NAVIGATION ORDER No. 22, 1943.

By Command of the Lords Commissioners of the Admiralty.

In pursuance of the powers conferred on them by Regulation 43 of the Defence (General) Regulations, 1939, the Lords Commissioners of the Admiralty

1939, the Lords Commissioners of the Admiralty hereby make the following Order:

I. No vessel shall between sunset and sunrise enter the area of water between the Isle of Bute and the West Coast of Loch Fyne between 55° 45′ N. and 55° 55′ N.

2. This Order shall come into force forthwith and may be cited as "Navigation Order No. 22, 1042".

By Command of their Lordships,
H. V. Markham.

Admiralty, S.W.1. 15th March, 1943.

# India Office, 19th March, 1943.

The KING has approved the following promotions, appointments, retirement, etc.:-

#### INDIAN ARMY.

Capt. G. F. S. Keating to be Maj. 3rd Sept. with seniority from 18th Aug. 1939, but without effect on pay prior to the 14th July 1940. (In substitution of the notification in the Gazette of the 25th Apr. 1941.)

Lt.-Col. (Bt.-Col.) W. S. Pender, C.I.E., M.B.E., Special Unemployed List, retires 3rd Feb. 1943. Lt.-Col. H. M. Butler retires 3oth Nov. 1942.

#### Emergency Commissions.

The undermentioned appts. are made: -To be 2nd Lts. Percival Samuel Cross, 14th July 1942.

Gercival Samuel Cross, 14th July 1942.

6th Sept. 1942.

Pte. Jack Richard Law. Pte. Ian Henry Norfolk.

Pte. Jack Burton Waldram. Pte. Brian Joseph Haimes. Pte. Richard Pinder Sell. Pte. Alan Thomas. Pte. Antony Charles Braddock. Pte. John Stanley Gilks. Pte. Ian Hugh Hamilton Jarvie. Pte. John Henry Gerard Whitfield. Pte. Herbert William Harcourt West. Pte. Geoffrey Duncan Charnley. Pte. Tommy Rowe. Pte. Kenneth McLachlan Ostler. Pte. Charles David Geach. Pte. Alexander David Binnie. Pte. Frederick Norman Bebbington. Pte. Michael Francis. Pte. David Austin Clegg Herridge. Pte. David Christopher Laborde Marwood. L/Cpl. William Henry Arthur Tothill. Pte. Gowan Charles Fisher Jackson. Pte. George Henry Percy Robins. Pte. John Gerald Tremlett. Pte. Maurice Stephen Eliot Gould. Pte. William Brian Longley. Pte. Michael Kenny. Pte. Gilbert John Way. Pte. Norman Clifton Peebles. Pte. Alan George Laker. Pte. Brian Francis Holmes. Pte. Bernal Jose Postlethwaite. Pte. Robert McGregor. Pte. Dunstan Francis Thomas McAlpin. Terence Harry Desborough. Victor Boxton Attride. Owen Ralph Jones. Pte. Ian Anthony Nicholson. Godfrey James DeBeaux. Tames DeBeaux.

William Black Davidson, 9th Sept. 1942. L/Bdr. John Edmund Alexander Farmer, 17th Sept.

(With seniority next below 2nd Lt. Leonard Alfred

Jenkins shown in the Gazette of the 1st Jan. 1943. A/R.Q.M.S. Edward McKernon, 23rd Sept. 1942. A/R.Q.M.S. Edward McKernon, 23rd Sept. 1942 Harvey George Edser, 1st Nov. 1942. Ernest Archibald Childs, 13th Nov. 1942. James Howard Williams, 20th Nov. 1942. John Edmund Handby, 5th Dec. 1942. Howard Forrest, 11th Dec. 1942. C.S.M. Ernest Herbert Waters, 17th Dec. 1942. Roy Gordon Willascy Robinson, 6th Mar. 1943.

The seniority of the undermentioned officers in their present ranks is antedated to the dates as stated against their names:—

Lt. W. Grant, 13th Feb. 1937.
Lt. W. G. Donaldson, 7th Oct. 1937.
Lt. V. L. Chapman to take rank and precedence in the Army and in his Corps as if his appointment as 2nd Lt. bore date 9th Feb. 1942, 21st Nov.

2nd Lt. H. Taylor to take rank and precedence in the Army and in his Corps as if his appointment as 2nd Lt. bore date 15th June 1941. 16th Oct. 1942.

