Charles Snelling, Esq., Chairman and Managing Director, Inveresk Paper Company.

George Innes STEWART, Esq., M.C. political and public services in the East of Scotland.

Richard Hugh Stoy, Esq., H.M. Astronomer, Royal Observatory, Cape of Good Hope.

Eric John STURGESS, Esq., Chief Engineer, Shell Petroleum Company, Ltd.

Alderman Samuel Alec Taylor, J.P. Lately Cambridgeshire Chairman, Agricultural Executive Committee.

Lieutenant-Commander John Ward (Retired), Navy THORNYCROFT, Royal Managing Director, John I. Thornycroft and

Company, Ltd., Southampton.

David Jamieson Turner, Esq., Ass
Secretary, Ministry of Fuel and Power. Assistant

Robert Urquiart, Esq., J.P., County Clerk of

Alderman John Welch, Chairman, Lancashire Education Committee.

Egon Joseph Wellesz, Esq., Lecturer on Music, University of Oxford.

Henry Weston Wells, Esq., Chairman, Hemel Hempstead Development Corporation.

Charles Francis WHITE, Esq., O.B.E., M.D. Lately Medical Officer of Health, City of Recently President, Society of London. Medical Officers of Health.

Colonel James Buckley WHITEHEAD, M.C., T.D., J.P. For political and public services

in the Colne Valley.

Hugh Lloyd WILLIAMS, Esq., D.S.O., M.C., Member, Industrial Court and Industrial Disputes Tribunal.

William Wallworth Wood, Esq., J.P. political and public services in Macclesfield. Allan Young, Esq., Controller for Scotland, Board of Trade and Ministry of Supply.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:-

Edward Bruce Abbotts, Esq., T.D., Principal Intelligence Officer, British Services Security Organisation, War Office.

Henry John Adams, Esq., Chairman Governors, Brixton School of Building.

Charles Daniel ALDER, Esq., Principal, Cornwall Technical College, Redruth.

Robert Allen, Esq., Employer Vice-Chairman, Southern Regional Board for Industry.

Alderman Edmund Edward Lane ARKELL. For public services in Croydon.

George Cyril Ash, Esq., Secretary, British Sugar Corporation, Ltd.

Robert Houseman BAGSHAW, Esq., President, Fleetwood Fishing Vessel Owners Association, 1949-1956.

Francis Edward Ball, Esq., Principal Scientific Officer, Ministry of Supply. arold Philip Barnes, Esq.,

Harold Assistant Accountant and Comptroller General, Board of Inland Revenue.

'illiam Barr, Esq., T Colvilles, Ltd., Glasgow. Technical Director,

Tom Britten BASSETT, Esq., Senior District Inspector of Mines and Quarries, South Western Division, Ministry of Fuel and

Walter Cecil Batson, Esq., Deputy Commander, No. 3 District, Metropolitan Police Force.

BECK, William Anthony Esq., M.V.O., M.B.E., Senior Chief Executive Officer, H.M. Stationery Office.

Lieutenant-Colonel Cecil Thomas Ashworth Beevor, T.D., D.L., Chairman, Association of Drainage Authorities.
Leslie BERKER, Esq., Chairman and Managing

Director, Berkertex, Ltd., Plymouth and London.

Captain James Patrick Francis Betson, Commander, H.M.T.S. Monarch, General Post

Charles Thomas BLOODWORTH, Esq., Principal Architect, North West Region, Ministry of Housing and Local Government.

William Henry BLOOMFIELD, Esq., Staff Controller, Midland Region, General Post Office. Francis George Brewer, Esq., Secretary, the

Gas Council.

Cyril Bride, Esq., Inspector of Alkali and Works, Ministry of Housing and Local Government.

Conyers Bridgewater, Esq., Lately Chairman, National Federation of Housing Societies.

Geoffrey Howarth BRIGGS, Esq. For political and public services in Cornwall.

George Cecil Brown, Esq., Principal, Air

Ministry.

William Michael Court-Brown, Esq., M.B.,
Ch.B., Director, Group for Research on General Effects of Radiation, Medical

Research Council. Alexander Edwin Robert Bruce, Esq., Principal, Queen Elizabeth's Training College for the Disabled, Leatherhead.

Miss Jean Davidson BRUCE, M.B.E., Director, Scottish Country Industries Development Trust.

Robert Bruce, Esq., Chief Constable, Zetland. Commander Malcolm Stuart Leslie BURNETT, Royal Navy (Retired), Principal, Foreign Office.

Frederick Fielden BUTTERWORTH, Esq., Senior Principal Scientific Officer, Admiralty.

Brigadier John Ford Bygorr, M.C., Secretary, Territorial and Auxiliary Forces Association, Berkshire.

Marion, the Honourable Mrs. Ian CAMPBELL, Nairn County President, British Red Cross Society (Scottish Branch). Richard Nevill Cannon, Esq., Chairman, John

Wallis, Ltd.

Arthur Barrett Cardew, Esq., M.C., M.B., F.R.C.S., Commissioner, St. John Ambulance Brigade, Gloucestershire

Harold Carver, Esq., Member, West Midlands Regional Advisory Committee, National Savings Committee.

mes CHADWICK, Esq., Chief Constable, Huddersfield Borough Police Force.

Hendin CHALK, Esq., Principal, Ministry of Agriculture, Fisheries and Food.

Edgar Charlesworth, Esq., M.B.E., Chairman, Doncaster Savings Committee.

Joseph William Christelow, Esq., Senior Principal Scientific Officer, National Physical Laboratory, Department of Scientific and Industrial Research.

William CLARKE, Esq., Principal, Ministry of Transport and Civil Aviation.

John Clarke, Esq., lately Rector, Paisley Grammar School.

John George Clarke, Esq., J.P. For political services in County Antrim.

John Francis Coates, Esq., Constructor, Naval Construction Research Establishment, Admiralty.