The Lords Commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury hereby give notice that They have made an Order under Section 21 (1) of the Finance Act, 1948, entitled The Purchase Tax (No. 3) Order, 1954.

1. The Order reduces the rate of Purchase Tax from 50 per cent. to 25 per cent. on:

Fabric lampshades,
Washing machines designed for heating water by electricity or gas but which are otherwise hand

2. It makes such of the following goods as were previously chargeable with tax at the rate of 75 per cent. now chargeable at 50 per cent.:—

Garden Ornaments. Walking Sticks and canes.

Pictures, prints, engravings, photographs, figures, busts, reliefs, vases, and similar articles except pictorial calendars, picture post cards, pictorial letter cards and greeting cards.

3. It abolishes the charge of 75 per cent. on parts of and fittings for umbrellas, sunshades, walking sticks and canes.

4. Under the Order, an article no longer attracts a higher rate of tax than it would otherwise pay, solely because it is in the form of a bust or figure.

The Order which comes into operation on the 6th January, 1954, has been published as Statutory Instruments, 1954, No. 3, and copies may be purchased (price 2d. net) direct from Her Majesty's Stationery Office at the following addresses:—York House, Kingsway, London, W.C.2; 423 Oxford Street, London, W.1; P.O. Box 569, London, S.E.1; 13a Castle Street, Edinburgh, 2; 1, St. Andrew's Crescent, Cardiff; 39 King Street, Manchester, 2; Tower Lane, Bristol, 1; 2 Edmund Street, Birmingham, 3; 80, Chichester Street, Belfast, or from any bookseller.

Foreign Office, 10th December, 1953.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased to

Sir Lionel Henry Lamb, K.C.M.G., O.B.E., to be Her Majesty's Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary at Berne,

## Whitehall, January 5, 1954.

The QUEEN has been pleased by Warrants bearing date the 1st instant, to make the following appointments to the National Assistance Board:—

appointments to the National Assistance Board:—
Sir Geoffrey Clegg Hutchinson, M.C., T.D., Q.C., to
be Chairman of the Board for a term of five years.
William Asbury, Esq., C.M.G., to be Deputy Chairman of the Board for a term of four years.
The Right Honourable George Buchanan to be a
member of the Board for a further term of two

Huw Thomas Edwards, Esq., M.B.E., to be a member of the Board for a term of four years.

Miss Alice Crawford Johnston, O.B.E., to be a member of the Board for a further term of three

Sir George William Martin, K.B.E., to be a member of the Board for a further term of two years.

#### Commonwealth Relations Office,

Downing Street, S.W.1.

1st January, 1954.

DIPLOMATIC IMMUNITIES (COMMON-WEALTH COUNTRIES AND REPUBLIC OF IRELAND) ACT, 1952.

The following are amendments to the list compiled by Her Majesty's Principal Secretary of State for Commonwealth Relations pursuant to sub-section (4) of Section I of the Diplomatic Immunities (Commonwealth Countries and Republic of Ireland) Act, 1952 (15 and 16 Geo. 6 and 1 Eliz. 2 Ch. 18) as published in the London Gazette of the 6th November, 1953, and subsequently amended:—

#### CANADA.

REMOVE Mr. D. G. Murray, Brigadier R. W. Moncel.

ADD Miss M. Coholan. Miss J. McLeod.

Brigadier J. E. C. Pangman, D.S.O., E.D., and Mrs. Pangman.

# THE COMMONWEALTH OF AUSTRALIA.

Lt.-Col. and Mrs. E. G. Foster. Sq. Ldr. and Mrs. J. P. Graney. Sq. Ldr. and Mrs. H. E. Moss. Mr. and Mrs. K. M. J. Bernie. Miss B. McDonald Smith. Mr. and Mrs. J. Johnston. Mr. R. A. Francis. Mr. and Mrs. E. Read.

Sq. Ldr. and Mrs. S. W. Dallywater. Fit. Lt. and Mrs. E. R. Anscombe. Wg. Cdr. and Mrs. H. W. Hannam. Miss S. McDonald. Mr. and Mrs. J. E. Schofield. Miss M. L. Lancaster. Mr. and Mrs. B. M. Sneddon. Miss P. A. Green. Miss M. H. Dean.

S/Sgt. and Mrs. A. Stinson.

READ

S/Sgt. and Mrs. A. Stimson.

### NEW ZEALAND.

REMOVE

Sqn. Ldr. and Mrs. E. G. King. Mr. and Mrs. W. J. Kay. Miss P. M. McKenna. Miss P. A. Woods.

ADD

Wg. Cdr. W. D. Abernethy.

#### UNION OF SOUTH AFRICA.

**FOR** 

Leading Stoker I. Jolly.

READ

P/O I. Jolly.

#### INDIA.

REMOVE Mr. Mahammad Abdulla.

Mr. Gurdip Singh Aurora. Mr. Sadanand Krishnaji Bakre.

Miss G. I. Bellety. Mr. J. Bhikkhu.

Mr. Parimal Biswas. Mrs. Tamin Burton.

Mr. and Mrs. Barindra Das.

Mr. N. Dasgupta. Mr. N. Diesh. Miss S. W. Greenwood.

Miss S. W. Greenwood.
Cdr. and Mrs. H. D. Kapadia.
Mrs. Champak Khanna.
Mr. and Mrs. L. N. Mathur, Miss R. Mathur (daughter).
Mr. P. Misra.
Mr. Somendra Nath Mukherjee.
Mrs. S. M. E. Palmer.
Mr. J. Pinheiro.
Lt. Cdr. (1) and Mrs. D. H. Reeves

Lt.-Cdr. (L) and Mrs. D. H. Reeves. Mr. Parimal Kumar Roy.

Lt.-Cdr. (S) and Mrs. Siga. Mr. S. S. Sindhu.

Sqn. Ldr. and Mrs. C. K. Singha. Mr. Bishan Sarup Sharma.

Mr. Debi Singh.

Dr. and Mrs. T. G. Menon. Mr. Ghaus Mohiuddin Ansari. Miss Mani Jamshedji Antia. Mr. A. R. A. G. Antulay. Miss Sarah Benjamin.

Dr. and Mrs. Saragur Madabhushi Chari Srinivasa. Mr. Jayamata De.

Miss Renee Maud T. De Mello.

Mr. Arvind Vinayak Deshmane,
Lt.-Cdr. (E) P. V. George.
Mr. and Mrs. Prabhat Kumar Guha Ray.
Fit./Lt. and Mrs. A. K. Gupta.

Miss Dhun Maneckji Guzdar.
Sqn. Ldr. and Mrs. R. J. Herman.
Mr. William Alexander McCarthy.
Wg. Cdr. and Mrs. H. D. Mehra.
Mr. Shivak Munchersha Mehrji.