"Spec. List" of Qr.-Mrs. (I.A.).

To be Lts.

R.Q.M.S. Albert Edward Beere, 5th July 1942.

Joseph Stanley Long, from R.A.M.C., 10th Nov.

1942. Frederick William Stanley Parker, from R.A.M.C. 10th Nov. 1942. S.S.I. George Read, 10th Nov. 1942.

C.S.M. Walter Fulton Jarwan Owen, from R. Berks

R., 11th Nov. 1942.
C.Q.M.S. Alan Henry Holmes, from Inniskg. Fus., 15th Nov. 1942.
R.Q.M.S. Albert Victor Piper, from Suffolk R., 5th

Dec. 1942.
S/Sgt. Arthur Alfred Edmonds, 7th Dec. 1942.

"Spec. List" of Qr.-Mrs., R. Signals (I.A.).
To be Lt.

R.S.M. Percy William George Steele, from R. Signals, 13th Dec. 1942.

### INDIAN REGULAR RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

The following officers, having attained the age limit of liability to recall, cease to belong to the Reserve: Reserve:—
Col. A. J. G. Bird, C.I.E., D.S.O., 4th Feb. 1943.
Lt.-Col. F. N. Fox, M.C., 11th Feb. 1943.
Col. P. C. Goldney, 14th Feb. 1943.
Lt.-Col. H. G. Tranchell, 21st Feb. 1943.
Capt. (A.O.M.E.) F. G. Steggles, 26th Feb. 1943.
Maj. C. G. Smith, 28th Feb. 1943.

### INDIAN ARMY DEPARTMENTS.

Capts. (A.O.M.E.) to be Majs. (A.O.M.E.).
T. Greggains, 4th Sept. 1942.
A. T. Plater, 11th Sept. 1942.
F. J. Bayman, 11th Oct. 1942.
E. S. Adhemar, 15th Oct. 1942. Lts. (A.O.M.E.) to be Capts. (A.O.M.E.).
G. A. Reynolds, 8th June 1942.
T. H. Symonds, 7th July 1942.
W. E. Hawkey, 1st Sept. 1942.
F. J. McCann, 4th Sept. 1942.
W. J. Crockford, 11th Sept. 1942.
S. Sibthorp, 11th Oct. 1942.
R. Theobald, 15th Oct. 1942.

The date of promotion of Lt. (A.O.M.E.) C. W. Scott is the 18th May 1942, and not as stated in the Gazette of the 9th Oct. 1942.

The date of promotion of Capt. (A.O.M.E.) A. Grayson is the 5th June 1942, and not as stated in the Gazette of the 9th Oct. 1942.

## Emergency Commissions.

Warrant Officer to be Lt. (Asst. Comsy.). Stanley William Green, 10th July 1942. Warrant Officer (Retd.) to be Lt. (A.O.M.E.). William McQuade, 10th Aug. 1942.

### Burma Office, 19th March, 1943.

The KING has approved the following promotions, appointments, etc.:-

ARMY IN BURMA RESERVE OF OFFICERS.

Capt. E. C. Simmons to be Maj., 8th Aug. 1942.

Emergency Commissions.

George Ratnasigamoney Devaraj Daniel to be Capt., 17th July 1942.

The undermentioned appts. are made:-To be Lt.

Soloman Suvi, M.B., B.Ch., D.P.R. (Leeds), 18th Apr. 1942.

To be 2nd Lts.

Zeth Oct. 1941:

Kenneth Morris Martin. Paul Saw Lone. Frederick Walter Burn. Toe Maung. Maung Gale. Ba Than. Yapp Valentine. Barr. George Lam. Archibald Ba Soe. Maung Thaung. Lawrence Daniel Hazlewood. Sa Benjamin Yin Nyun. Htoon Pay. Ba Kyin Pe Than. Ba Ko.

15th Dec. 1941.
Colin Methven Scott. John Francis Coshan. Sydney
Eli Walker. Michael Ernest Torrick. John
Whitworth King. Gerald Clapp. Ba Thein.
Jesudasan Retnasamy Davis.

Bernard Frederick Kane. Frederick George Oliver.
Robert Frederick Massey. John Thomas Horatius
Langford. Thomas Edward Lazaro. Percy
Lazarus. Edward John Hawkins. Albert Edward
Marshall. Samuel Betton Gwynn. Maung Thein.