

The London Gazette Extraordinary

OF WEDNESDAY, 6th FEBRUARY, 1952

Published by Authority

Registered as a Newspaper

THURSDAY, 7 FEBRUARY, 1952

Whitehall, February 6, 1952.

Upon the intimation that our late Most Gracious Sovereign King George the Sixth had died in his sleep at Sandringham in the early hours of this morning the Lords of the Privy Council assembled this day at St. James's Palace, and gave orders for proclaiming Her present Majesty;

Whereas it hath pleased Almighty God to call to His Mercy our late Sovereign Lord King George the Sixth of Blessed and Glorious Memory by whose Decease the Crown is solely and rightfully come to the High and Mighty Princess Elizabeth Alexandra Mary: We, therefore, the Lords Spiritual and Temporal of this Realm, being here assisted with these of His late Majesty's Privy Council, with representatives of other members of the Commonwealth, with other Principal Gentlemen of Quality, with the Lord Mayor, Aldermen and Citizens of London, do now hereby with one voice and Consent of Tongue and Heart publish and proclaim that the High and Mighty Princess Elizabeth Alexandra Mary is now, by the Death of our late Sovereign of Happy Memory, become Queen Elizabeth the Second, by the Grace of God Queen of this Realm and of all Her other Realms and Territories, Head of the Commonwealth, Defender of the Faith, to whom Her lieges do acknowledge all Faith and constant Obedience, with hearty and humble Affection; beseeching God, by whom Kings and Queens do reign, to bless

the Royal Princess Elizabeth the Second with long and happy Years to reign over us.

Given at St. James's Palace this Sixth day of February in the year of our Lord one thousand nine hundred and fifty-two.

> Simonds C. Winston S. Churchill. David Maxwell Fyfe. Woolton. W. S. Morrison. C. R. Attlee. Waverley. Samuel. Harry Crookshank. Leathers. Selborne. Davidson. Norfolk, E.M. Ogmore. James Griffiths. Arthur G. Bottomley. Clement Davies. Wm. London. J. Chuter Ede. Nathan. Mersey. Goddard. A. T. Denning. Reid. Hartley Shawcross. Macdonald of Gwaenysgor. Shepherd.

Herbert Morros
John Beaumont.
Rarnes. Morrison. Arthur Woodburn. Leslie Boyce.
Broadbridee Broadbridge. George Wilkinson. John Laurie. Frank Newson-Smith. Bracewell Smith. Frederick Wells. F. Rowland. Denys Lowson. Gerald Dodson. Rupert De la Bère. Cuthbert L. Ackroyd. F. Tidbury-Beer. G. I. Cullum Welch. S. Harold Gillett. Edmund V. M. Stockdale. E. Calcott Pryce. Bernard N. Waley-Cohen. F. A. Hoare. Denis H. Truscott. C. James Harman. Irving B. Gane. Anthony Pickford. Desmond Heap. A. E. Young. Leslie C. Bowker. C. B. Sanders. Harold Macmillan. Wilmot of Selmeston. Thomas White. Citrine. L. S. Amery. F. W. Doidge. E. A. P. Wijeyeratne. Henderson. Stansgate. G. R. Bellew, Garter. Osbert Peake. Silkin. Alfred Robens. Ismay. Alan Lennox-Boyd. Neville Leigh. Philip Noel-Baker. Walter Monckton. Donald Somervell. Charles Hodson. Antony Head. Courthope. Asquith of Bishopstone. Percivale Liesching. Habib I. Rahimtoola. Mountbatten of Burma. Arthur Salter. Tom Dugdale. Salisbury. Walter Womersley. Listowel. John W. Morris. Geoffrey Shakespeare. Geoffrey Lloyd. Vincent Massey. Stanmore. Oaksey.

Lionel Leach.

Travers Humphreys. Percy Loraine. Percy Loraine.
Pakenham.
Henry Willink.
F. A. Newsam.
A. Fadden.
H. A. Strutt.
Oliver Lyttelton.
Cherwell.
Peter Thorneyero Peter Thorneycroft. Shaftesbury. Hankey. Bessborough. R. H. Dorman-Smith. G. A. Brown. Tom Williams. Jowitt: Edith Summerskill. Porter. Bruce. Morton of Henryton.
De L'Isle & Dudley. William. Mabane. Halifax. Templewood. Ernest Brown. Andrew R. Duncan. Pethick-Lawrence. William Whiteley. Felix Cassel. Frederick Sykes. Charles Waterhouse. Richard Law. Florence Horsbrugh. Stanhope. Ralph Assheton. Winterton. Douglas Jay. Killearn. De La Warr. Duncan Sandys. G. A. Isaacs. Cuthbert Headlam. Arthur Greenwood. John Wheatley. James Stuart. Walter E. Elliot. Anthony Eden. David Eccles. Selwyn Lloyd. Hilary A. Marquand. R. A. Butler. Hardinge of Penshurst. Merriman. K. M. Goodenough. Howe. Home. Raymond Evershed. W. Nash. Harold Wilson. Hugh Dalton. Aneurin Bevan. Frank Soskice. Clarendon. Malcolm McCorquodale. Emanuel Shinwell. D. R. Grenfell. Drogheda. Hudson. Hugh Gaitskell.

Frederic Hudd.
Ben Smith.
Hugh Beazley.
John E. Singleton.
Cohen.
Arthur Henderson.
F. J. Bellenger.
Normand.
Simon.
Patrick Buchan-Hepburn.
P. C. Gordon-Walker.

David Jenkins.
G. Lloyd George.
Ammon.
T. R. T. Evans.
John Strachey.
C. Williams.
Percy A. Harris.
J. P. L. Thomas.
V. K. Krishna Menon.
Swinton.
F. J. Fernau.

GOD SAVE THE QUEEN.

LONDON

PRINTED AND PUBLISHED BY HER MAJESTY'S STATIONERY OFFICE

1952

Price Sixpence net

PRINTED IN GREAT BRITAIN

S.O. Code No. 65-39458