To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Peter St. Clair Ballenden, Esq., Director of Public Works, Swaziland.

Howard Barrett, Esq. For services to the Royal Children's Hospital, Melbourne, State of

Norman Briggs, Esq. For services to the United Kingdom community in India.

Colonel Alexander Christie, M.B.E. For services to the St. John Ambulance Brigade in the State of Victoria,

Graham Foster Clark, Esq., Town Clerk, Umtali, Southern Rhodesia.

Malcolm Graham COOKE, Esq., Manager, Government Insurance Office, State of New South Wales.

Janet Pierson, Mrs. Cooper, Mayor of South Melbourne, State of Victoria.

Thomas Malcolm CRISP, Esq. For services to the community of the North West Coast, particularly of Burnie, State of Tasmania.

Dorothy, Mrs. CROUCH. For services to the Red Cross Society and other charities in the State of Queensland.

Peter Roylance Delamothe, Esq., M.B., in recognition of services rendered to the Town of Bowen, State of Queensland.

Evelyn Temple EMMETT, Esq. For services to the tourist movement in the State of Tasmania.

Walter Pemberton FOOKS, Esq., Deputy Chief Commissioner of the Boy Scout movement in the State of South Australia.

Alfred Edward John Fox, Esq., Town Clerk of Parkes, State of New South Wales. James Gardiner, Esq., Director of Education,

Bechuanaland Protectorate.

The Honourable Humphrey Vicary GIBBS, a prominent rancher in Matabeleland, Southern

Rhodesia. For public services.

Arthur Leslie HARE, Esq., a member of the Morwell Shire Council, State of Victoria, for

many years. Arthur Robert William Littlewood Jones, Esq., Under Secretary and Permanent Head of the Department of Lands, State of New South Wales.

Althole Stephen Horsford KEMP, Esq., M.B.E., Deputy Secretary, Prime Minister's Department, Federation of Malaya.

Erik Langker, Esq., of Wollstonecraft, State of New South Wales. For services to the Arts.

Ruby Beatrice, Mrs. LITCHFIELD, of Adelaide, State of South Australia. For social welfare

Miss Mary Veta Macghey, Principal of the Adelaide Girls' High School, State of South Australia.

John Crawford Martin, Esq., Secretary for Finance and Development, Swaziland.

Alan Leslie Morse, Esq., an Alderman of Bathurst Municipal Council, State of New South Wales.

Colonel Jack Keith Murray, of Brisbane, State of Queensland. For public services.

Henry Corie Murrells, Esq., Tropical Manager of the Witwatersrand Native Labour Association at Francistown, Bechuanaland Protectorate.

Maxwell Norman Oxford, Esq., Director of Civil Aviation, Federation of Malaya.

Sydney Charles PARKER, Esq., Provincial Native Matabeleland, Southern Commissioner, Rhodesia.

Ivan Lloyd PHILLIPS, Esq., Secretary to the Ministry of the Interior and Justice, Federation of Malaya.

Roy Darrell STUCKEY, Esq., Town Clerk of Hunter's Hill, Sydney, State of New South

Henry Monnington Jameson Underhay, Esq., Treasurer and Collector of Income Tax, Swaziland.

John Wilfrid WHITAKER, Esq., Director of the Central Mining Research Station, Dhanbad, Bihar, India.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Joseph Andrew Arratta, Esq., M.B., a medical practitioner of Muttaburra, State of Queens-

George Arthur Herbert Barnes, Esq. For services to the amateur theatre movement in Southern Rhodesia.

iss Mai BARTH, Principal, King's House School, Calcutta, India, for children of the Miss Mai United Kingdom community.

Thomas George Bereng, Esq., Clerk to the

Basuto Court, Basutoland.

William George Spencer Bester, Esq., of Waratah, State of Tasmania. For services to the community.

Ellena Doris Louisa, Mrs. Black. For services to the Women's Auxiliary of the Home for Incurables, State of South Australia.

Peter BRIDGES, Esq., District Officer, Basuto-land; seconded to the High Commissioner's Office, Basutoland, the Bechuanaland Protectorate and Swaziland.

Jack Henry Brimmell, Esq., Assistant Secretary, Prime Minister's Department, Federation of Malaya.

Andrew Noble CAMPBELL, Esq. For services to local government in the State of New South

Bruce Collins CARTER, Esq., Chairman of the Richmond Shire Council, State of Queensland.

Alfred Reginald Cooper, Esq., Senior Technical Officer, Directorate of Naval Construction, Naval Headquarters, India.

Henry George Cox, Esq., a member of the head-quarters staff of the British Commonwealth Ex-Services League.

Miss Hope Croll, R.R.C., Matron of Prince Henry Hospital, Sydney, State of New South Wales.

Miss Cecile Gertrude Cunliffe, Honorary Secretary, Book Department, Victoria League.

Miss Ethel Phyllis DEACON, Secretary of the European Association of Ceylon.

Miss Daphne Alexandra English, Teacher, St. Mark's School, Mbabane, Swaziland.

James Maurice FLEMING, Esq. For services to charitable and patriotic organisations in the. State of Victoria.

Howard Robert Hill French, Esq., Town Clerk, City of Geelong West, State of Victoria.

Frank Oscar Harding, Esq. For services on behalf of charitable institutions, State of Victoria.

Esq., Frederick William HARRIS, Accountant to the Armed Forces, Federation. of Malaya.

James Patrick Ivan Hennessy, Esq., District Officer, Basutoland.

Miss Emily Isabella Hodgson, formerly a member of the headquarters staff of the Over-Seas League.