To be Ordinary Officers of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:

Right Reverend Richard BARDON, Moderator-General of the Presbyterian Church of Australia.

Alice Miriam, Mrs. Berry. For public services to the Commonwealth of Australia.

John Augustus Bostock, Esq. For public and philanthropic services in the Commonwealth of Australia.

John Huntly Collins, Esq. For services in the interests of ex-servicemen in the Commonwealth of Australia.

Miss Hilda Young DANIELL. For services to Education in Australia.

Reginald Murray Dunstone, Esq., M.B., Ch.B. For public and social welfare services in the Commonwealth of Australia.

John Thomson GUNTHER, Esq., M.B., B.S., Director of the Department of Public Health of the Territory of Papua and New Guinea.

Aubrey Halloran, Esq., M.B.E. For services rendered to charitable and cultural organisations in the Commonwealth of Australia.

Eric HARDING, Esq., M.M., Assistant Secretary, Department of the Army.

Ralph Bodkin Kelley, Esq. For services to cattle breeding in Australia.

Frederick Kellock, James Director of Posts and Telegraphs (New South

Wales), Postmaster-General's Department, Commonwealth of Australia.

Alderman Alexander Stuart McDonald. For services to Local Government organisations in Australia.

Charles Ernest NAISMITH, Esq. For services to the dairying industry in Australia.

James Tindal Stewart SCRYMGEOUR, Esq. For public services, particularly to the cattle industry, in Australia.

Harold John Stewart, Esq. For services to Education in Australia.

Ernest Keith WHITE, Esq., M.C., President of the Australian-American Association.

To be Ordinary Members of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order:-

Weller ARNOLD, Esq. For services to the community in Australia.

Eliza, Mrs. Briggs. For public services, especially in connection with the Australian Red Cross Society.

Leslie Oswald Brown, Esq., Assistant Commissioner, Public Service Board, Commonwealth of Australia.

Miss Margaret Dorothy Edis. For public services rendered in the Commonwealth of Australia to persons suffering from incurable diseases.

Ralph Edward Goode, Esq., J.P. For public services rendered in the Commonwealth of Australia, especially in the interests of returned servicemen.

Rebecca Anne, Mrs. Gordon, President of the Australian Imperial League of Sailors', Soldiers' and Airmen's Womenfolk.

John HILL, Esq., a former Head of the Engineering Branch in the State of Victoria of the Postmaster-General's Department, Commonwealth of Australia.

William Charles John HILL, Esq., J.P. services to the Boy Scout Movement and exservicemen's organisations in the Commonwealth of Australia.

Mary Linus, Mrs. Lawson. For services to public and charitable organisations in the Commonwealth of Australia.

Amy Elizabeth, Mrs. Lefroy. For services to

the Australian Red Cross Society.

Miss Charlotte Joan McAllister. In recognition of her services to the Nursing profession in Australia.

Miss Annie Bertha Parry. For services to First Aid, especially in connection with the St. John Ambulance Association in Australia.

Sarah, Mrs. Peterson, J.P. For social welfare services in the Commonwealth of Australia.

Bervin Ellis Purnell, Esq. For services to Local Government in Australia.

Philip Rees, Esq., a former President of the Superannuation Board, Commonwealth of Australia.

hn Cameron SEMMENS, Esq., Deputy Assistant Commissioner, Salvation Army John Philanthropic Organisation attached to the 3rd Battalion, The Royal Australian Regiment, in Korea.

Henry Harrison Edward Swan, Esq., International Relations Officer, Department of Civil Aviation.

Claude TAYLOR, Esq., Chief Finance Officer, Department of the Army.

Gladys Ellen, Mrs. WALLACE, J.P. For public services, especially in the interests of servicemen and their dependants in Australia.

John Philip Walshe, Esq., External Communications Officer, Department of External Affairs, Commonwealth of Australia.

Miss Ruth WHITE. For services rendered to patriotic, charitable and public health organisations in Australia.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace; S.W.1. 1st January, 1954.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased, on the advice of Her Majesty's Australian Ministers, to approve the award of the British Empire Medal (Military Division) to:—

Chief Petty Officer Allan SLY, 12171, Royal Australian Navy.

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD.

St. James's Palace, S.W.1. 1st January, 1954.

The QUEEN has been graciously pleased, on the advice of Her Majesty's Australian Ministers, to approve the award of the British Empire Medal (Military Division) to the undermentioned:

No. 4/9044 Warrant Officer Class II (temporary) John Wheeler Arnold, Royal Australian Infantry Corps.

No. 3/92361 Warrant Officer Class II (temporary) Harold Jackson Bailey Burrell, M.M., Royal Australian Infantry Corps.

No. 6/142 Warrant Officer Class II (temporary) Patrick McCarthy.

Australian Army Service Corps.

No. 2/879 Warrant Officer Class II (temporary) Richard Osborne McLaughlin, D.C.M., Royal Australian Infantry Corps.