Commander Aylmer Newton George Firebrace, C.B.E., R.N. (Retired), Chief of the Fire Staff and Inspector-in-Chief of the Fire Services, Home Office.

Arthur Percy Morris Fleming, Esq., C.B.E., M.I.Mech.E., D.Eng., M.Sc., M.I.E.E., Director, Metropolitan Vickers Electrical Manchester. For services to Company, education.

Claude Howard Stanley Frankau, Esq., C.B.E., D.S.O., M.S., M.B., F.R.C.S., L.R.C.P., Emergency Director, Medical Services, London and Home Counties.

Edward Hardy, Esq., Chairman of Kent County Council.

Lieutenant-Colonel Arthur Peiham Heneage, D.S.O., J.P., D.L., M.P., Member of Parliament for Louth since 1924. For political and public services.

Roger Gaskell Hetherington, Esq., C.B., O.B.E., M.Inst.C.E., Adviser on Water and Director of Water Surveys, Ministry of

William Percival Hildred, Esq., C.B., O.B.E., Director-General of Civil Aviation, Air Ministry.

Mark Hodgson, Esq., O.B.E., J.P., General Secretary, United Society of Boilermakers and Iron and Steel Shipbuilders.

Joseph Stanley Holmes, Esq., M.P., Member of Parliament for North-East Derbyshire, 1918-1922, and for Harwich since November,

1935. For political and public services. Alfred Bakewell Howitt, Esq., C.V.O., M.D., M.P., Member of Parliament for Reading since October, 1931. For political and public services.

Robert Dixon Kingham, Esq., C.B.E., Secre-

tary, National Savings Committee. Robert Fisher Lancaster, Esq., Secretary and Executive Officer of the Co-operative Wholesale Society Ltd.

Allan Campbell Macdiarmid, Esq., Chairman and Managing Director, Stewarts and Lloyds,

Geoffrey Le Mesurier Mander, Esq., J.P., M.P., Member of Parliament for Wolverhampton East since May, 1929.

political and public services.

Ellis Hovell Minns, Esq., Litt.D., F.B.A.,
Emeritus Professor of Archaeology and President of Pembroke College, University of Cambridge.

Arthur Evan Morgan, Esq., General Manager and Director, The London Assurance.

John Morison, Esq., Director General of Finance, Ministry of Supply.

James Frederick Rees, Esq., M.A., Principal of University College of South Wales and Monmouthshire, Cardiff. Vice-Chancellor of

the University of Wales.
Lieutenant-Colonel Norman Gibb Scorgie,
C.V.O., C.B.E., Controller, H.M. Stationery Office.

Arthur Frederick Sidgreaves, Esq., O.B.E., Managing Director, Rolls-Royce Ltd.

Frederick James Simmons, Esq., J.P., Mayor of Londonderry.

Alderman Bracewell Smith, M.P., Sheriff of the

City of London. David Wadsworth Smith, Esq., F.C.I.S., J.P., Director, Halifax Building Society.

William Samuel Stephenson, Esq., M.C., D.F.C., employed in a Department of the Foreign Office.

Reginald Edward Stradling, Esq., C.B., M.C., D.Sc., Ph.D., M.Inst.C.E., F.R.S., Chief Adviser, Research and Experiments Department; Ministry of Home Security.

Herbert Alker Tripp, Esq., C.B.E., Assistant

Commissioner, Metropolitan Police.

John Lieutenant-Colonel Gilbert M.P., D.S.O., J.P., Troyte, C.M.G., Member of Parliament for Tiverton since 1924. For political and public services.

William Walker, M.I.E.E. Alderman M.I.Mech.E., J.P. For services to Municipal

Electricity Supply.

Angus Watson, Esq., J.P., Divisional Food Officer, Northern Division, Ministry of Food.

Lionel Ernest Howard Whitby, Esq., C.V.O., M.C., M.D., B.Ch., F.R.C.P., M.R.C.S., D.P.H. (Brigadier, Territorial Army, Reserve of Officers), lately Bacteriologist at the Middlesex Hospital. For services in the development of the sulphonamide group of drugs.

Professor Edmund Taylor Whittaker, LL.D., Sc.D., F.R.S., Professor of Mathematics, Edinburgh University. Lately President of the Royal Society of Edinburgh.

DOMINIONS.

Digby Vere Burnett, Esq., Resident Director and General Manager of the London and Rhodesia Mining and Land Company, Limited, and Chairman of the Cold Storage Commission, Southern Rhodesia.

Colonel Arthur Murray Cudmore, C.M.G., M.B., B.S., F.R.C.S., President of the Medical Board of the State of South Australia. For public services.

Thomas Sydney Nettlefold, Esq., O.B.E., Lord Mayor of the City of Melbourne, State of Victoria.

INDIA.

The Honourable Mr. Justice Harsidhbhai Vajubhai Divatia, Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature at Bombay.

The Honourable Mr. Justice James Joseph Whittlesea Allsop, Indian Civil Service, Whittlesea Allsop, Indian Civil Service, Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad, United Provinces.

The Honourable Mr. Justice Syed Nazim Ali, Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature

at Fort William in Bengal.

Robert William Targett, Esq., C.I.E., Director-General, Supply and Disposals, Department of Supply, Government of India.

Thomas Coates, Esq., C.S.I., C.I.E., Indian Civil Service, Financial Adviser, Military Finance, Government of India.

Bomanji Jamshedji Wadia, Esq., Barrister-at-Law, Vice-Chancellor, University Bombay.

Diwan Bahadur Arcot Lakshmanaswami LL.D., D.Sc., Mudaliyar, M.D., Chancellor, University of Madras.

Charles William Blyth Normand, Esq., C.I.E., Officer on Special Duty, D.Sc., India Department, Meteorological and Director-General of Observatories, Government of India.

Claude Cavendish Inglis, Esq., C.I.E., B.A.I., M.Inst.C.E., Indian Service of Engineers Director, Indian Waterways (retired), Experiment Station, Poona.