Charles John Bartlett, Esq., Managing Direc-

tor, Vauxhall Motors Limited. Eric Vansittart Bowater, Esq., Deputy Controller of Repair Equipment and Overseas

Supplies, Ministry of Aircraft Production. Ernest Herbert Cooper, Esq., lately Industrial Adviser to the Ministry of Commerce and Production, Northern Ireland.

Patrick Ashley Cooper, Esq., lately Director-General of Finance, Ministry of Supply. Marshall Millar Craig, Esq., C.B., K.C., Legal

Secretary and Chief Parliamentary Drafts-

man, Lord Advocate's Department.
Colonel Arthur Charles Davis, J.P., D.L.,
Alderman, lately Sheriff of the City of

London.

Geoffrey de Havilland, Esq., C.B.E., A.F.C., F.R.Ae.S., Director, de Havilland Aircraft Company, Ltd.

Charles Lee des Forges, Esq., C.B.E., Town

Clerk, Rotherham.

Jack Cecil Drummond, Professor F.I.C., Scientific Adviser to the Ministry of Food.

John Montague Eddy, Esq., C.B.E., Deputy Chairman, Prisoners of War Department, Joint War Organisation of the British Red Cross Society and Order of St. John. Captain George Sampson Elliston, M.C., J.P.,

M.P., Member of Parliament for D.L., Blackburn since October, 1931. For political

and public services.

Professor Frank Leonard Engledow, C.M.G., M.A., Professor of Agriculture, Cambridge University.

John Jacob Fox, Esq., C.B., O.B.E., D.Sc., F.R.S., Government Chemist.

Professor Francis Richard Fraser, F.R.C.P., Director-General,

Emergency Medical Service. Ronald Thornbury Garrett, Esq., Chairman,

National Dock Labour Corporation Limited. Captain Henry Robert Gordon, D.S.C., Commodore Captain, Shaw Savill and Albion

Company Ltd.

William Thomson Halcrow, Esq., M.Inst.C.E., M.I.Mech.E., Engineering Consultant to the War Office.

Judge Gerald de la Pryme His Honour Hargreaves, County Court Judge.

Major Archibald Isidore Harris, Timber Con-

troller, Ministry of Supply.
Walter Haward, Esq., O.B.E., M.B., B.S.
M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P., Director-General o

Medical Services, Ministry of Pensions.
Herbert Holdsworth, Esq., M.P., Member of Parliament for Bradford South since 1931. For political and public services.

Thomas Hunter, Esq., J.P., M.P., Member of Parliament for Perth since November, 1935. For political and public services.

Alderman Thomas Jones, M.R.C.S., L.R.C.P., J.P., Chairman of the Anglesey Education Committee.

George Knight, Esq. For services in the cause of religion.

Air Vice-Marshal Norman Duckworth Kerr MacEwen, C.B., C.M.G., D.S.O., R.A.F. (Retired), Chairman, Soldiers', Sailors' and Airmen's Families Association.

Thomas Ralph Merton, Esq., D.Sc., F.R.S., Scientific Adviser, Ministry of Production.

John Gibb Nicholson, Esq., Deputy Chairman, Imperial Chemical Industries Limited.

Robert Nimmo, Esq., Lord Provost of Perth.

Major Goronwy Owen, D.S.O., D.L., M.P., Member of Parliament for Caernarvon since December, 1923. For political and public

William Paterson, Esq., M.I.Mech.E., Chairman of the Paterson Engineering Company

Ltd.

Robert Barclay Pearson, Esq., Chairman of the Stock Exchange.

Railing, D.Eng., Adolph Harry Esq., M.I.E.E., Chairman and General Manager,

General Electric Company Ltd. Harry Ralph Selley, Esq., J.P., M.P., Member of Parliament for South Battersea since For political and public services.

Oliver Edwin Simmonds, Esq., F.R.Ae.S., M.P., lately Chairman of a Committee on the Brick Industry.

Leon Simon, Esq., C.B., Director of Savings, General Post Office.

Thomas Somerset, Esq., D.L., M.P. For public services in Northern Ireland.

Frederick Charles Stewart, Esq., M.I.N.A., Chairman of Thermotank, Ltd.

Charles Sheriton Swan, Esq., Chairman, Swan Hunter and Wigham Richardson, Limited.

Philip Allan Warter, Esq., Controller-General of Factory and Storage Premises, Board of Trade.

George Wilson, Esq., Chairman, Thomas Scottish Milk Marketing Board.

DOMINIONS.

The Honourable John Cowan, Member of the Legislative Council of the State of South tor many years. For public Australia services.

Lewis Edward Emerson, Esq., a Member of the Commission of Government, Newfoundland, since 1937, Commissioner for Justice, Attorney General and Commissioner for Defence, Newfoundland.

INDIA.

The Honourable Mr. Justice James Harvey Monroe, Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature at Lahore, Punjab.

The Honourable Mr. Justice Navroji Jahangir Wadia, Indian Civil Service, Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature at Bombay.

The Honourable Mr. Justice Archibald John King, Indian Civil Service, Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature at Fort St. George, Madras.

The Honourable Mr. Justice Harold James Collister, Indian Civil Service, Puisne Judge of the High Court of Judicature at Allahabad, United Provinces.

Archie William Ibbotson, Esq., C.I.E., M.B.E., M.C., Indian Civil Service, Adviser to His Excellency the Governor of the United Provinces and lately Secretary to the Government of India in the Civil Defence Department.

Charles MacIver Grant Ogilvie, Esq., C.S.I., C.B.E., Indian Civil Service, Secretary to the Government of India in the Defence Department.

Denys Pilditch, Esq., C.I.E., Indian Police, Director, Intelligence Bureau, Home Department, Government of India.

Kenneth John Nicolson, Esq., M.C., Chief Controller of Purchase (Munitions), Department of Supply, Government of India.