

The London Gazette

Published by Authority

Registered as a Newspaper

For Table of Contents see last page

TUESDAY, 19 JUNE, 1956

Privy Council Office, 19th June, 1956.

UNIVERSITIES OF OXFORD AND CAMBRIDGE ACT, 1923.

Statutes made by the Governing Body of St. Catharine's College, in the University of Cambridge, on the 12th June, 1956, have been submitted for the approval of Her Majesty in Council, and notice of their having been so submitted is published in accordance with the provisions of the Universities of Oxford and Cambridge Act, 1923.

The Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury have made an Order, entitled the Trustee Savings Banks (Special Investments) (Amendment) Order, 1956, the effect of which is to increase from £1,000 to £2,000 the aggregate amount which can (with certain exceptions) be accepted from any person for special investment by a Trustee Savings Bank. This Order was made and came into operation on 11th June 1956 June, 1956.

> Colonial Office, The Church House, Great Smith Street, London, S.W.1.

8th June, 1956.

The QUEEN has been pleased to give directions for the appointment of Norman Humphrey. Esq., O.B.E., and Dr. Godfrey Julian Clarke to be Official Members of the Executive Council of the Island of St. Helena.

> Ministry of Labour and National Service. Factory Department, 19, St. James's Square, London. S.W.1. 30th May, 1956.

The Chief Inspector of Factories has appointed Dr. W. N. Whamond to be Appointed Factory Doctor under the Factories Acts, 1937, and 1948 for the Haworth District of the County of York.

Ministry of Labour and National Service. Factory Department, 19, St. James's Square, London, S.W.1. 5th June, 1956.

The Chief Inspector of Factories has appointed Dr. B. L. Whitehead to be Appointed Factory Doctor under the Factories Acts, 1937, and 1948 for the Downton District of the County of Wilts.

Ministry of Labour and National Service.
Factory Department,
19, St. James's Square, London, S.W.1. 7th June, 1956.

The Chief Inspector of Factories gives notice that in consequence of the resignation of Jr. Mary A. E.

Somers an appointment as Appointed Factory Doctor under the Factories Acts, 1937, and 1948 for the District of Weston-super-Mare in the County of Somerset is vacant. Latest date for receipt of applications: 7th July, 1956.

PETROLEUM (PRODUCTION) ACT, 1934.

In pursuance of section 2 (3) of the Petroleum (Production) Act, 1934, the Minister of Fuel and Power hereby gives notice that in accordance with the provisions of that Act and of the Petroleum (Production) Regulations, 1935, he has granted to the B.P. Exploration Company Limited, Britannic House, Finsbury Circus, E.C.2, five prospecting licences, details of which are given in the schedule below. The boundaries are described by reference to the 1", 2½" and 6" Ordnance Survey maps. Maps showing the boundaries of the areas may be inspected on application to the Ministry of Fuel and Power, Petroleum Division, Thames House South, Millbank, S.W.1.

SCHEDULE.

1. An area of approximately 189 sq. miles in the counties of Wilts and Dorset.

Northern Boundary.

From the cross roads at Two Mile Down the boundary follows A 303 through Chicklade, Wylye, Winterbourne Stoke, and Amesbury to the edge of Margarets Wood, 3 miles E. of Amesbury.

Eastern Boundary.

From the end of the northern boundary this runs along the west side of Margarets Wood and thence along an unnumbered road, joining A 338 at the point where it crosses the railway. It continues along the road through Allington, Idmiston, Porton and Winterslow and East Grinstead.

Southern Boundary.

From East Grinstead the boundary follows the road to Alderbury and thence by A 36 to Salisbury. It continues along A 354 to Combe Bissett where it follows the River Ebble through Stratford Tony, Bishopstone, Broad Chalke, Ebbesbourne Wake and Alvediston. It continues along an unnumbered road through Berwick St. John to the junction with Ox Ridge which it follows to Cross Dykes. Thence it follows the road through Ashmore and past Hill Farm to Iwerne Minster.

Western Boundary.

This follows A 350 from Iwerne Minster through Shaftesbury and East Knoyle to the commencement of the Northern Boundary.

2. An area of approximately 189 sq. miles in the Counties of Wilts, Southampton and Dorset.

Northern Boundary.

From Combe Bissett the boundary follows
A 354 through Salisbury, Alderbury, East Dean, and Lockeley to Dunbridge.