Acting Air Commodore Henry Sam Francis Temple Jerrard, Royal Air Force.

Captain Victor Swanton Bowling, Royal Air Force.

Group Captain Robert James Pilgrim Morris, Royal Air Force.

Group Captain John Willie Rose, D.S.M., Royal Air Force (Retired)

Group Captain Harold Marshall WRIGHT, Royal Air Force.

To be Ordinary Officers of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order :-

Captain Everard Acting Group Henry Crichton Boxer, Royal Air Force.

Commander Richard Cecıl AYLING

(37146), Royal Air Force Wing Commander Wilfred Bowes' (43664),

Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander Oliver Russell Donaldson,

D.S.O, D.F.C. (39414), Royal Air Force. Wing Commander Sidney Charles Georgi Charles George (11093), Royal Air Force. Wing Commander Morgan George McNama

(45657), Royal Air Force.

Wing Commander William Bentley MURRAY, D.F.C. (33065), Royal Air Force.

Acting Wing Commander John Sinclair Frankland Hood (76171), Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

Wing Commander 'James  $\mathbf{A}$ lfred Nicholas (35033), Royal Air Force.

Acting Wing Commander Thomas Graham ROBERTSON (37942), Royal Air Force. Acting Wing Commander Aubrey Sidney-

Wilmot (79439), Royal Air Force.

Squadron Leader George Walter SALT (31151), Royal Air Force.

To be Ordinary Members of the Military Division of the said Most Excellent Order:-

Acting Wing Commander Leslie Ernest Arnold Wright (100893), Royal Air Force Volunteer

Squadron Leader George Charles Rowland ACKRILL (44701), Royal Air Force.

Acting Squadron Leader Maurice Gilbert Down (63002), Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve. Acting Squadron Leader Arthur Hibbins, M.M. (43219), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant Dennis William Ansell (134023), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant Robert John Frank Day (112091), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant William George Hales (48927), Royal Air Force.

Flight Lieutenant Philip Michael Sweatman HEDGELAND (122540), Royal Air Force.

Lieutenant Laurence Cecil Norris (48621), Royal Air Forcé.

Acting Flight Lieutenant Ifor John DAVIES (184265), Royal Air Force.

Flying Officer John MacKenzie (200858), Royal Air Force.

Warrant Officer Arthur Conrad Cook (563546), Royal Air Force.

Warrant Officer Arthur FIELDHOUSE (405899), Royal Air Force.

Varrant Officer Harry Frederick FRIEND (507112), Royal Air Force.
Varrant Officer William Edward Kingdom Warrant

Warrant (365873), Royal Air Force

Officer Leonard George (562195), Royal Air Force.

Warrant Officer Leslie Harold Leekblade Tobin (590529), Royal Air Force.

Acting Warrant Officer Francis Finbarr Harvey

(1377939), Royal Air Force. Flight Officer Joan Melles Carlin (587), Women's Auxiliary Air Force.

## CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD.

St. James's Palace, S.W.I. 10th June, 1948.

The KING has been graciously pleased, on the occasion of the Celebration of His Majesty's Birthday, to give orders for the following promotions in, and appointments to, the Most Excellent Order of the British Empire:

To be an Ordinary Dame Commander of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent

Miss Evelyn Adelaide Sharpe, Deputy Secre-Ministry of Town and Country tary, Planning.

To be Ordinary Knights Commanders of the Civil Division of the said most Excellent

Major Sir (Jack Benn) Brunel Cohen, Chairman, National Advisory Council on the Employment of the Disabled.

Henri Nicolas de VILLIERS, Esq., Deputy

Secretary, Ministry of Works.

r Hector James Wright HETHERINGTON,
LL.D., D L., Principal and Vice-Chancellor of Glasgow University.

Michael Henry Braddon Nethersole, Esq., C.S.I., C I.E , D.S.O For public services. For public services. Sir Alan RAE SMITH, O.B.E, F.C.A., Financial Adviser to the Ministry of Transport.

Partner in Deloitte Plender Griffiths and Company.

Reginald Ramson Whitty, Esq., C.B.E., Public Trustee

Arton Wilson, Esq., C.B., Permanent Secretary. Ministry of Pensions.

To be Ordinary Commanders of the Civil Division of the said Most Excellent Order -

F.R.I.C., Ambrose Adams, Esq.,

Assistant Secretary, Ministry of Food James Richard Alderson, Esq., ( Assistant Secretary, Ministry of Town and Country Planning.

Herbert Wilfred Ayers, Esq., Assistant Secretary, Ministry of National Insurance.

Alderman George William Porrutt Beswick, J.P., lately Chairman, Derbyshire War Agricultural Executive Committee.

John Henry BIGGART, Esq., M.D., D.Sc., Professor of Pathology and Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Queen's University, Belfast.

Frank Bower, Esq , Chairman of the Finance Taxation Committee, Association of British Chambers of Commerce.

Colonel Edward de Winton Herbert BRADLEY, D.S.O., M.C., D.L., Secretary, Territorial and Auxiliary Forces Association of the County of Lancaster (West).

lderman George Henry Bray, J.P., lately Chairman, Herefordshire War Agricultural Alderman George Henry Bray,

Executive Committee.

John Hugh Burrell, Esq., Assistant Secretary, Home Office. John Bussé, Esq., Vice-Chairman of the

Central Price Regulation Committee.