Charles Evelyn Lee-Jones, Esq., District Engineer, Derby District, Derby and Burton Sub-Area, East Midlands Electricity Board.

Miss Evelyn May Jones, Higher Executive Officer, Ministry of Pensions and National

Glyn Jones, Esq., Chairman, North Wales Schools Advisory Committee for National

Hagop Boghoss Kalemkiarian, Superintendent Clerk, General Headquarters, Middle East Land Forces.

Fenton Alexander Kennedy, Esq., Rationing Officer, Northern Ireland Region, Ministry of Food.

Charles John Kilby, Esq., J.P. For public services in Bedfordshire.

Thomas Lock Kinnair, Esq. For political and public services in Northumberland.

Walter Kirkpatrick, Esq. For political and public services in Selkirkshire.

Miss Flora Jane Knapp, lately Matron, Princess Elizabeth Orthopaedic Hospital, Exeter.

George Henry Laking, Esq., M.M., Senior Executive Officer, Ministry of Fuel and

James Douglas LAMBERT, Esq. Foreign Office. Leslie Lancaster, Esq., Registrar of Births and Deaths, Hull.

Stanley Edwin Langston, Esq., Secretary, English Schools Rugby Union.

William Lanigan, Esq., Senior George Board **Assistant** Collector, of Inland Revenue.

Richard Derek Lanser, Esq., Superintendent of Radio Maintenance, British Overseas Airways Conporation.

Alfred LAWRENCE, Esq., M.M., Manager, Newcastle Employment Exchange, Ministry of Labour and National Service.

William Burton LAWRIE, Esq., Factory Inspector, Class IB, Ministry of Labour and National Service.

Miss Elsie Pemberton Leach, lately Honorary Secretary, Bird Ringing Committee, British Trust for Ornithology.

Reginald Nelson Le Fevre, Esq., Training and Education Officer, North Thames Gas Board.

Ieuan Lewis, Esq., Senior Sanitary Inspector, Pontardawe Rural District Council, Glamorgan.

Stanley Herbert Lines, Esq., General Works Manager, A. C. Cossor, Ltd., London.

Miss Mary Laurie Logan, Area Officer, Northern Ireland, British Council.

Norman Brydon Logan, Esq., Male Mental Nurse in Charge, Burnholme Unit, North-gate and District Hospital, Stannington, Northumberland.

Albert Edward Lomax, Esq., J.P., Chairman, Rawtenstall Local Employment Committee, Lancashire.

Charles Augustus James Lowlett, Esq., B.E.M., Principal Foreman of Storehouses, Admiralty.

Catherine Robertson, Mrs. MacArthur. For political services in Argyll.

Henry McClelland, Esq., Senior Assistant Land Commissioner, Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries.

Ralph Clifford Machin, Esq., Assistant Chief Constable, Bedfordshire Constabulary.

Robert Malcolm MacLEOD, Esq., Crofter, and member of the District Council, Isle of

The Very Reverend Hubert MacManaway, Chairman, Fermanagh Hospital Management Committee.

Miss Anna Loretta McNamee, Higher Executive Officer, Board of Trade.

Thomas McNiece, Esq., lately Clerical Officer, Ministry of Housing and Local Government. John Maddison, Esq., Senior Information Officer, Central Office of Information

John Alexander Maisey, Esq., District Inspector and Horticultural Officer, Anzac Agency, Imperial War Graves Commission.

Miss Mildred Kate Mann, Higher Executive Officer, Admiralty

Miss Doris Louise Marshall, Clerical Officer, Tithe Redemption Commission.

John Leslie Matthews, Esq., Chief Actuary,

Savings Bank, Newcastle-upon-Tyne.
Miss Elizabeth MAYBIN, Headmistress, Colthurst House (Special) School, Cheshire

James Melvin, Esq., G.M., Divisional Officer, Glasgow Fire Brigade.

Miss Clare Miller, B.E.M., Director and

Manageress, Embroidery and Regalia Department, Hobson and Sons (London),

James MILNE, Esq., M.M., Higher Executive Officer, Supplies Department, Post Office, Edinburgh.

Miss Violet Orr Moore, Higher Executive Officer, Board of Inland Revenue.

Arthur Jasper Morbin, Esq., Senior Executive Officer, Area Finance Office, Edinburgh, Ministry of Transport and Civil Aviation.

Miss Anna Morrissey, J.P., Higher Executive Officer, Ministry of Pensions and National Insurance.

Alderman John Hides Moss. For political and public services in Huntingdonshire.

Michael Murphy, Esq., M.M., District Inspector, Royal Ulster Constabulary.

Roland Baden Naylor, Esq., Chief Inspector, F. H. Lloyd and Company, Ltd., Wednesbury, Staffordshire.

Miss Eveline May Nicholas, Headmistress, Ystrad Mynach Infants' and Nursery School, Glamorgan.

Alderman Lewis Henbert Nicholson. political and public services in Bedford.

Miss Agnes Nicolson, Lately Sister, Longmore Hospital, Edinburgh.

Lieutenant-Colonel Brian Edward OLIVER, T.D., J.P., D.L., Chairman, Bury Edmunds Disablement Advisory Committee.

Thomas Meeburn OLIVER, Esq., Chairman, Durham and Bishop Auckland District Com-Durham Agricultural Committee.

George O'NEILL, Esq., Honorary Secretary, National Association of Workshops for the Blind. Manager, Waterloo Road Workshop. Ronald Leslie Osborn, Esq., Grade 3 Officer,

Ministry of Labour and National Service. William Vincent Owens, Esq., Development

Officer, Paper Sacks, Ltd. Alfred Arthur PARKER, Esq., Higher Executive Officer, Home Office.

ilbert PARKER, Esq., Chief Shipbuilding Draughtsman, J. Samuel White and Com-

pany, Ltd., Cowes, Isle of Wight. Alex Reginald Parselle, Esq., Assistant Director, Transport Division, Ministry of Food.