For charitable services.
- Miss Gladys Gordon EVERETT, of Wahroonga, New South Wales. For services to Education.

- Captain Frank Fischer, D.F.C., Chief Check and Training Captain, Trans-Australia Airlines.
- David Scott Graham, Esq., in recognition of his services as Civil Aviation Liaison Officer, Department of Civil Aviation, during Royal visits to Australia.
- John Sydney Hunter, Esq., of Norwood, South Australia. For services to disabled ex-servicemen.
- William Jamieson, Esq., Honorary Secretary of The Seventh Battalion, A.I.F. Association.
- Eric James Kydd, Esq., Chief Maintenance Engineer, Qantas Empire Airways Limited.
- William Edward Brock MacLEOD, Esq., of Wallan Wallan, Victoria. For services to primary production.
- Augusta Emma, Mrs. McCutchan, of East Kew, Victoria. For services to war widows.
- Duncan Francis Medhurst, Esq., of Armidale, New South Wales, formerly a Mail Contractor to the Postmaster-General's Department.
- Miss Emily Florence MILLER, Matron of Grafton Base Hospital, 1934-59.
- John William Reilly, Esq., in recognition of his services as Transport Officer, Department of Supply, during Royal visits to Australia.
- Lucius Lawrence D'Arcy Richardson, Esq., of Darwin, Northern Territory. For public services.
- Gwendoline, Mrs. RINGLAND, of Cremorne, New South Wales. For services to the Blind.
- Simone Antoinette, Mrs. Fearnley-Sander, of Montague Bay, Tasmania. For public and charitable services.
- Stanley Claud THOMAS, Esq., J.P., of Hampton, Victoria. For services to ex-servicemen.
- Percival Lloyd WILLIAMS, Esq., of Elsternwick, Victoria. For services to Education and Sport.
- Elizabeth Dorothy, Mrs. Wilson, of Deepdene, Victoria. For charitable work for aged people.
- Naomi, Mrs. Wolinski, J.P., of Neutral Bay, New South Wales. For services to Women's Sport.
- George Herbert Bennett-Wood, Esq., Honorary Secretary of the United Kingdom Services and Ex-Services Welfare Association, Sydney, New South Wales.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace, London S.W.1.

- The Queen has been graciously pleased, on the advice of Her Majesty's Australian Ministers, to approve the award of the British Empire Medal (Military Division) to the undermentioned:
- Chief Engine Room Artificer Thomas Gilbert Code, R. 31271, Royal Australian Navy.
- Chief Engine Room Artificer John Daniel COTTRELL, D.S.M., R. 51022, Royal Australian Navy.